Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > China Hotels > Shanghai Hotels > Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Previous hotel
Discover Grand Mercure

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao

Upscale hotel for business and leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
See : the photos  | the videos in association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Public indoor parking - Paying
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Babysitting on request
    • Fitness centre
    • Sauna - Paying
    • Massage - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 442
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: Hongqiao CBD (0.10 km)

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao - hotel reviews in Shanghai

Hotel code: 6694

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "location is good"

12th September 2013, shaneinbeijing, beijing

I stay at this hotel in Shanghai most of the time bceause the location is good in the middle of Hongqiao Development Zone and the room got a kitchen and laundry machine. And it is surrounded with many restaurants and convenient stores. And taxis are easy to get.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Nice hotel, but don't Use The Website"

11th September 2013, Cricket911, Bangkok, Thailand

Great hotel, clean and centrally located. Be careful, though, because the website is a third-party service, and the hotel disclaims any responsibility for their services. I ended up being double booked and double billed. Grand Mercure said "too bad" and gave me a number to call.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Poor membership service"

31st August 2013, VTsui, Hong Kong, China

The hotel is fine. But I thought as a Platinum member, I would have better service/discount. They did not know my membership number at the time of check in. No discount for breakfast.The room is fine. But only one TV in the living room. Balcony door cannot open.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 3.0 out of 5 stars "OK stay if you have not been to better hotels"

26th August 2013, felixccf, Hong Kong, China

The first room had a bad toilet smell and smell of moisture. I did not tell the front desk about this when i wanted to change my room but they were nice enough to change for me. The second room was at 10th floor. (The first room was at 17th). Strange that rooms at lower floor are better than the higher floors!! The restaurant at second floor was very nice. Good service and good food. Picked the hotel because this is higher stars closest to old Hongqiao airport. (not really that close, taxi takes 20mins 9am in the morning) Had stayed at the Hongqiao international airport hotel before,felt better with the place and money paid. If not for a loyal member of Accor like I am, probably would not pick this hotel.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Horrible stay for one night"

11th August 2013, Sethujyt, Pori, Finland

I had a very unpleasant stay at the hotel last week. I was first allotted room no 2725 which is in the 27th floor. The outside temperature in Shanghai was quite high probably at around 38/39"C. I made sure that the room temperature is set at 24"C and I could hear the blower running. Even after 3 hours the temperature did not come down and the display on the panel said 30"C. I telephones the house keeping and informed regarding the problem.An AC technician was sent and he reduced the setting to 22"C. I explained to him that the room temperature is showing 30"C even though the setting is 24"C. So by reducing the setting nothing is going to change. I explained to him that the AC is not working. He did not agree and told me that the air conditioner is working perfect. I told him to call the supervisor, who came and fortunately accepted that there is a problem. It was already 11:00 PM and he requested to shift to another room.I shifted to Room no 1308 in the 13th floor. The room was cool and the temperature was set to 22"C and I went to sleep. After some time I felt that there is something wrong and the room is extremely cold. I checked the room temperature in the panel and it was showing 12'C. So the problem in this room the controller is not working and the Air conditioner keep running irrespective of the room temperature. I had to switch off the air conditioner and sleep. It was a very uncomfortable night.In the morning I complained to the duty manager and she agreed to check with the technician and surprisingly wrote to me saying that the Air conditioner is working all right in the room no 1308 also. This is highly disappointing.I am a member with Le Accor club and always try to stay with one of the member hotels assuming that the rooms will be good. If the temperature in side the room is not comfortable then any room will be difficult to stay. Duty manager has agreed to up grade if I come back and stay with them again. They should accept the responsibility and refund the room rent paid if not 100% at least 50 %. Up grade does not make sense as a bigger room with two huge beds do not make sense when I am staying alone.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Overall, plesant stay"

19th July 2013, hondastream, Singapore

Overall stay was pleasant and could not really comment much about other services offered by the hotel as we arrived very late at night and had to leave early the next day.Sleep quality was ok as the bed appears to be too firm and pillow too soft.Probably it is good if the hotel could consider to offer different types of beddings and pillows for customer to select.Good location if you need to go to Hong Qiao airport or railway station.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good for business traveler"

22nd February 2013, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA

I have stayed this hotel many many times, this time I stayed almost a month. Thank you for your good service! Special thanks to Jessica ( reservation ), Jing Wei ( Front Desk ), Mr. Chen ( Breakfast server ) and Hostress ( Breakfast )! They are so professional, friendly and helpful! Mimi (Xiaozhuo Tang) WattRoom number 1616

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Cheap can only buy bad experience"

14th January 2013, denisplw, Hong Kong, China

My colleague and I reserved 2 one-bedroom suites, but the front desk gave us 2 two-bedrooms suites. If you think we should be glad with the upgrade, then sorry you are wrong. The AC system of those 2 rooms were not working at all, imagine the current weather of Shanghai then you know what is the feeling of sitting in a freezer. We tried to change the rooms but the front desk said no room was available except single rooms. My colleague accepted it but not me, why should I pay more for a cheaper room? I asked the front desk if it was because they already knew the AC was not working so "pretended" to upgrade us. Suddenly and very surprising, they had a one-bedroom suite available for me. They keep those good rooms for themselves?!Moreover, the front desk service was so lousy. 6 persons waiting for check-out and only 1 staff was handling. The girl even asked me to settle my bill with my colleague, rather than gave her the slip to refund the guarantee money!What an experience and I understand why the hotel is now selling the rooms at such a big discount.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 5.0 out of 5 stars "I will come back"

3rd December 2012, PS-NOR, Shanghai, China

Nice rooms, good service and perfect location for me when I'm in Shanghai. I arrived early in the morning and still they had the room ready for me. The kitchenette in the rooms are also very convinient. Easy access to both airports with taxi. 10 minutes to downtown. Chinawise good quality internett. Much better price than the dwntown hotels. I will for sure stay here the next time I'm in Shanghai also.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Business hotel in Hong Qiao District"

24th November 2012, Chinaman1977, Beijing, China

The Hotel is located in the heart of Hong Qiao District and is not far away from both Line 2 and Line 10 of the Subway. The hotel is not bad especially if you need a washing machine and a little kitchen in the room, so the room looks more like a serviced apartment. The two bad things that i should mention are that: 1) there were very visible holes in my bed sheets ( i have photos of those) and 2) when i ordered a greek salad with feta cheese from the room service, i was presented with a salad that contained little cubes made from the slices of processed cheese stuck one on top of the other. After i complained a new salad came with the real thing. Breakfast in the morning was quite good. Overall not a bad hotel, but i believe it is not up to a 5 star standard.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "the comfortable room"

6th September 2012, zebrarunsfast, Taoyuan, Taiwan

Either you are on business trip or travelling with family, it's a good choice to stay at this hotel.It's so touching that provide microwaves, laundry machine in the room.Room was clean, bright and comfortable.Hotel is not that near metro station though people said that "It's near station only take 10 minutes." To be honest, I have tried to walked from hotel to station it took around 20-25 minutes.Must take the taxi or public bus which is crossed street and transfer to metro. Combing eveythings, It's value to stay at this hotel.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 3.0 out of 5 stars "accor member's feedback"

19th June 2012, golfsingapore, Hong Kong, China

not convenient as there is no WIFI in the room. the room is not bright enough even with all the lights on. the ambient in the lounge on the ground level is quite nice.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Not sure it was worth of the Price"

10th June 2012, Nouname

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel during my business trip in China.The quality of my stay was ok but not what I normally expect during business trips. The breakfast was very crowded in the mornings and one morning there was even a long queue - not very convenient when you have a meeting to go to in the morning, so I chose to have the breakfast in my room.The bed was hard as usually in China and the air conditioning sometimes worked sometimes didn't. Rooms had small kitchens and washing machine for cloths, which could be nice for longer stays.Overall the stay was ok, nothing special. Next time I will try some other hotel.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good value, comfortable hotel"

7th June 2012, rsnape

Having stayed at many hotels in Shanghai, we found the Mercure to be really good value for the standard of room we got. The location is not ideal if you don't know Shanghai, however it is easy to get a taxi to any part of the city and the Metro is only a few minutes walk away. We found the queen bed to be quite small but the room was very well equipped with a big flat screen tv, kitchenette (with washing machine) and a breakfast bar. If you're looking for a base to see the sights, this isn't it. But if you want a good quality hotel for a business trip or are visiting the Hongqiao area I would certainly recommend it.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "two tumbs up"

25th May 2012, kerenhappuch_28, Surabaya, Indonesia

hotel location is far from metro we have to take 20 mnts to metro line 10. good hotel with a nice room big room , very clean . and the service is very good.the air con is cold even we make off still very cold...Thanks God metro line 10 have a lot of sight seeing line... like xintianti, yuyuan gardenopposite road of the hotel have mini mart so don't worry for supper... the onigiri is very yummy. near hotel also have fruit store... very nice....

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Quality Hotel Value"

17th February 2012, Hong Kong, China

Safe areas located in Puxi (Gubei), about 20min from Hong Qiao airport. Staff are overall polite and speak average level English. Have stayed their frequently before - average 3-5 nights, and service was much better. Restaurant on the 2nd floor was of better quality then, perhaps a change in leadership of the hotel. This time, every time i ordered from the menu, there didn't have the "soup of the day" or it "ran out"'; the usual "La Parisen" salad came in 3 different forms and tasted different on each occasion. In room service got the room number wrong and then blamed me for giving them the wrong room number after i told them 3 times slowly. The lobby lounge area was lacking in the usual service as well. Slow and inattentive. The so called "quick breakfast" ended up taking 45 min. It would have been faster to have eaten at the restaurant. Cleaning was normally great ... it was inconsistent this time, one occasion was absolutely sloppy, but a few weeks later, it was impeccable. This hotel was noticeably "consistent" in standard and service previously ... hopefully it will return to the state i remember it to be. Taxis are great to catch in this area. Normally easy for taxis to find. Walking distance to local food - restaurants, grocery stores. A few starbucks within 10-15min walking distance. Not great location for interesting shopping. Value for money - a definite yes.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Shanghai 2012"

8th January 2012, Hefei, China

The staff at the hotel were very good. Many of them spoke some English. Communication was not a problem. The hotel was clean, quiet and the location outside the city center, but near the train station and airport were the reasons we picked this location.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestOn behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Honqiao Shanghai hotel we would like to thank you for your comments. Our concierge team would be more than happy to assist you if you need to access the city center in your next visit.Best regardsHotel Management
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.