Hotel addressHigh street
RH4 1BE DORKING
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 13' 57.48'' W 0° 19' 47.72''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)2076/600685
- Fax. (+44)1306/887241
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel - hotel reviews in Dorking
Hotel code: 6637
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
11th September 2013, Bev673, Milton Keynes
very enjoyable stay, with a visit to Denbies vineyard and gallery restaurant that was brilliant. It is a relaxed tour and informative, with good food in the restaurant.The hotel gave great service and was a characterful place, with a fabulous breakfast that gave us the energy to climb boxhill!
"Dorking July 2013"
24th July 2013, Maturecouple66, Milton Keyens
Good central location with plenty of parking. Predominantly old building but new rooms added at rear. Did not use hotel for breakfast as we considered the charge excessive. Good choice of restaurants nearby, also good variety of shops in DorkingView management response »
Management responseDear GuestMany thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the White Horse Hotel in the future.Kind RegardsEd Cooper, Hotel Manager
"Charming and hospitable"
24th July 2013, Dooglie, Bath, United Kingdom
I stay in Mercure hotels regularly and was expecting an efficient and good quality hotel. The White Horse did that, but was also a beautiful old characterful hotel with period features as well as all modern facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms very individual, very much exceeding my expectations. It was situated nearby to my eventual destination and was easy to find.View management response »
Management responseDear Dooglie,I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit to the Mercure White Horse Hotel, and that you experienced the typical Mercure high standards. I was also encouraged to read that you found the hotel easily and you enjoyed the charater of the building.We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments.With kind regardsEd CooperHotel Manager
"One night stop-over"
17th July 2013, retrospeed, harvington
This is not a new hotel and some aspects such as the drab reception needs addressing. However, the general service levels are high, typically Accor, and I guess training has been carried out since my last stay. The rear block is quieter and rooms air-conditioned. The hotel is pleasantly situated in the High Street with a large choice of restaurants conveniently situated. All in all, I would recommend the White Horse for an overnight stay.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor, I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel. It was also very pleasing to read that my staff surpassed your expectations, you are correct in that we do train the team regularly to ensure that the high service standards are maintained. I have noted your comments about the reception area and instructed the Front Office team to make some improvements. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your comments.Kind regardsEd CooperHotel Manager
"Historic and pleasant"
17th July 2013, Mijnuna, London, United Kingdom
Sympathetically combined an old historic building with modern mod cons. My room (118) was large, clean, well designed. TV, kettle etc. were encased in a cupboard which complemented the surroundings.Most rooms are on the first and second floors involving steep staircases so disabled clients need to stipulate a ground floor room. Needs a little TLC (lick of paint to outside areas, window catches etc.) but at least the windows open! Beautiful lounge/bar area and very conveniently placed in the middle of the high street with parking.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestI’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the White Horse Hotel. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments with regard to the paintwork and the matter has already been addressed with my maintenance team. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel very soon. Kind regards, Ed Cooper, Hotel Manager
"Great hotel worth the money"
17th July 2013, Susannahmason, Cambridge, United Kingdom
This is the third time we have visited this hotel in the past two years. The staff are always helpful and the rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is an old coaching inn with lots of interesting features. The food is good and great value for money. The hotel is set in the main high street and you drive through an arch to reach the car park. Despite being in the centre of town, the hotel is quite and peaceful. Hoping to return soon.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,I am delighted to read that once again we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel and that you are still suitably impressed with the bedrooms in the hotel. It was also very pleasing to read that the food and my team maintained their usual high standard and surpassed your expectations, and I have made them aware of your kind comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel very soon and I would like to thank you once again for your review.Kind regardsEd CooperHotel Manager
"Could be good but!"
14th July 2013, London
Our original room was located in the "sixties" annex at the back. Room was a good size well furnished and decorated but the old type aluminium framed windows have a severe "Black Mould" problem, which is a health hazzard requiring immediate eradication. The staff tried to make excuses, old building, in the middle of the countryside etc etc, but Black Mould is a health hazzard brought about by lax cleaning standards, but they moved us to another room anyway. Also extremely worried about security, my wife was in the room one afternoon when it was visited by a man wanting to check the air con, now if he was a member of the hotel staff he should have known that the room we were in did not have air-con, when this fact was pointed out to him he immediatey changes his tune and said that he had to check the wardrobe to see how many pillows we had, air-con check to pillow check in thesame breath wierd????Sorry, this hotel could be great, the location is superb and the actual staff are very good, but the hotel is badly maintaned and the rooms in the back annex are a health hazzard (Google Black Mould for confirmation), plus security concerns, so too many problems and it will be a while before we chance staying at another Mercure again and I am an "A Club" Gold Card holder.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestI would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention, as it is only through receiving comments such as yours that I am able to constantly monitor the service and standards offered to our guests. I have investigated your comments with both my Maintenance and Housekeeping departments in order to establish what happened, and addressed your concerns.I do hope you will return to a Mercure Hotel in the near future where we can demonstrate that your experience was unique and I am confident we can re-establish your faith in us. I am sorry that your experience of the hotel during your last visit was not perfect, and I would like to apologise that we failed to match your expectations at the White Horse Hotel . If you’d like to discuss any of your comments directly, please feel free to contact me personally, my email address is email@example.com.Kind RegardsEd CooperHotel Manager
"Great location, lovely breakfast"
13th July 2013, williams.pj, Portsmouth, England
Hotel convenient for business event, great spread for breakfast including veggie options. Hotel is an old coaching inn, so lovely character, however as there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms, it was very uncomfortable on one of the few hot days of the year! Service was good.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto TripadvisorI am delighted to read that you were impressed by the location of the hotel and the breakfast offering, and that the service from my team met with your expectations, I have passed your comments onto my Food & Beverage team.I was however dissapointed to read your comments about the lack of air conditioning which made your stay uncomfortable at the hotel. Half of the bedrooms do have air conditioning, and whenever possible, we allocate guests in these rooms when the weather is pleasant in order to make the stay more enjoyable. Please therefore accept my apologies that all of these rooms were clearly occupied on the night of your most recent stay.We hope to be able to welcome you back to the White Horse for a more comfortable stay in the recent future now that the seasons have changed.With kind regardsEd CooperHotel Manager
6th February 2013, paulie62_13, Guildford, United Kingdom
Our stay was a welcome break from the hustle bustle of our hectic lives. We were attended to very quickly and politely.Our room was very nice (we chose to stay in the older wing of the hotel) It was clean warm and welcoming.However the complimentary teas coffees and biscuits were a little lacking.The room was facing the main road but the secondary double glazing worked well and kept 90% of the traffic noise out. But the heating made the room rather hot so we had to open the windows to cool down!The bed was very comfortable but again the overbearing central heating made us have a somewhat uncomfortable night.Our evening meal at the hotel was very good but the menu was a little restrictive in choice. The breakfast on the other hand was outstanding with a large selection to chose from!
25th January 2013, terrydaymond, Newcastle, United Kingdom
We had a pleasant time at the hotel.Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was varied in choice and excellenty prepared.The log fire was a welcoming site on the cold day we arrived. The hotel has an old world appeal which we liked. the room was a good size withcomfortable bed ,it was quiet and warm.
"Very good service from the staff"
20th December 2012, domenicoguizzo, Valdobbiadene, Italy
As far as tha hotel is concern I can say that I have had very good service from the staff but the restaurant doesn't use table clothes on the tables.I only eat in restaurant where table cloths are provided.
18th November 2012, PandAHall_12, Blackpool, United Kingdom
We had a wonderful relaxing weekend overall. The reception and restaurant staff were very polite and our room was very clean and the breakfast plentiful. I have two complaints though, albeit trivial. We booked online and were supposed to receive a welcome pack in our rooms which we didn't receive. The contents weren't much however, I do feel if something has been advertised you should comply. Also, we returned to the hotel at 11.30pm on Saturday night with the intention of having a nightcap at the bar, however the front door of the hotel was locked and we had to go round the back. The whole of the reception and bar area was in total darkness and we felt obliged to retire to our room. On Sunday evening however we returned back to the hotel at 9.30 and was able to get a drink and it felt a little more welcoming. We will still visit the White Horse again as this is the first time there's been an issue and the location for our visit is ideal.
"Nice period hotel with large car park and excellent location"
8th October 2012
A period hotel with large free car parking and in an excellent location in center of town.The restaurant menu looked good and I wanted to eat and drink, but there were no real ales or attractive beers so I went elsewhere.I asked for a quiet room as I had been working away from home and driving long distances for three days. I was woken at 06:15 when the person in the room next to mine used their shower which was immediately the other side of the wall against which my bed was positioned? Oh well, it saved me an alarm call!
13th June 2012, DevonGirl80, Exeter, United Kingdom
I stayed in the old part, full of character and very clean. Beautiful room. Hotel was easy to find in the middle of the high street.
"Nice pub-like hotel"
1st June 2012, jamesfromFulham, london
I was put right over the car park and so it was v noisy and I couldn't have the windows open on a very hot night. Also no free internet in the room was unexpected and at £4 per hour would make it an impossible choice for business.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.