Hotel - Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

High street  Surrey 
RH4 1BE DORKING
UNITED KINGDOM

477 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 477 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 62.80 GBP Non member rate
From 56.52 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Select your dates 62.80 GBP

Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

The 3-star Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel has 78 classically decorated bedrooms, housed in an 18th century coaching inn, giving the hotel its character and atmospheric charm. The White Horse Hotel is located near Dorking Halls and Denbies Wine Estate. Discover the traditional cuisine of the Coach House restaurant and enjoy a drink in the cosy Coach House Bar, with its log fires and low ceiling beams, making the Dorking White Horse hotel perfect for weekend breaks.

The hotel is situated in Dorking where the main point of interest is the Denbies wine estate. There are other interesting attractions within the area; please check our tourist info page to find out more .

Hotel extras

Enjoy the original fixtures of the hotel, which date back to 1750 and were originally owned by the Knights Templar. There are five meeting rooms which are ideal for a meeting or wedding with plenty of on-site car parking.

This hotel is Planet 21 Bronze
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Breakfast
  • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Our rooms

The hotel has 78 bedrooms and offers a variety of accommodation from classically decorated bedrooms to contemporary bedrooms with modern facilities.

  • Classic double or twin room
    Classic double or twin room

    Classic double & twin rooms with a blend of contemporary & classic design. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron, ironing board and trouser press

  • Superior double room
    Superior double room

    Superior double rooms with modern décor, authentic features, TV, radio, direct dial phone, Internet access, en suite with upgraded bathroom amenities, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary water, mini fridge, iron, ironing board & trouser press

  • Classic Single room
    Classic Single room

    Our Classic single rooms include a single bed, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, hairdryer, ironing board, work desk, and free unlimited WiFi.

  • Classic Twin Room
    Classic Twin Room

    Our Classic twin rooms include two single beds, a flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, hairdryer, an ironing board, work desk, and free unlimited WiFi.

  • 41 rooms
  • 67 non-smoking rooms
  • 3 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Airconditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Air Cooling System
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Crib on request
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Iron in room
    • Minibar
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

THE COACH HOUSE RESTAURANT Restaurant
Lunch
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE COACH HOUSE RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: International


The Coach House Restaurant table d hote and seasonal a la carte menus offer traditional English and international cuisine. Warm and friendly service from our experienced team.Non smoking area. Opening hours: 7am to 9:45pm

Find out more and book
THE COACH HOUSE BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE COACH HOUSE BAR


Open to non-residents. The Bar and Lounge provides a traditional warm welcome with open log fires and low beamed ceilings adds to the ambience of bygone era. Offering lounge food daily and drinks. An ideal meeting place for business or pleasure.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 5
  • Maximum size: 47 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 50
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 36

Our customer reviews for Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 477 reviews
F947EBnickh 2016/11/13
« Comfortable Stay »

The hotel is in a good location for visiting Dorking, and our stay was comfortable. The rooms could do with a redecorate and fresh tea and coffee should be served for breakfast instead of the flasks that were on offer if tea isn't fresh its horrible. Other than these points our stay was very good.

johnny99m 2016/01/04
« Mercure White Horse, Dorking »

This was a trip to the area where I grew up revisiting old haunts. The hotel is centrally located in the town with plenty of nearby restaurants. Although in the town centre rooms in the garden block where we were are very quiet at night so no disturbance from passers-by. Staff were friendly and efficient. Our only issue was with some sandwiches from the bar where one didn't appear to have any butter at all, and the other had a wee drop of butter in the middle. One also came on the wrong bread. Breakfasts were excellent. We didn't use the restaurant for an evening meal so cannot comment.

MercureWhiteHorse, General Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johnny99m Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you have found the team here to be friendly and efficient. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, I am sure that your comments will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back to the White Horse Hotel in your next visit to Dorking. Kind regards, Sami Amor General Manager

2015/09/07
« white horse dorking »

The room was nice ,but under the arch to get to room there wher loose pavers and rubbish in garden ,outside the entrance door where smoking bins not a very nice site also needed clearing up ,inside doorway badly stained carpet with plaster footprint leading to a locked door ,on the top of the stairs there was a half eaten meal on a tray told reception nothing done at night mentioned to reception ,still there in morning brought the person from reception to show her just looked at it and walked away. will not be returning or to any of group what a shame thanks rg warner

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay with us. I am rather embarrassed to read your comments about the lack of our housekeeping. We do try our utmost to maintain the grounds to the best of our ability, but clearly on this case failed to do so. In reference to the loose papers, we do get cats that rummage through bins and can be somewhat of a nuisance at times. We have since taken necessary actions to eliminate this from happening again. Mr Member, the “plaster” was actually a footprint of washing powder, unconsciously left behind by a member of the team after leaving the laundry room. How disappointing to read that my team member did not take ownership in clearing the room service tray, I can assure you that this will not happen again. I do hope that you have a change of heart and do visit us again in the near future, as I would like to welcome you back Kind Regards Pash Naidoo General Manager

lindsayfkaplan 2015/07/31
« WE LOVED THIS PLACE! »

This was a charming hotel. Firstly, it was both very old and quite modern, a lovely combination. It was impeccably clean, and had possibly the friendliest staff I've encountered in a long time, which is really saying something because hotels tend to have quite friendly employees. Pash in particular was WONDERFUL and because of her we would not only consider returning to this hotel, but to this sweet town!

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindsayfk... Thank you ever so much for your glowing review. I am glad you “loved this place”; as we certainly enjoyed having you over at ours. The team and I would like to say thank you for you sentiments about us! It was an absolute pleasure meeting your dad and quoting my team … “he is a legend” We hope to welcome you all back to the White horse soon Regards Pash Naidoo General Manager

vjb1980 2015/07/21
« one night stay »

Both my husband and I were very impressed with this hotel. It's very well located and the breakfast is amazing with lots of choice if you do go for that option. Also the beds are so comfortable/firm that I had the best nights kip in a hotel for a very long time. Lots of parking too. The only minor thing that meant a star less rated was that funds are taken at time of order rather than on checkout, otherwise all great!

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vjb1980 It was great to read your review, and glad you both were impressed with our hotel. I am disappointed that we did not achieve 5 stars; how-ever we aim to do so on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Horse soon. Regards Pash Naidoo General Manager

Juha M 2015/07/20
« Dorking visit »

White Horse hotel is an old English country style comfortable and well maintained hotel with very helpful staff. Location in center of the city. Very nice weekend spot. We had good time both in Dorking as well in hotel.

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juha M Many thanks for your positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Dorking as well as the White Horse. The team were also thankful of your kind words. Hope we get the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Regards Pash Naidoo General Manager

Dave Y 2015/05/20
« A traditional comfortable and welcoming hotel »

Central in Dorking with ease of access and parking. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, were able to immediately amend room allocation and the room was very comfortable, quiet providing a great night's sleep. The bathroom was large and well appointed though my preference would be for a future upgrade to a walk in shower Great venue close to the evening event we attended.

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave Y Glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and the hotel as well as location were comfortable and convenient. It’s always nice to have positive mentions about the team, and I will be sure to inform them of your kind words. On your next stay, please let us know of any preferences in advance and we will try our utmost to assist. Look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Pash Naidoo, General Manager

darrenfInlay 2015/05/07
« My stay at the Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel »

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and were happy with the service that friendly staff provided . I must say that the meal that we had was fantastic,so top marks to the chef. The bed in our room was very comfortable and the room was spacious . The room was a little bit warm for my liking but it did have the advantage of having a large sliding window that I could open.

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darrenflnlay I was rather pleased to read of your positive experience. I will be sure to pass your sentiments onto my team, especially chef. Sorry if the room temperature caused any discomfort, it can sometimes be tricky to regulate in an old building. Hopefully you will visit us soon, and have another good night sleep on our comfy beds Pash Naidoo General Manager

Richard H 2015/05/07
« Good Room - Friendly Staff but Hotel Tired »

Room was very good but garden annexe block needs exterior refurbishment together with areas around staircase. Also no lift in this block. Breakfast on first day was very disorganised due to large wedding party also staying who all wanted food at same time causing shortage. Appreciate beyond control of hotel. Had to get up and eat much earlier on second day to avoid this although service and food was then very good.

H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard H Thanks you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate your feedback. We do take on board your comments about the refurbishment and will be sure to feed this back to the correct channels. Sorry to read of breakfast on your first morning, we do try our utmost to control busy times, so as to ensure that all our guests are receiving flawless service, but sometimes do fall short of this. We will ensure that moving forward we are better prepared for these types of situations. Was how-ever glad that the service improved on your second morning. We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the White Horse. Pash Naidoo General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 62.80 GBP Non member rate
From 56.52 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 2.5 km Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
From
From 102.00 GBP Non member rate
From 91.80 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 13 km Sofitel London Gatwick
Sofitel London Gatwick hotel
From
From 100.00 GBP Non member rate
From 95.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 15 km ibis London Gatwick Airport
ibis London Gatwick Airport hotel
From
From 40.00 GBP Non member rate
From 38.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 23 km ibis Styles London Croydon
ibis Styles London Croydon hotel
From
From 32.00 GBP Non member rate
From 30.40 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in DORKING
Select your dates 62.80 GBP Rooms from 62.80 GBP