Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Banbury Hotels > Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Private indoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking - Nearby
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 69
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: BLENHEIM PALACE (30.57 km)

Hotel address

17 - 19 Horse Fair
Banbury Cross
OX16 0AN BANBURY
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 52° 3' 39.48'' W 1° 20' 25.16'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel - hotel reviews in Banbury

Hotel code: 6633

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "'Tired' looking hotel"

2nd September 2013, TheMobile, Sheffield, United Kingdom

Was travelling on business alone. Hotel generally looking very old and tired and desperate need of refurbishment. As a result, this made it very expensive for what was on offer. Reception staff fine. Did not take dinner but at breakfast it was as through the waiter did not wish to speak to me as I was alone. He made a fuss over everyone who was in two or more but not single people. Not sure why. Overall a very disappointing stay.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank for your review and I am very sorry to read about the lack of staff interaction with yourself at breakfast, I will certainly discuss this with the Food and Beverage Manager. We had a large number of bedrooms refurbished recently and am hoping to continue this programme in order to improve the overall condition of the hotel.Once again many thanks and apologies for your dissapointment.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "One night stay"

30th August 2013, KevB123, Leicester, United Kingdom

When we booked and confirmed our reservation on the telephone, we were told we had the 'old' part of the hotel with beamed cealings and character flooring. Upon arrival this unfortunately was not the case as we had a modern decor room and though we were given the option to move to the 'new' part of the hotel (honeymoon suite), we chose not to as there was no charactor at all in that part of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but not what we thought we had paid for.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am terribly sorry that you did not get a room in the older part of the hotel as you thought, I am pleased to read through that your room was clean and comfortable. Should you choose to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact myself or Front Office Manager and we will ensure you have a more charachterful room in the older part of the hotel.Once again many thanks and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Good value and service"

23rd August 2013, KentJacky, Kent

Had an excellent stay - good value, lovely food and friendly, helpful staff. If there was any criticism, it would be that the lift was rather hidden away and not very user friendly, although this was understandable for such an old building.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your stay with us, I am so glad to read that you had such an excellent stay, apart from the location of the lift which is understandable. I will be sure pass on your kind words regarding the food and the team here to all concerened.I trust we will be able to welcome you back in the future.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Almost the worst hotel I have visited"

12th August 2013, Rustler2013, Dorchester, United Kingdom

This hotel is 50 years out of date and unsuitable for disabled or older people who will have difficulty with the many different levels and steps. There is no direct access to the lift from the reception, itis necessary to go out of a side door walk 20 m. And go back in through a different door to access the lift.Theroom was small and stuffy the bathroom was from the 1950's the best meal was breakfast and we left after that!

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestI am very sorry to read how dissatisfed you were with your recent stay here in regards to the hotel layout, the lift is at the far end of hotel and whilst it is possible to access the older part of the hotel without going outside it does involve a number of steps and stairs in the original 17th Century part of the hotel. Should have the need to stay in the area again please do not hesitate to contact me and I will do by best to offer you one of our two rooms on the ground floor should they be available. I am however pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast here but am sorry that you left after that.Once again my sincere apologies.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Beautiful traditional hotel"

6th August 2013, Jan F

A beautiful old charactered hotel with a lovely garden, but decor a little tired. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Hotel in an ideal location In The centre of Banbury . Car park a bit scary up the very narrow entrance.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your very kind words following your stay with us here at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the whole team here and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Staying at Whately Hall"

19th July 2013, Weekender152, Rochester, Kent

A very convenient hotel with tight access to the car park, ok if taken with care. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 2out of 3 breakfasts were fine; Sunday's was the worst I have ever encountered in a British hotel. The hot buffet seemed as if it had been sitting there for a couple of hours and was dried out. I spoke to one of the waiters who was exceptionally responsive and said he would get a freshly cooked one. I declined this . This waiter was excellent throughout our stay and could not have done more for us.We would use this hotel again and hope that the Sunday breakfast chef had been spoken to!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review I am very pleased to read your kind words about our team here but naturally disappointed to read your comments regarding Sundays breakfast, I will certainly discuss your comments with the Head Chef and the Chef who was on duty.Once again many thanks and apologies for any inconvienience causedKind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Central location"

13th July 2013, Grem51, Perth, United Kingdom

Third time we've stayed here, because we like it's old world atmosphere, central location and friendly service. We choose a room in the original building, rather than the more modern (but same as everywhere else) block in the back. A bit more traffic noise, but what do you expect in a city centre..

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts following another recent stay here with at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am so glad you like the atmosphere and the service we offer and I do hope that will be able to welcome you again the future.Once again many thanks,Michael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Well Located"

1st July 2013, New Delhi / India

Good Hotel - well located in nice surroundings . Excellent Service and ideal place to staywhen visiting the Cotswolds in the UK. Well connected by train and Bus and well located off the main High Street. Good comfortable Rooms with a 17th Century ambience

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,I am very happy to read your lovely comments following your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I am glad you enjoyed your hotel experience and found us to be in such a good location and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you need to stay in the area.Once again many thanksKind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Wedding venue"

25th June 2013, geoffwaring, Tewkesbury

Stayed one night as we were invited to a wedding reception held at this hotel. The reception was very good, staff looked after us splendidly. One great feature is the garden behind the hotel which is a nice quiet oasis in the town centre. We stayed in one of the more modern rooms and although perfectly clean and comfortable, it could do with a refresh of the decor. Worth the 4 stars though.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you very much for your kind comments following a stay here with and I am very happy that you enjoyed your friends wedding here so much and our lovely gardens. Regarding the decor I am pleased to say that we did a large number of bedrooms last year and have emabrked on another redecoration programe this year to refresh more bedrooms. Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to be able to welcome you again to Mercure Whately Hall in the future.Kind RegardsMichael WilliamsGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.