Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Cheltenham Hotels > Mercure Cheltenham Queen's
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Cheltenham Queen's
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 84
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: CHELTENHAM (0.80 km)

Hotel address

The Promenade
GL50 1NN CHELTENHAM
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 51° 53' 47.17'' W 2° 4' 47.50'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's - hotel reviews in Cheltenham

Hotel code: 6632

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nice hotel, excellent location"

29th August 2013, Amy282885, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom

A nice hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, some parts of the hotel are in need of a refurbishment and one of our rooms was rather small. Good breakfast and value for money. Car park is also rather pricey at £10 per car if you are a resident.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.Kind RegardsPeter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 3.0 out of 5 stars "£10 to park!"

28th August 2013, Ljp1961a, Southampton, United Kingdom

Hotel fine but becoming a little shabby around the edges. Comfortable and clean. Excellent location at the top of the Prom, close to cafes and shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. Unpleasant surprise to be charged to park ..did I miss this in the small print?

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.I am sorry you were surprised by the car park charge, it is dispalyed on the entrance to the car park and on our website. A number of hotels in town centre locations have introduced car park charges. I am keenly aware that it is an additional expense for our guests, however, given the availability and alternatives I do feel that our charge is fair value.Kind RegardsPeter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Are you a gymnast or contortionist?"

19th July 2013, HamlynTenerife, Tenerife

The room safe was at floor level in a cupboard - how weird is this?Coffee served at breakfast was undrinkable - pseudo caffetieres were used but the coffee was made in huge containers and decanted to make it seem "freshly brewed".Buffet breakfast eggs were "bounceable" i.e. like rubber and bacon had been thereforever.Charging for residents overnight parking is just another way to increase the hotel profits .

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,The standard of breakfast you received is not indicative of our usual high performance and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down.Please rest assured that your comments will be taken seriously and the issues raised investigated thoroughly.Kind RegardsPeter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A Grand Hotel"

8th July 2013, MargDesG, Perth, Australia

A hotel in the grand old style. Although some renovating is probably in order the hotel has the usual amenities (including car parking). The Queens is well located and represents very good value for money. Our executive room was large and comfortable. It was our second stay at the hotel (the first as a Mecure) and we found it little changed. Overall highly recommended.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence soon.Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend getaway"

2nd July 2013, Granville146, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

The queens hotel is a great place to stay to enjoy the delights of the surrounding city with all of the city centre amenities within easy walking distance. The hotel is well equipped and very comfortable and a good place to relax after a hard day of shopping and coffee drinking.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 3.0 out of 5 stars "The Helpful Staff Make this Hotel Worthwhile"

27th June 2013, marlowstevens, Gold Coast

When you see the photograph that advertises The Queens Hotel you may think of grandeur, but the actual Hotel is just a very old hotel that is very well run. The difference are the staff. They are knowledgeable, very pleasant and helpful and they made my visit very pleasurable.The Hotel is centrally located almost within the CBD, and if you are travelling by car, is handy to some great excursions through the Cotswolds. Breakfast is great value and offers a combination of buffet and a la carte. The only complaint is the Hotel is used for functions such as weddings and in my case there was a wedding with inebriated guests screaming and shouting from ground level which was not condusive to a good night's sleep and nor were the pillows on the bed, which were made of hardy stuff and certainly no feathers. Having said that, if you want a value for money olde worlde hotel, choose the Mercure Cheltenham Queens.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in CheltenhamI will pass on your kind words to my team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Glory may be faded but still an excellent place"

2nd March 2013, CaptainandMrs, Tonbridge, United Kingdom

We have stayed here several times, happily returning as it's location is great, the staff are friendly and overall value for money is good. The breakfast is superb, and we have been pleasantly surprised that the evening meal has been more reasonably priced than you might expect for this type of hotel. If you are looking for lavish modern luxury then you might be disappointed, but if you are looking for a good traditional hotel with a historic touch of class, then this is it.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 3.0 out of 5 stars "The old rooms are better than the new ones"

9th December 2012, nicknsue45, Gloucester, United Kingdom

First room offered was one of the "modern" ones and quite laughably small. Upgraded to a larger (older) room which was fine except for a fair bit of traffic noise in the night.Buffet breakfast was almost uneatable. But, having said that, the hotel is in an excellent position and was very comfortable. I would stay there again.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast which has been highlighted to the Chef for him to address Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Hotel - Noisy Kids"

3rd December 2012, Bertsdad, Rugby

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel is in an excellent location, comfortable room and VERY attentive staff. They also serve a superb breakfast. So I have no problem giving them 5* for everything. BUT.......................on the Saturday a large party of boys (7-10 y/o ) arrived for a football match and proceeded to run up and down the staircases along the corridors to the rooms, shouting to each other. The hotel staff tried hard to calm them and asked those supervising them to calm them. Nothing happened. This went on until their bedtime about 9pm. I was a 10 y/o once but would never have behaved as there boys did.The hotel staff did try hard to quieten the children and apologised profusely to the many guests who complained but I do question their judgement in taking in so many children.It has however taught me to avoid hotels which take children.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.It is unsual for us to have a large group of children staying with us and we were assured that they would be well behaved.I sincerely hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future.Kind RegardsPeter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 4.0 out of 5 stars "breaking the journey on a long trip North to south"

22nd November 2012, 145pandc, Taunton, United Kingdom

One of our fave hotels in one of our fave locations. Great friendly reception, easy handy parking, quickly out shopping [ on the doorstep ], great choice of food and drink outlets in the town, upgraded to a lovely exec room for £10, took the breakfast offer at £10 pp, and paid the extra £5pp to have delivered to room.Stylish and luxurious stay, at a budget price.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Cotswold jewel in the Regency crown"

3rd October 2012, paul7rhg, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

Superb hotel, very professional and friendly staff who were always ready to help and also very knowledgeable. The font desk staff were particularly helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. There was a huge choice at breakfast which was very well prepared to individual taste. The service throughout by the serving staff was faultless and worthy of particular mention. Dinners were very well prepared and with a varied menu to suit all tastes. An outstanding experience I would recommend. The hotel is the best located in the town being in the centre of Cheltenham only a few minutes walk from the shops and other amenities.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel soon.Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 4.0 out of 5 stars "One to recommend"

19th May 2012, mrsmiggins_12, Toulouse, France

An impressive building from the outside and does not disappoint on entering. Great position to walk to town centre and Montpellier area. Rather slow service at reception to check in, but probably due to arrival time - 2.15pm. Lovely comfortable room with windows on 2 sides overlooking town and were also given the option to choose another room if not satisfied with this one. Very comfortable bed with soft cotton sheets. Inclusive breakfast was good and plenty of choice from menu and buffet, although the buffet certainly looked like it had been sitting out under hot lamps since 7am when we arrived at 10am. Tasted fine tho! Private car parking at £10 per night seemed a bit steep. Overall a good weekend break hotel for location, quality of room and welcoming staff.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
« hide

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Mistakes can happen"

17th February 2012, BarbaraAB1

I arrived and checked into this hotel last week, was given my room key and pointed towards the lift. No help was offered even though I had told the receptionist my vision was very poor as I was about to have a cataract operation. When I got to the room I had been allocated it did not appear to be of the correct standard - I had booked a superior room. I have stayed at this hotel often, and knew what to expect. I rang down to ask Reception, was told to wait for a return call as she was busy, and decided to return to reception, with a suitcase, a bag and a handbag. I had to wait again, and was made to feel that I was in the wrong, although the mistake was clearly that of the hotel in incorrect room allocation! Fortunately for me I know the hotel and I had proof of my booking. I honestly believe that had I not had so, the Receptionist would have refused to change the room. She was rude, and needs training in customer service. She blamed everything and everyone. I simply wanted a change of room and an admittance that a mistake had been made, the latter I did not get. This was at 7pm on Friday 10th February. The hotel is in a good position in Cheltenham, has a very nice feel to it, and a lot of the rooms are quite large. Everyone else in the hotel was most helpful and considerate, especially the night porter.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.