Hotel addressManchester Road
OL11 2XZ ROCHDALE
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 53° 34' 52.99'' W 2° 10' 30.74''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)161/6199004
- Fax. (+44)1706/649313
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa - hotel reviews in Rochdale
Hotel code: 6631
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Valentines day stay"
1st March 2013, natalie2208, Rochdale, United Kingdom
I have now been to the Norton Grange on a number of occassions.The most frequent visits where for my 22nd birthday last November for a spa day with my mum, we had a brilliant day! the staff where so friendly and really went out of their way to ensure we had a fabulous day.After this visit I booked a Winter Warmer special for myself and my boyfriend as a christmas present. We decided to use this on Valentines day and book the Valentines day special.This meant we had afternoon tea for two , an hour treatment each and use of the spa facilities all day. We then had a three course meal , a bottle of sparkling wine , chocolates, breakfast in bed and late check out.The food was fantastic even better as everything was included in the price! Again all the staff are lovely and approachable. It hard to believe you are in the boro of Rochdale. Will defiantly be keeping an eye out for future deals !View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you so much for your kind words regarding your visit over Valentines. It’s so ice to receive great comments and I will share these with the team. Look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Hotel has deteriated since first staying in 3 years ago"
30th December 2012, unhappycustomer002, Manchester
Rooms are shabby - no vallance or matress protector on bed - windows not double glazed so traffic noise loud from main road - just a few of the complaints we had + considering we stayed over Christmas not one member of staff wished us Happy Christmas!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel has deteriorated since your first visit; we have taken your comments on board to ensure that the issues you faced will not be repeated.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Enjoyed Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa"
14th October 2012, Susan0851, Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
We found this hotel from the Accor group to be excellent. The staff in particular went out of their way to offer help and advice to travellers. We ate two lunches and three dinners in the hotel. The standard of the food was very good. Enough variety for the time we were there. Presentation of food was excellent. Staff service particularly in the bistro and restaurant area were very friendly and helpful.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you so much for your great review of the hotel, it’s always nice to receive great comments. I will ensure the rest of the team are informed about your stay.Look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"It's good to be expected."
4th September 2012, EddieB124, Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
As computers were "down" our arrival was not expected. Having booked online what was called a room in a quiet part of the hotel we were given, at second attempt, a room overlooking the main road - noisy all through the night. The first room offered was already occupied. Only being there for one night we decided not to complain. Dinner was a solitary affair - good service but poor value starter, better main course. Spec for the room mentioned bathrobes and mineral water - not in evidence. Corridors & lift badly cleaned - paper rubbish. On checking out the reception manager said that they did not have quiet rooms only standard & superior. Spa centre staff made little effort to use the facilities other than give us a brochure. Little made of the superb views to the west of the site - a wide rural valley, but plenty of trees and grass areas.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you encountered problems during your stay, as you know we had a problem with the computer system however this should have not affected your stay. I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel and hope that you enjoyed the wedding you attended.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"very nice spa hotel"
1st September 2012, alphonsomartin, Birmingham, United Kingdom
stayed at norton grange for 4 nights,very comfortable room, polite staff, the thermal suite could do with updating flaking paint,tired looking etc but generally would definatly recommend it,the hotel is a 15 minute walk from castleton railway station and is set in lovely grounds worth exploringView management response »
Management responseDear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the Spa. It’s so nice to receive great reviews especially 5 star ones.Look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"great place for a relaxing break"
31st July 2012, liz45678, Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Great place near to good road network, rooms good fitness suite and pool area very good. great place to relax and enjoy a break. we didn't use the restaurant facilities or bar as we had already made alternative plans. we will be booking again!View management response »
Management responseDear Guest Thank you for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Hopefully next time you may be able to try our restaurant.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Mercure Norton Grange"
23rd July 2012, RobertSG4, Codicote, United Kingdom
I arrived around 8pm after along journey from Edinburgh.On arrival I was greeted by a very friendly lady called Leigh. The room was more than adequate and for the £70 far better than you can get in budget hotel for the same price.I ate in the bar and again was met by friendly bar staff who didn't rush me to place an order.Rib eye Steak for great and the green peppercorn sauce very nice indeed.A little road noise as my room was closest to the main road but not excessive.Would definitely look to book here again if looking for somwhere in the area in the futureView management response »
Management responseDear CISSPThank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had encountered problems with noise from one of our school proms and I apologise for that. It is a rare occurrence that we have events on through the week as 90% of our events are on a Friday or Saturday, fortunately school proms occur only once a year so we don’t normally receive complaints about noise, smoking or the language of our guests.It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed our facilities and thank you for your kind words towards our fantastic staff.Yours sincerelyDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Nice hotel, poor restaurant service"
18th June 2012, BMcK_Edinburgh, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
The hotel was comfortable and dinner in the restuarant was good quality and value. Two issues. 1) A little hard to find because "wedding fair" banners have been draped over the hotel signs at the entrance - obscuring the hotel name! 2) In the restaurant there were many staff but poorly organised. Although it wasn't busy it took three requests and 20 minutes for them to bring me a G&T. So, good in parts but could do better.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Norton Grange. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. I am sorry that you thought the restaurant service was poor; I am addressing these issues with the Restaurant Manager to ensure we have consistent great service.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
1st June 2012, warksbear, Coventry, United Kingdom
Nice hotel in pleasant surroundings, though the nearby area is a bit unloved. Slow breakfast service meant tea and toast missed out. PS some satnavs take you to about three miles at the other end of Manchester road. Maybe best to phone hotel for better postcodeView management response »
Management responseDear WorksbearThank you for your review following on from your recent stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and I will pass on your thanks to the rest of the team.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Nearly usual standard"
11th May 2012, jennifer211_12, holmrook
everything good but Sunday buffet breakfast was not up to the usual standard we have come to expect at the Norton Grange.View management response »
Management responseDear guestThank you for taking the time to write a review your comments are really appreciated. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast on the Sunday morning, breakfast is really important to us and not to exceed our guest’s expectations is just not acceptable.Please accept my apologies.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"great hotel for our needs"
4th May 2012, peter_lecornu, Canberra, Australia
great hotel in a location that suited our needs for visiting family. only a 20 minute train ride into manchester city centre.View management response »
Management responseDear PeterThank you for your positive review; hope to see you again whilst visiting friends in the area.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
19th March 2012, Istanbul
It is not so near neither to the Manchester City nor the airport. However, easy access is available when you have your own car. Walking in the green garden with a wide green scenery gives you relaxation after swimming in the spa-pool. When the breakfast is in question, do not expect too much to chose if you are not familiar with the English breakfast. If you find only cornflakes and tea then it becomes the most expensive breakfast you will ever have. Rooms are comfortable and the lounge bar is nice to have some drinks and snacks with a friendly relaxing ambience.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay and the wonderful scenery we have from the hotel.It’s always nice to relax in the bar after a hard day, glad you had chance to do so.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"Relaxing spa weekend."
14th March 2012, Widnes, United Kingdom
My sister and I booked a spa day through Frugaloo at the Mecure Norton Grange Hotel and decided to book ourselves into the hotel for the night to make the stay into a weekend break.Upon arrival we went straight to the spa and were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who signed us in. We could not have asked for a more helpful lady as she took us through to the changing rooms with our towels and robes and talked us through everything.We relaxed around the pool and took full advantage of the facilities then at 2 o clock went up to have our treatments. We sat in the waiting room and helped ourselves to the tea and coffee which was provided and waited to be called for our treatments. I can definitley recommend the back, neck and shoulder massage which was very relaxing. We then went to the main hotel for afternoon tea which was delicious and the portions were very large.Next for check in which was quick, easy and painless and the gentleman was very friendly and helpful.The room was lovely my only criticism would be that it got very warm at night and the pillows were a bit hard but for the price we paid we can not really complain.All in all we had a wonderful weekend and would definitley recommend this hotel.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed our relaxing Spa and pool, I will make sure your thoughts are passed onto our staff. Our new afternoon tea is proving a hit with the guests especially the miniature cakes, yummy!I hope we can be of service to you again.Kind regardsDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"worst night in years"
26th January 2012, glasgow
I arrived at the hotel around 5.30pm, tired after travelling early and then working. I found the heater in my room to be not working. It is January and so quite cold. I reported it, after 15mins someone came and agreed, He offered to bring a portable heater, I asked about another room, he said they were full. At reception the next morning they said they were not full! After 2 hours the new heater had still not arrived. Cold and tired I went for food and reported it again to reception. When I returned to my room 1 hour later I found a very small portable fan on the desk as my replacement heater. He had switched it on, but left it at the cold setting, so the room was now even colder than before. The fan gave out a minimum of heat, and was too noisy to sleep with it on. As a result I had a very poor sleep due to the cold in the room.View management response »
Management responseDear guest I am sorry to hear that you had encountered problems with the heating in your room. As mentioned in my previous reply to you when you left the same review on our customer service management system OlaKala you should not have to endure a cold night and I apologise for this happening.If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me.Yours sincerelyDamon YoxallGeneral Manager
"mercure/Rochdale/ M anchester"
15th June 2011, Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Soundproofing between rooms 101 and 102 was non-existent. -due to a locked adjoining door. Avoid at all cost if you want a peaceful night! Room service (to other) rooms was by wheeled noisy trolley. Not up to normal Mercure standards. Good points; nicely situated, well maintained grounds , plenty of parking.
"Not usual Mercure standard"
8th June 2011, Douglas
This appears to be more of a wedding venue than hotel you would cose to stay at - great position overlooking valley, but room at back dark and dull. Trees and vegitation galore, electric saver bulbs in room give little light, and several bulbs blown. There was a door constantly open in corridor to staff smoking area, and general dumping ground.Bathroom was clean and modern - quite smart - shower gel etc was not replaced during stay and had to ask for extra each morning.Did not have dinner, but came back at 11.15 and bar shut - don;t stay here if you are up for a bedtime drink. Bar itself looked nice, and had curry and pint offer on and huge screens for the football. Breakfast was the low point - served 7.30 to 10, went down at 7.45 and deserted. Helped self to cereal and juice, after about 5 mins a girl came in with (frozen) butter, did confirm yes breakfast did start at 7.30 - no apology for nothing there. another 10 mins some flasks of coffee and tea were put on a table to help yourself, and toast arrived - thankfully hot enough to defrost butter. Hot food was put out a little later - eggs would be another 10 mins as pan not on. All the staff looked hung over and were fairly rude.Next morning went down a little later - everything out this time - but hit and miss what was there - no salt/pepper, butter, teaspoons, milk.... What was there was OK - staff very disorganised and after 10 mins 2 staff spent ages checking what room everyone was in and made big fuss of whether you'd paid for breakfast.I usually like Mercures - this one is not usual standard - I think they need to more in some of their London staff and give the place a shake up - might be OK then.
24th May 2011, sd5aj, Letchworth, United Kingdom
When you consider that you are charged more than £120 b&b, this hotel offers poor value for money.It's not the facilities - the kit in the room and the gym are top notch.It's the service and the thoughtfulness.The room - avoid room 109. It's been adapted for the disabled, which is fine, but looks out onto a brick wall some 2ft from the window.Breakfast - coffee offered, but not delivered. Waitresses wandering around with guests' plates and asking "is this for you?" - poor. No bowls and no orange juice 0800-0830 - peak breakfast period - no excuses - very poor. The piece de resistance - chicken (thankfully cooked) in the fruit salad, how on earth did that happen? Very, very worrying.During my second evening I took the duty manager to one side and quietly complained. I got a weak apology, but no more. Not good customer service when one considers the price tag.I stay at this hotel once or twice a year and standards are definetely slipping. I shan't be going back I'm afraid.View management response »
Management responseApologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa. I will look into this matter, but in the meantime , feel free to contact me on 01706630788 to discuss this futher. Kind regardsDonald StewartGeneral Manager
"Not so clean"
16th May 2011, oxford
To be honest our room carpet was not good.But most of all the spar pool, the one that is open to the outside needs a really good clean.The lift has a knocking noise, which wakes me upOn the good side, the chap who fixed our TV was very polite.WendyView management response »
Management responseMany thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback.I will look into this matter personally.Kind RegardsDonald StewartGeneral Manager