Hotel - Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Manchester Road  Castleton 
OL11 2XZ ROCHDALE
UNITED KINGDOM

878 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 878 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 74.00 GBP Non member rate
From 74.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 74.00 GBP

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

The 4-star Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa is set in tranquil countryside and its own landscaped grounds. Situated 8 miles form the city centre, this Manchester hotel has 81 contemporary guest rooms, each with wireless internet and satellite TV. The dining options include the elegant Grange Restaurant, or the less formal Pickwick Bistro. The hotel has a spa facility, with an indoor heated pool, fitness room and massage treatments. The function rooms welcome up to 220 guests.

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa is a 4-star hotel, set in its own landscaped grounds. Located just minutes away from transport links into the city centre the hotel is less than a mile from the M62 and just 8 miles from central Manchester.

Hotel extras

The hotel has 11 versatile function rooms for up to 220 guests, ideal for meetings or wedding receptions. The hotel is 40 km from Manchester International Airport and is opposite Manchester Golf Course.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking (Nearby)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking (Nearby)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Laundromat (Paying, Nearby)
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Beauty salon (Paying)
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage
    • Solarium
  • Golf  (Nearby)
    • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf course 9 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf practice facilities (Nearby)
    • Golf lessons (Nearby)
  • Beach and water sports  (Nearby)
    • Rowing (Nearby)
    • Sailing facilities (Nearby)
    • Water skiing (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities  (Nearby)
    • Badminton (Nearby)
    • Billiards/Snooker (Nearby)
    • Bowling (Nearby)
    • Football (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24hours

Business services

  • 11 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Manchester Road
Castleton
OL11 2XZ
ROCHDALE
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)161/6199004
Fax: (+44)1706/649313

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY : 17, CHESHAM AVENUE
  • ROCHDALE : 17, CHESHAM AVENUE
  • LEEDS/BRADFORD At 47.8km / 29.7 miles
  • MANCHESTER INTL AIRP At 40.23km / 25 miles
  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY At 16.3km / 10.13 miles
  • MANCHESTER VICTORIA At 16.3km / 10.13 miles
  • ROCHDALE At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS : 53.581386, -2.175206

Our rooms

The hotel has 81 contemporary rooms, all with wireless internet and satellite TV.Some executive rooms are available which are decorated and fitted to very high standards and include complimentary bathrobes, mineral water, designer toiletries and a four-piece bathroom suite.

  • Classic double or twin room
    Classic double or twin room

    Classic Double/Twin Room, comfortable and modern in decor equipped with TV, radio, direct dial telephone as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Pull out beds for children available on request.

  • Superior Double or Twin Room
    Superior Double or Twin Room

    Superior rooms have modern decor and facilities include upgraded toiletries, robes & slippers in addition to hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satelite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and trouser press.

  • Privilège double or twin room
    Privilège double or twin room

    For an extra special stay , enjoy one of our Privilège rooms and their added luxury. Facilities include upgraded toiletries, robes, slippers, Nespresso coffee machine, bottled water , Mini bar and Wifi in addition to their classic amenities.

  • Classic Family room with a double and up to 2 pull out single beds
    Classic Family room with a double and up to 2 pull out single beds

    Classic Double/Familly Room, with 1 or 2 pull out beds, comfortable and modern in decor and equipped with TV, radio, direct dial telephone as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Rooms can accommodate a maximum of 2 adults and 2 children.

  • 81 rooms
  • 81 non-smoking rooms
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 15 family rooms
  • 4 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • Ice machine
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Trouser press in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Radio in bathroom
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Web TV
    • Telephone
    • Crib on request
    • Direct dial telephone
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

PICKWICK BISTRO Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Lunch
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PICKWICK BISTRO Type of cuisine: Brasserie


The Pickwick Bistro offers a more informal dining option to the Restaurant, serving a range of lighter meals and snacks.

Find out more and book
GRANGE RESTAURANT Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Lunch
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GRANGE RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: International


The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Find out more and book
See all our restaurants
PICKWICK BISTRO Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PICKWICK BISTRO


The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 11
  • Maximum size: 170 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 250
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200

Our customer reviews for Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 878 reviews

DedeHamond 2015/11/14
« Very Poor for 4 star »

Filthy privilege room, the espresso match was filthy and had left overs in the dispenser. I had to get them to vacuum the room when I got it. There were no robes or slippers which was part of the premium package. They had to go to the spa to get new ones. carpets where all smelly from reception. No air conditioning (for a 4 star hotel). Air conditioning was offered as standard when booking. The spa was the filthest place in the hotel with slime all over the steam room. Didnt bother using the pool aster what we saw in the steam room.

MIllingworthGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear DedeHamond, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel, we appreciate your comments and concerns. I was very sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. There is no excuse for the poor levels of cleanliness you encountered, and I will be sharing your comments with our Housekeeping and Leisure Teams as they are aware of the standards expected of them. I would be happy to discuss the specific issues with you personally if you prefer and I can be contacted on 01706 630788 or by email mark.illingworth@accor.com Kind Regards Mark Illingworth General Manager

TaranLamar 2015/11/03
« Disappointed this time »

I was given a run-down room where all the skirting was peeling away from the walls. Old furniture and my room's telephone was severed from the socket. The food which is usually okay was now a tiny portion of poorly cut, fatty lamb and some very bland vegetables despite being £21. I stayed mainly for the spa which had a broken sauna, the spa-side showers were both broken and they had zero availability for any treatments/ massages for the FULL 48 hours I tried to book. All in all, disappointing compared to it's external appearance and selling points.

alexmw2015 2015/10/22
« Utterly disappointing »

Thoroughly dilapidated hotel - old paint, visible cracks and worn carpets: Very overpriced. A good restaurant and overall the staff tried hard to make up for their dismal surroundings. Restricted use of the pool for children which was not mentioned in the booking process.

Alec W 2015/07/22
« Early checkout »

Checked in mid afternoon no problem room overlooking a patio area,the barbecue was lit at about 4.30 so needed to close window,as smell was bad. Room didn't have air con so very hot getting ready for dinner what a disappointment warm wine and.cold plates,and it was hunt the king prawn linguine. This hotel doesn't cater for guests who like to sleep before 1am,after contacting reception about the noise from a party in the hotel.was told it would finnish about 1am. Closing the doors did not do anything.so the thought of 3 hours in a room with no air con and a very noisy party was to much so packed up and checked out to be fair the manager did say he would refund in full so very surprised to be asked for a review.

NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. Whilst I'm gratified to see that the Duty Manager refunded your stay, I'm really sorry that we had to do that in the first place! Please do contact me directly (h6631-gm@accor.com) and we can discuss your stay further. In the meantime, thank you once again for your comments Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

rebekah_smithmcgloin 2015/07/15
« Dreadfully noisy »

We stayed here for one night as a family - two adults, two children (9 and 12). The swimming pool and jacuzzi etc facilities were great! The accommodation was fairly tired and in need of a refurb but was clean. Not enough power sockets, no air con. etc was unfortunate. The put-up bed that was in the room was very old and even my lightweight 9-year old struggled to get comfortable in it as the mattress was nearly touching the floor when he lay down. The worst part was the noise. We were very close to a disco which went on until 1am. Reception couldn't move us as the hotel was fully booked and they didn't even have any ear plugs. We did get a partial refund but tbh for the six hours sleep we managed to get it still wasn't worth it. I could have stayed in a premier inn for less money and had a full night's sleep guaranteed. I definitely would not do this again.

NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review following your stay at the hotel. I'm really disappointed to see that your stay was marred by noise issues in the hotel. I would be grateful if you could contact me on my email address to discuss this further. The address is h6631-gm@accor.com In the meantime, kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Barry T 2015/05/14
« Nice country hotel and Spa with good links to the motorway network »

Stayed in the hotel for one night on business recently. the room and general fixtures in the hotel were in very good condition and the staff friendly enough. I used the gym and had a drink and meal in the bar which was very pleasant. There were a couple of niggles with the shower in the room being cold and the radiator was turned off so the room was cold when I arrived but that was easily sorted.

NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - I'm really pleased that the majority of your stay went well. I'll certainly investigate your other comments and in the meantime we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

ohmygodwhyumakeitsod 2015/04/11
« Shabby »

The staff are friendly and professional, the food in the restaurant was very nice and on the whole the hotel was spotlessly clean. However, the carpets are threadbare in places especially on the landings where there are mouldy odours, the paintwork looks old and tired and the spa seemed to be falling apart. Tiles were being glued back on in the pool as we swam, and were missing completely in the sauna. The hotel is need of investment to bring it up to date and worth the money they are asking.

Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest comments following on from your visit to the hotel. We do have a plan to replace the carpet on the ground floor corridor and this should hopefully be done within the next few weeks and the Spa is undergoing a major refurbishment this week. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff regarding the food and service. Kind regards Damon Yoxall General Manager

ellieedwards06 2015/02/05
« Mercure Norton Grange »

Really enjoyed our stay at Mecure Norton Grange, the spa facilities were brilliant, we really loved the Hydro pool. We didn't have breakfast here but normally they are brilliant to! I would recommend.

Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you review following on from your recent visit to the hotel. It’s pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the staff and service. I will pass on your thanks to the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Damon Yoxall General Manager

Graeme N 2015/01/19
« Great pool »

I stayed for one night and chose this hotel due to its closeness to a business appointment. Rooms are clean and well decorated. The pool and fitness complex was a big plus. I was well satisfied overall.

Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay with us. It’s pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our Pool and Spa facilities. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Damon Yoxall General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 74.00 GBP Non member rate
From 74.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 12 km ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
From
From 40.00 GBP Non member rate
From 38.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 12 km THE PORTLAND HOTEL - MANCHESTER (becoming an ibis Styles)
THE PORTLAND HOTEL - MANCHESTER (becoming an ibis Styles)
From
From 55.00 GBP Non member rate
From 52.25 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 12 km Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
From
From 75.65 GBP Non member rate
From 68.09 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 12 km ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street (new ibis rooms)
Hotel ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street (new ibis rooms)
From
From 54.00 GBP Non member rate
From 51.30 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in ROCHDALE
Select your dates 74.00 GBP Rooms from 74.00 GBP