Hotel addressWharf Road East
CF10 4BB CARDIFF
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 28' 36.76'' W 3° 9' 46.76''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)2921/132802
- Fax. (+44)2920/493695
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Cardiff Centre Hotel - hotel reviews in Cardiff
Hotel code: 6623
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
23rd September 2013, Gus3168, Bristol, United Kingdom
its great in-House bar open till late.:) Room is clean, bath is big. Value for money.shamed you have to pay for parking and the security of the car park isn't great, a few cars has been broken into the date I leave.
14th September 2013, david_christison, Croydon, United Kingdom
good clean hotel close to town but enough distance so you dont face the noise from a universcity town the breakfast in the morning set you up for the day and is nice and relaxed atmosphere. would recommand you stay there is you wish to visit the south of walesView management response »
Management responseDear David_Christison, Thank you for your comments , we are located in a quiet area not far from city centre . I'm glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and it kept you going for the day . Kind regards Stephane Merle GM
"A night in Cardiff"
5th September 2013, Dubai
The hotel is close to the city centre, however, it is a bit far from public transportation. The room was really clean with old carpets. Overall, we had a good night in a relatively big room in Cardiff for a reasonable price.View management response »
Management responseDear Trip advisor member , Thank you for your comment , I hope you hade a good time in cardiff , our location is equal distance from cardiff bay and city centre within 15-20 minutes walk . The taxi ride from the train station takes 5 minutes and the cost is around £5 . I'm glad you liked our large rooms and you had a pleasent stay in the hotel kind regards stephane merle GM
5th September 2013, Tonte65, Tipton, United Kingdom
Stayed here for Cardiff Comic Con and had a great stay. Staff are polite, helpful and friendly.Room was nice and big and very clean. Pay extra for the buffet breakfast its really good. The only draw back is finding it, if you are going here look out for the VW Garage on the island and the hotel is right by there.View management response »
Management responseDear Tonte65, I'm glad you enjoy your stay with us and you appreciate our buffet breakfast , I'm sorry if it can be a bit difficult to find us . Cardiff Centre one way traffic stytem is sometimes challenging and signage is limited , Peacocks HQ by the "magic" roundabout and VW garage are the 2 best points to locate us on Tyndall street and the access to the hotel is the same as for VW.Kind regards Stephane Merle GM
"Stay In August"
2nd September 2013, DevonTraveller1000, Exeter, United Kingdom
The rooms are very good and very large, exceptional. What was disappointing was the eating arrangements. The eating area is like a hospital reception area, but the chairs were disgusting very worn out and not even fit to go in a garden. The food was sparing but very nice for breakfast and only one member of staff on, we had to wait for a scramble egg to be cooked and no evening meal facilities. For the money we paid it was satisfactory but not much different to a travel lodge. Don't take much notice of the Name of the Hotel 'Central' because it is a good 10 minute walk to the shops and you have to cross a very busy dual carriageway. The WIFI is free but only in the reception area so take your laptop and you can plug it into the wired broadband system.View management response »
Management responseDear Devon Traveller 1000Thank you for your feedback , I will speak to my team as we serve some meals in the evenings and I don't understand whay it was not proposed to you , the Chairs in the restaurant will be changed next month , and wifi in the rooms is in plan for the near future thank you again for your comments kind regards stephane Merle gm
"martin and family[five in all]"
1st September 2013, travelerG2147CR, Manchester, United Kingdom
we have stayed at this hotel before,and found it good value for money. we will be back in the future.the staff were curtious and helpful..found the breakfast very good,as you can choose anything that a good breakfast should contain..View management response »
Management responseDear martin and Familly , thank you for staying with us everytime you come to cardiff , I hope you had a great time in the city with you familly and we hope to see you all again soon Kind regards Stephane Merle GM
"Out of the way, near the bay"
22nd August 2013, docs_holiday, UK for now
For - Very clean facilities, helpful friendly staff, spacious room, good ensuite.Against - location is slightly off, light industrial area near flyovers, car parking £4 pd, lacks a proper restaurant.View management response »
Management responseDear Docs_holiday , Thank you for your feedback , we have a limited offer for meals but have a good selection and good quality for overnight stay . a new menu will be implemented soon . kind regards stephane Merle GM
14th August 2013, thesteyningone, Steyning, United Kingdom
We arrived and I realised I had clicked 'double' room on the internet, instead of 'twin' room. This wasn't a problem and they instantly changed it. The breakfast was good value. I would use this hotel again.
23rd July 2013, grindeyann, Manchester, United Kingdom
Good place to stay if on a 'deal'. Bit too far out to walk into Cardiff if you need to be near the centre for more than one occasion. Clean & spacious rooms on our deal, quiet hotel.However, there was a big problem with the air con which wasn't working and temp was 30* all night. Unfortunately the windows are sealed units so no chance of any fresh air, just recycled warm air which even when mended the next day took a while to be effective-no clothes needed but the shower proved its worth! Wouldn't jump at staying there again as there's plenty of choice elsewhere. Sorry.View management response »
Management responseDear Grindeyann , I'm sorry to hear about your negative experience , we had a contractor untill 9 pm to work on the AC unit but he needed part , he was back in the morning to fix the system . we tried to source some fans but none could be found available in cardiff as we reached a record temperature for the summer . Thank you again for your feedback kind regards stephane merle
"the bed !"
18th July 2013, grommit77, luton
all was excellent apart from the mattress which was very uncomfortable, (solid)all was excellent apart from the mattress which was very uncomfortable (solid)all was excellent apart from the mattress which was very uncomfortable (solid)all was excellent apart from the mattress which was very uncomfortable (solid)View management response »
Management responseDear Grommit77. Thank you for your positive feedback , your comments on the beds have been passed to product team kind regards stephane merle
21st February 2013, Gigglebiz, Florence, Italy
Really impressed. Good price, good location. Definitely stay again. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms for twins were two double beds which was brilliant. Reception found us taxis and chased them up then called for us when thy arrived. Great service.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.Kind RegardsLois
11th February 2013, Mercure531, London, United Kingdom
Do take a satnav. This place is impossible to find without. Very friendly and helpful staff but finding the hotel is a nightmare. No toiletries to speak of in the bathroom. In the middle of nowhere so nowhere to eat in the vicinity. Wifi in first room unavailable so they had to move me, almost as soon as I arrived.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Our hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests which is available in the lobby area, broadband is available via ethernet cable from the bedrooms. I can only presume that you were moved rooms so you were able to reach a WIFI connection near reception area. I hope this was not too much of an issue.Rest assured all comments will be passed onto the team.Kind RegardsLois
"No need for apprehension"
4th February 2013, Beverley H, Bristol
Booking early we got a competitive, cancellable, breakfast-inclusive rate – but, beware, you will be charged 7.50GBP pppd for breakfast on site rather than the 16.50GBP pppd added as an online extra. Subsequent analysis of TA reviews left us apprehensive, especially when our second floor room overlooked a railway line and builders merchant – but there was no rail traffic overnight and no noise from the yard. Indeed, our only overnight disturbances were revellers – some of whom were later asked to leave the premises by the Police at the insistence of the hotel. Temperature for the room and the shower could be adjusted easily and responsively. Breakfast is not extensive, but was regularly replenished and remained at a good temperature. The bed was comfortable but noisy, the tiled floor in the bathroom could make it feel cold if the door was not left open, and there was a crack in the basin – and no batteries in the TV remote! The hotel could do with some decor in the rooms and public areas, and there is nothing of interest in the immediate vicinity. However, the hotel provides directions to get to the centre of Cardiff, or the Bay, on foot – but a responsive cab company will take you there for under 5GBP.View management response »
Management responseDear Beverley,Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Breakfast at the hotel is charged at £6.50 per person which is a buffet style cooked & continental breakfast. If breakfast is booked on our direct website it can be purchased in advance at £5 per head.I hope to welcome you back at another time.Kind RegardsLois
"Great Potential - Doesn't Quite Deliver"
19th January 2013, Denmen, Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Stylish and quiet rooms but hairs in the bed and in the bathroom (not mine) detracted somewhat from the experience. Shower virtually cold in the morning but not enough time to have it seen to. Simply not enough staff on duty resulting in considerable delays for drinks and evening meal. For the money paid it was good value, but it could have been so much better.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed to read you had a problem with cleanliness when you stayed with us, if you are unhappy with your room please come and see one of the team at Reception and we will arrange for another room to be allocated. Comments will be passed onto our Housekeeping team.Once again, thanks again for taking the time to review in order to improve our service.Kind RegardsLois
"Hotel fine, breakfast very good"
17th September 2012, rbmac, Tonbridge, United Kingdom
I would, however, not stay there again until there is pedestrian or light-controlled crossing across Tyndall Street - it is simply too dangerous. I have seperately emailed Cardiff City Council, copied to Mercure, with my concerns on this matterView management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, look forward to seeing you again in the near future. With regards to controlled crossing on Tyndall Street we are awaiting response from the local council.Kind RegardsLois Holloway
14th August 2012, RosieD58, Warwick, Bermuda
Cardiff central hotels are very expensive and whilst our son was at university in the city we stayed 3 times at this hotel. It was a little tricky to find at first because of the road system. The rooms are quite large and they do have rooms with two double beds which was great for 3 grown up kids to share. Paying to park is annoying and the Internet was only in the lobby, although it was free.
8th August 2012, Jenny01402, Newark, United Kingdom
Very happy with everything about this hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to the center, the breakfast was good value especially if you have children as they eat free with a paying adult. The room was big, clean and had everything we required for a short stay. The bathroom was immaculate and new. Could probably get a hotel in the center for the price but would be happy to stay here again.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.