Hotel addressPaternoster Row
SO23 9LQ WINCHESTER
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 3' 40.43'' W 1° 18' 42.99''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)1962/312800
- Fax. (+44)1962/849617
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel - hotel reviews in Winchester
Hotel code: 6619
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
13th September 2013, newnats, Sheffield, United Kingdom
Stay in Mercure Winchester was adequate. The best thing was its location, very central and convenient, although this lead to some difficulty in car parking. The room was fine except for noise from traffic at night and early morning. We ate dinner in the restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings - fine on Friday, but on Saturday the service was slow and my chicken dish very tough, which was disappointing. Breakfasts were good with a wide choice. But the dining room was cold - I'd recommend the air conditioning be switched off.View management response »
Management responseDear newnats, our location really is excellent for visiting this magnificent city. Thank you for choosing Mercure Winchester. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner on the first night I was sorry to hear that the chicken dish was tough – I have passed your comment onto the chef for investigation. I can assure you that the heating will be on in the Restaurant now that the temperature has dropped, I apologise that it wasn’t on this occasion. Kind regards, William McWilliam
10th September 2013, RodneyfromLondon, Shanghai, China
Right in the heart of Winchester, comfortable, clean, not too big, friendly staff, good breakfast. The only unsatisfactory thing was a lack of advance information about the parking: on arrival I found a space and was told it was free until check-out time. My request during the booking process disappeared, my phone call to the number listed on the confirmation was met with various recordings, ending in: "We're sorry, none of our functions is operating at the moment - please try later."View management response »
Management responseDear RodneyfromLondon , Thank you very much for your review. Delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the service and breakfast while you were at Mercure Winchester. Thanks very much for choosing us. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam
"I recommend this hotel"
3rd September 2013
The interior ( bedrooms , bar , restaurant etc ) of the hotel , and the level of service , are very good indeed - as was the buffet breakfast. And of course the location , opposite the cathedral , is perfect. It is rather a pity , though , that the exterior appearance of the building is unappealing , typical 60s box , in such a wonderful historic city , with so manylovely period features. Having said that , however , I don't suppose there's a lot that can be done to improve it.Overall , I would certainly recommend the hotel , and will vsit it again when I return to Winchester.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would have no hesitation in returning to Mercure Winchester. I sincerely hope you do.We all really appreciate your recommending us to the wider world, thanks very much. Kind regards, William McWilliam.
"Winchester august 2013"
29th August 2013, peterofeastburn, Keighley, United Kingdom
very pleasant and helpful staff .Location very good from the centre of winchester,only problem was the lorries delievering goods to next and debenhams from 5.30 in morning otherwise very good the king familyView management response »
Management responseDear Peterofeastburn,Delighted to hear you had a good stay with us and found the team to be helpful and pleasant . I am hoping that with the assistance of the local council we can prevent disturbance of our guests by the traffic in the adjacent road. I hope we can wwelcome you back to Mercure Winchester. Kind regards, William mcWilliam
28th July 2013, FranceRita, France
A very disastrous check-in - having booked my room in February and specifically asked for 'walk in shower' due to disability - I was informed it was not available! Out of 94 rooms, there is just one with a walk in shower!!!!! However, having been given the option of several rooms and doing tests getting over bath sides of different heights, I was finally accommodated!I could not fault the service and the care of the Assistant General Manager, who had the misfortune to check me in. He went out of his way to resolve the shower problem . I found nothing but friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. This service can make any problems disappear in to insignificanceHotel ideally situated in centre of town, thus able to reach shops and restaurants with ease. I I have worked in the hotel business for a number of years and found the hotel very much lacking in 'disabled facilities, especially for wheelchairs. They need to have better bathroom optionsView management response »
Management responseDear France Rita, Thanks very much for your review. I was delighted to hear how helpful Vijay was in trying to sort out our problem with finding a suitable room for you. In sharing your comments with him I have expressed my own thanks. I note your comment regarding disabled bedroom facilities which I am sure will be taken into consideration during any future development programmes. Kind regards, William McWilliam
21st July 2013, Jack598, Wodonga, Australia
My wife and I considered the Mercure Winchester Essex as the best accomodation we enjoyed in 3 weeks in England. The location is excellent, carport spacious, reception was courteous and efficient. The meals were superb, a good selection of wines and the rooms were the most comfortable, with a soft, King-sized mattress. Considering England was in an unusual heatwave, the fan provided was welcomed!One point of advice: as there were many outside restauraunts available, a 20% discount for residents would improve the numbers in the restaurant.View management response »
Management responseDear jACK598, It was a pleasure to meet you and your wife last week. Thank you very much for your kind and positive comments which I am delighted to share with the team. Please come back and see us again - I might even offer you discount in the restaurant . Kind regards, William McWilliam
"Great location, pretty poor service"
20th July 2013, Andy W, London, United Kingdom
I regularly stay at Accor hotels and thought a Mercure would be a good bet, especially given its location next to the Cathedral. It was very disappointing. The service on arrival was terrible - grumpy car park attendant, receptionist who told me they'd almost let my room go because I hadn't confirmed by phone (why hadn't I phoned them back after their call to me 45mins beforehand - I was on the M3 driving)... Room was poorly equipped - a big hole where the minibar had been ripped out and no air conditioning on a night where temp was about 28 degrees.View management response »
Management responseDear Andy W, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It would appear that on the day of your arrival demand for rooms was high. Non guaranteed reservations such as yours are realeased for general sale. However, out of courtesy Reception tried to contact you to see if you still required your room as they didnt want you to turn up to find that we had cancelled your reservation and sold it to another guest. I apologise that the room was not equipped to your expectation- Unfortunately air conditioning and mini bars are only available as a standard in our privilege rooms. I was disappointed that your welcome at the car park was not as hospitable as it should have been, and have instructed his team leader to take the appropriate action to see that such comments are not repeated. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you better, Kind regards, William Mcwilliam
"One Night Stay"
18th July 2013, woody467, London, United Kingdom
Staff excellent - they made a very enjoyable visit. Would use this hotel again. Good central locatin for town centre. Parking a bit tight so used local public car park. good view of Cathederal from bedroomView management response »
Management responseDear woody467, Delighted to hear that our excellent team made for a very enjoyable visit to Winchester, thanks for letting us know. Glad to hear that you would use as again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do. Kind regards, William McWilliam
11th July 2013, ElizabethTaylor_13, Peterborough, United Kingdom
Almost a good stay but all the staff without exception seemed morose and unhappy, that includes reception, breakfast staff and housekeeping. They seldom smiled or met one's gaze and generally gave the impression that they didn't want to be there!!!!View management response »
Management responseDear ElizabethTaylor_13. I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding the team. As witnessed by many previous reviewers we are recognised for the quality of our people and the little extra they bring to the enjoment of their stays. Feedback from open tables and staff surveys confirm that we do have a happy and motivared team and I am sorry if in this instance this did not appear to be so. I am sure you will experience something different on your next visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam
9th July 2013, 886paula, Spalding, United Kingdom
Perfect location for business or leisure. Staff helpful and friendly. Only had breakfast but it was excellent, plenty of choice. Found the hotel on Google and read the reviews and we also highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.View management response »
Management responseDear 886 Paula, Really pleasedd to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure Winchester . It is always most rewarding to hear that guests recommend us and would stay again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you when you do. Kind regards, William McWilliam
"Exceptional weekend in Winchester"
4th July 2013, bambi071957, Birmingham, United Kingdom
We booked at short notice for Friday and Saturday night stay, checking in was a breeze.We were allocated an upgraded room on the first floor overlooked the cathedral, the room was a little tired looking and would benefit for redecoration, although for the price paid it couldn't be faulted. We slept really well, quiet room and a superb bed. Every member of staff were a credit to the company.The hotel was perfectly located in very close proximity to the cathedral and extensive bars, restaurants and cafes, there is a £9 per night charge for the hotel car park , which compares well to the town centre car parks (cars aren't welcome in Winchester) which are FOC on a Sunday. We would certainly stay in this hotel again, it ticked all our boxes.View management response »
Management responseDear bambi071957, Thank you very much for your very kind words. really pleased to hear that you had a great stay at Mercure Winchester and would definately be staying with us again. I was particularly pleased that the team excelled. I will enjoy passing your comments on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.