Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Windsor Hotels > Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 108
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: WINDSOR (0.30 km)

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel - hotel reviews in Windsor

Hotel code: 6618

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Windsor castle trip"

30th August 2013, AndyPandyDurham, Durham

We had a lovely stay at the Mrecure Castle Hotel. It is in an excellent position in the centre of Windsor, just round the corner from the castle, some rooms on the front top floors will have views but most rooms are in annex buildings behind the main building surrounding the car park. The central train station is only 5 mins walk , shops cafes and restaurants are right on the door step. The hotel served afternoon tea in the lounge which looked nice but we didn't try it. The only down side for us was that the shower in our room was not very powerful but we managed. I would stay here again if going to Windsor.

View management response »

Management responseDear AndyPandyDurham, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay which I will share with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to WIndsor in the near future. With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel has introduced car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend in Windsor"

29th August 2013

Booked a standard room but got upgraded to a castle view room which was a brilliant surprise and made the weekend really special.We booked half board and had a very nice meal in the restaurant. Therestaurant and bar staff were very pleasant and gave a really good service. We had an afternoon tea the next day which was good value for money and served in lovely surroundings. Lovely traditional hotel in a good location.

View management response »

Management responseDear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for your review and sharing your experience of the hotel. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff and facitlites of the hotel to be good. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel has introduced car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "The Castle Hotel, Windsor"

26th August 2013, Stevehawkeye, Mold, United Kingdom

Fabulous location and the car parking is very good value at £10. The lounge area and dining room are very pleasant as are the staff however, please check which part of the hotel your room is located before you arrive as you could be disappointed - there is a bridge connecting the main hotel to additional rooms which are okay but feels more like your staying in a travel lodge.

View management response »

Management responseDear Stevehawkeye,Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with ourselves. Thank you for your positive comments about the staff, lounge and restaurant. We do try to make it as clear as we can that our classic rooms are located in a modern annex block with our upgraded rooms located in the main building of the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel has introduced car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent Location"

17th July 2013, AnitaB660, Ballymoney, United Kingdom

Would recommend this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean. Breakfast excellent. First class location. Close to bus/train stops. A minutes walk away from Windsor Castle and shops. We travelled to legoland while staying just about 15/20 minutes away by bus. Hotel is very family friendly. Only negative thing lots of stairs and not many lifts which makes it difficult with pram. Staff were very helpful and helped us with our luggage.

View management response »

Management responseDear AnitaB660, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback which I will be delighted to share with the team. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Hotel-motel, distinction is blurred here."

11th July 2013, PINELights, Oslo

It has a nice facade to the High Street, but the overall layout is more like a motel and probably it ought to be marketed as such, nothing more and nothing less. Initially we were allocated a room with extremely low ceiling and a window so tiny that there was no daylight to speak of. In my opinion rooms in Castle Mews should be marketed separately and allocated only to customers that are aware of room layout and are willing to be a hobbit for a day or two. I am sure there are plenty of people who find that kind of lodging charming, as well as there are equally many who will find it claustrophobic. Luckily staff was able to find a different room which had far better daylight conditions. Other than that it was impossible to adjust heating/ cooling and we had to put up with open window and fan. Staff was helpful and understanding and I only wished we knew before our arrival that we could have arranged a transfer from Heathrow at just GBP20 through hotel reception. Windsor is on the path of Heathrow flights taking off and landing and depending on flight routing you might have planes roaring above your head all day long. Water pressure was so-so compared to what we are used to at home, but it seems that it is like that everywhere in England.All in all it is probably the most convenient place to stay at when in Windsor.

View management response »

Management responseDear PINELights,Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback which we will review and make any changes we feel necessary. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "excellent visit"

9th July 2013, welshpair_13, Cardiff, United Kingdom

My wift bought me a trip around Windsor castle and afternoon tea in the hotel for my birthday so we thought we would book a nights stay. The hotel was excellent,very clean and the staff very friendly. We had an evening meal which was well presented and the breakfast was a good selection. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

View management response »

Management responseDear welshpair_18,Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback which I will be delighted to share with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Windsor Mercure"

27th June 2013, andlaw, London, United Kingdom

I unfortunately didn't eat in the restaurant which in the morning I saw the menu which I don't think was in my room and it looked delicious so I will definitely eat there next time. Drinks were a very reasonable price. Just a very long walk to get to my room which had very little view.

View management response »

Management responseDear andlaw, Thank you for you recent review and feedback. I hope we can welcome you back shortly to the hotel for you to try our restaurant and the menu offered which as you mention looked delicious.With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Windsor Mercure - worth a visit."

17th January 2013, Frogs56, Frogs56

The hotel was perfect for staying in the centre of Windsor, and secure and attended parking at the hotel was a definite bonus. The level of service from staff was of a very high standard. We booked a dinner bed and breakfast deal, which was well worth the money, with extremely good food. We had booked Privilege rooms, and I am not certain that the additional cost was worth it, as the room was quite small. However, our friends room was much larger.One negative, that was possibly beyond the control of the staff was that the lift was not working, and as our friends were on a stopover from Australia, trying to lug two very heavy cases up three flights of stairs was difficult. Staff did offer help, but for one of the party with breathing problems, the trip up and down stairs was tiring,All that said, we would return quite happily, but just book standard rooms with the DBB rate.

View management response »

Management responseDear Frogs56,Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and can confirm that the lift is now fully operational again please accept my apologies that this was not the case during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A FAMILY GET TOGETHER"

16th January 2013, Michaelhavant3, Havant

A family get together of 6 children and 11 adults was made all the more special by the fantastic staff at the Mercur Hotel in Windsor.The children were treated as welcome as adults and the staff were so patient, warm, friendly and helpful. The drinks were quite expensive, that's my only negative comment.Food fantastic and plentiful. Location could not be better. Will definately return and would highly recommend, especially for families. One of our group is disabled and the lift wasn't working .these things happen.

View management response »

Management responseDear Michaelhavant3, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you had a great stay with us and I will ensure this feedback is shared with the team who I know will be motivated by it. Please accept my apologies about the lift being out of order during your stay we have now resolved this issue and the lift is fully operational again. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect"

3rd January 2013, maggotmai, Plymouth, United Kingdom

Took my granddaughter to see the Dolls House at Windsor Castle and this was the perfect place to stay. The room was well appointed and clean, and the staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, would certainly stay there again.

View management response »

Management responseDear maggotmai, Thank you for posting such a positive review of your stay here with us. I was delighted to read you had a great stay with us and would return again in the future. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic location"

3rd January 2013, alicook, Northamptonshire

The hotel is in a great location opposite the castle and has the added bonus of free on site parking for guests which is really worth having in Windsor. Reception staff were freindly and efficient and we were able to check in early. We had booked a privilege room which I think was worth the extra. The room was very clean and well appointed if a bit too hot - we turned the radiator off, opened the windows and put the (rather ineffective) air conditioning on but it was still very warm. The only disappointment was breakfast - the cold buffet was very limted and items kept running out on the hot buffet even though the diningroom was only half full. We paid a discounted rate of £10 but it would definitely not be worth the full £16.50 rate. We would return to the hotel for the location, service and free parking but would be room only next time.

View management response »

Management responseDear alicook, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I will share your feedback with the team and thank you for your positive comments. Please be assured I will follow with the breakfast team to ascertain and correct any shortcomings as this is normally an area of the business we receive excellent feedback about from our guests. Please accept my apologies on this occasion that the breakfast was not up to its usual standards. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards,David HaydenGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.