Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > China Hotels > Shanghai Hotels > Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Previous hotel
Discover Sofitel

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental hotel

Luxury Hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private indoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 4
    • Number: 3
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
    • Golf practice facilities - Nearby
    • Golf course 18 holes - Paying - Nearby
    • Outdoor tennis court - Paying
    • Outdoor playground for children
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
    • Sauna
    • Hammam
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
    • Restaurant Menu (Adult) - Paying
    • Full-board - Paying
    • Half-board - Paying
    • Restaurant Menu (Child) - Paying
    • Late Check-out (up to 5pm) - Paying
    • Early Check-in (from 8am) - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 368
  • Hotel location: Beside a golf course
  • Main point of interest: SHESHAN GOLF (0.20 km)
  • Main point of interest: HAPPY VALLEY AMUSEMENT PARK (0.50 km)
  • Main point of interest: SHESHAN MOUNTAIN (1.00 km)

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental - hotel reviews in Shanghai

Hotel code: 6329

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Last minute summer break"

6th September 2013, Ecliaci, Shanghai, China

My daughter and i had a great time spending our last days of summer break in Sofitel Sheshan, Shanghai. I believe, it's worth every penny - service, location, amenities and food. All staff are polite and seem to be all willing to help you. The front desk supervisor/manager that i met when checking out was warm and professional.The best part that we liked the most were the pools both indoor and outdoor. The only thing on the 'man-made' sand beach area was that the pool was too shallow for us adults. But if they all filled it in as indicated on the pool's depth, it would be better. There are few things i would like to suggest for improvement. One is to have more housekeeping training. I usually get an unexpected knock on my door for two consecutive days from the staff telling me things either i didn't need/ask for, or simply i didn't understand. Once the guest is in, unless maybe, necessary, a phone call is preferred. These things i expect with a high standard for a hotel like Sofitel. Since it is an international hotel, i also hope that all staff could at least communicate in English. . It would be more inviting to stay there next time without worrying whether you are understood or not. The first time i booked and asked about the hotel details, i've been passed on from one person to the next. It made me feel i wanted back out then. Due to the hotel reviews, i thought of still giving it a try. It's worth it though.PS: I wonder if there's any map available in each room - locations we needed to know including the fire exit. I actually checked but didn't find any, Maybe i missed it?Overall, it's one of the best places for a weekend or short break get away. Cecilia

View management response »

Management responseDear Cecilia,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated. I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards,
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Very nice place for kids!"

26th August 2013, Mélanie B

Very nice hotel near downtown Shanghai. Place is just perfect for kids with pools with not much water, really safe and 2 nice rooms inside with games for kids. Beach is nice and clean.However, if you order "a la carte" menu, service is very very long. Also, most of the staff of the restaurant do not speak English.

View management response »

Management responseDear MelanieB,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated. I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 3.0 out of 5 stars "If it didnt have a pool, I would never go back."

26th August 2013, A4turbo21, Shanghai, China

I have never stayed at a Sofitel before, as I belong to the SPG and IHG hotel groups ( gold and platinum member respectively). I saw the pictures of the nice swimming pool and figured it would be good to get out of Shanghai city away from the noise. Well when we arrived I feel like we had arrived at a local train station, chaos and people running around. I booked a suite prestige room which wasn't cheap but included the club lounge amenities. The rooms was nicely decorated, smudge of weird sticky stuff left on the sink counter but ok, things get overlooked. I go downstairs to the lobby to ask for late check out and the receptionist was very rude and just pulled out a paper indicating that I would have to pay for 50% of the day if I wanted to leave after 12 noon until 6pm. No and's if's or but's. Pretty shocking as since I wasn't able to check in until 3pm that day, I would gather that most hotels give late check out until 1pm-2pm as usual....but not downstairs at the reception...strict "NO"...kind of like buying a train ticket at the Chinese train station. Its a good thing I went up the club lounge and asked the very helpful and friendly woman there for the same thing and she gave me until 2pm. Onto the Club lounge for happy hour. I was lucky I didnt get attacked for food on my plate as it looked like a scene of wolves that haven't eaten in a few days. The staff had very little control of who or what was eating in the lounge, doors wide open, families of 5-10 hovering over the snacks...items were gone faster then they could be replenished. I think only once a person came around to check our rooms number to make sure we qualified to be there.....I am sure between the 5:30-7pm time there were definitely people in there that weren't supposed to be. Some of the locals just take the serving spoon for desserts and use them for other seafood/fried items. I could tell you this... it would NEVER happen at an intercontinental club lounge...EVER. Later at night, my GF wanted to take a bath in our big room and realized the bathtub was gritty, not clean..we called to complain, a man came to clean it...and made it worse..smelled like old sweaty socks...called again to complain and asked for the manager to come...20+ min later at 9-30-10pm mind you...Manager came to inspect....cleaned AGAIN...how could this be happening at the "luxury hotel" Sofitel claims to be. Breakfast buffet.....bring your battle gear. Not the relaxing weekend I was hoping for.

View management response »

Management responseDear A4turbo21,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated. I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend away"

15th August 2013, SHA934, Shanghai, China

We took a package with the Millesime club included in one of the premium suites with a family of 4. The hotel were very accomodating for the extra bed we needed (no extra cost) and the room which was 86sqm was fantastic.The millesmine club was great offering included breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks. The afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks were very generous and often we did not feel like dinner afterwards.The cost is high for such a suite, but quite worth it if you want a nice weekend away from Shanghai with access to fantastic pools and facilities.

View management response »

Management responseDear SHA934,Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good vacation place in Summer season"

1st August 2013, PennyChrisPrince, Shanghai, China

The hardware feels good, however the service quality needs to be improved to match the level of luxury hotel. We did realize how high the reservation rate is, especially in the weekends, but this couldn't be the excuse of the poor service for the guests with membership.Look forward to see the improvements of the hotel soon...

View management response »

Management responseDear PennyChrisPrince,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated. I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Short and pleasant"

15th July 2013, mjh101070, Hong Kong

Great looking hotel, wish i had had more time to enjoy the facilities.1 minor point, signs indicate an internal golf room but not actually present.Food quality was very good and the selection was excellent.Hopefully more spare time during my next visit.Golf next door, does this hotel have deal for playing there?Family rooms available?

View management response »

Management responseDear mjh101070,Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit. Regarding your questions, we do offer extra bed for family use but the golf next door is a personal golf club which just opens for members.Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent stay"

11th July 2013, julia_havsali, Ningbo, China

I stayed at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental for 3 nights and everything was very good! I had a very nice and pleasant stay in this hotel. The property is wonderful and the staff very friendly, Professional!I definitly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to escape from the " Big city" and have a rest!Thank you for everything!

View management response »

Management responseDear Julia_havsail,Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good for Family and better than average service than other hotel n China"

8th July 2013, CookiePepperSpikey, Shanghai, China

Room needs renovation and repairs. Room is big and fairly clean. need to becareful with mosquito in room. Good for Family and better than average service than other hotel n China. Location in Sheshan Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China

View management response »

Management responseDear CookiepepperSpickey,Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A nice hotel - dated rooms"

5th July 2013, AueSingapore, Singapore

The hotel is nice and the surroundings great for a week-end away. Spent quite some time in the Club lounge with attentive and courteous staff and relatively good food (the croissants are not very french though - quite tough).Wifi works well throughout and they have international plugs in the room (but you need to disconnect the lights which are connected to these plugs?!). Daughter enjoyed the fact that they supply kids-size bath robe and slippers.Only issue is that the rooms are quite dated. Leather peeling off from tables, stains on wood etc. Towels should belong to a 3-star hotel. So some "refurbishment" of the rooms is necessary.Hotel is located 3 mins taxi ride from the train station which in turn takes you to People's Square in about 45 minutes.One main complaint (reflected in some previous reviews) is that they chase people out at 12noon on check-out day. Please check your guests' loyalty status and benefits before you do so..

View management response »

Management responseDear AueSingapore,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated. I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards, Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent staying for business and leisure"

12th January 2013, Jakarta, Indonesia

Don't mis any good moment with your business partner or family when you are visit to Shanghai China. Located in the beautiful area around the luxurious residential in Sngjiang District, The Sofitel Shanghai Shesan Oriental, will give you any prime facilities such as, cool and warm swimming pool around the hotel building with excellent services from the trained and expert hospitality hotel staff . This hotel could be the first choice to stay ether for business or family.Thanks

View management response »

Management responseDear Gunawan P,Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your pleasant feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I really appreciate that you enjoy your stay with us and your kind comment with your fully support drives us to do better and better.Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.Best Regards,Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Satisfactory"

15th August 2012, masami_fujiwara, Shanghai, China

Last week I stayed one night at Shanghai Sheshan Sofitel hotel. I think my stay was satisfactory, and the comfort level of the hotel was equal or even better than the other resort hotels in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philipines. Hotel room was excellent, and the other facilities were quite acceptable.

View management response »

Management responseDear masami_fujiwara,Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your most kind comments regarding our hotel’s facilities which were to your expectations. The hotel team certainly works very hard to keep all our guests comfortable and happy and you may be assured that nothing please us more, than to receive such kind comments from our guests and I shall be delighted to share yours with the team.Once again, that you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us and we hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan.Best Regards,Beat KlarerGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Must stay when in Shanghai"

3rd July 2012, Cleveland, Ohio, USA

What a wonderful place. This hotel has a great atmosphere that you would not expect when traveing. I would think of this as more of a resort.

View management response »

Management responseDear TJ,Thank you very much for your recent stay at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental and your valuable comments.I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your most kind comments regarding our hotel’s environment and facilities which were to your expectations. The hotel team certainly works very hard to keep all our guests comfortable and happy.Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us and we hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan.Best Regards,Beat KlarerGeneral Manage
« hide

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "details driven"

1st June 2012, vivianhong, shanghai

In general, I rated this hotel as excellent.There is some details I would like to address here.Saturday(26th,May),roughly around 4pm, we were walking back from the pool to our room, I saw a nappi on the table and asked a staff who were chatting with his colleague to take this nappi away, he was 10 metres from this table and obviously he assumed it's not his duty to take care of the table which should be coverred by the restaurant staff because next morning when I was going to enjoy my smoking after breakfast I saw this nappi again which was not on the table but under the table.I asked the manager of the restaurant to take it away, at first he said "oh, I get someone to do it" I insisted "it was there since yesterday afternoon around 4 clock", he reluctantly took it away.Second, about the breakfast, when I was charged roughly 20EURO, I was expecting to have something samilar or more I can get in Europe, unfortunately, I was disappointed by the variety and the quality.I don't understand why so much Chinese food was there.I don't like the details were ignored. For example, when we had breakfast after we check in, there was no marmeilaid plate on our table and the coffee was like brown colored water.For example, when we had breakfast on Sunday, there were no biscuits and dry fruit to go with the cheese.

Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental: 5.0 out of 5 stars "a cool getaway"

1st March 2012, Hangzhou, China

if you're looking for a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, this is the perfect place for you. The food was great, we had all our meals here for the length of our stay. Overall, we had a very good time. I would definitely would want to be back in summer especially after the outdoor pool is renovated.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and highlighting your positive review while recently staying with Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.I am very pleased to see that you were satisfied with our dining offer and fully enjoyed your stay with us. Our swimming pool is indeed under renovation and will soon reopen with a larger pool & beach facilities.We are looking forward to welcoming you again during summer to have another manifique experience at our hotel.Best regards,Damian NieselGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.