Hotel address51 Man Tung Road
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 22° 17' 29.24'' E 113° 56' 35.55''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+852)3602/8888
- Fax. (+852)36028899
Recently viewed hotels
Novotel Hong Kong Citygate - hotel reviews in Hong Kong
Hotel code: 6239
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Good one day - disaster the next. Safety & Customer Service not a priority."
22nd February 2013, Taipei, Taiwan
Stayed at this Hotel on Monday night this week on a business trip / stop over. Lovely staff, friendly and helpful. Easy free shuttle from the airport. On check in they even provided a free room upgrade. Breakfast selection was plentiful and the gym was large and well equipped. Hotel is right next to MTR which is always a Bonus. Overall a very pleasant stay. I needed to stop over later in the week, so I asked about availability for Friday. Rooms available but price was higher. I said that that was okay if they could organise the same room (ie free upgrade). No problems. Just landed about 1.5 hours ago from Taiwan. 3 days later. Shuttle arrives - Get on board then a tour group arrives. The number of people and bags would clearly not fit . Driver lost control - People yelling and barking instructions. Next shuttle was only 15 minutes away but everyone climbed on board & bags stacked everywhere to the roof. This trip was extremely UNSAFE and dangerous. Luggage could have fallen hit someone. Including driver. Exits were blocked - no escape if their was an accident. Checked in smoothly. No room upgrade recorded. I told them I was offered this and they got me the same room. Headed up to my room. Bathroom lights would not work. Called housekeeping. They came and went.. Engineering came and went still no lights. Phone rings - Front Desk. Can not fix tonight. Ask me if it okay if I can stay in the room as is. Not really happy but I am have unpacked, set up laptop, started working. Did not want to pack-up and move. Happy to stay but I asked if I would still be charged for my room. Yes but they would not charge me for the upgrade !!!!! It was already a free upgrade !!!! I am tired and not liking the attitude. I said I did not want to move. Happy to accept a reduced rate or some goodwill for using bathroom in the dark. No !!! Perhaps a free Breakfast or Internet for the hassle. No !!!! Full rate or move. Not happy with attitude. I gave up - too tired. I said would not move AND I would NEVER stay at Novatel City Gate again. He said okay and wished me a good night !!!Highly recommend you DO NOT STAY at this hotel in case you have a problem and need help. By their actions they care more about charging your credit card than delivering safety and customer service.Recommend you stay at MARRIOTT SKY CITY. Similar Property & Price to Novatel they know the value of customer service = Loyalty !!!View management response »
Management responseDear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stays. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and all of the services provided on your first stay. I will be sure to share your satisfaction with the hotel team. I am concerned to learn of your feedback regarding the shuttle bus service at the hotel. Please be assured that the safety of the hotel guests is of the utmost importance. Upon investigation I can confirm that the shuttle bus did have 23 passengers on board at the time when you travelled and that the shuttle bus is licenced to carry 25 passengers. Based on your feedback, we have promptly reminded the driver that luggage is not permitted to remain in the exit and that the luggage is to be placed in the luggage racks provided. I am disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the light in your bathroom, however, I understand that the team offered a new room for you when it was determined that the problem was unable to be resolved but this was declined by yourself. We certainly understand the importance of guest loyalty and it is our hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Nicholas CullumGeneral Manager
"Bed bugs galore"
20th February 2013, Dabidoff, Melbourne, Australia
Had multiple bed bug bites on my back. I had a three night's stay, I only got the toothbrush after the second day. Airconditioning was not cool enough. Fridge does not get cold. Requested for a replacement, got another one that is barely cooling as well. All in all, not worth the stay.View management response »
Management responseDear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us of your recent stay at Novotel Citygate. I am very concerned to hear of your report of suspected bed bug bites during your stay with us. At this stage we have had no report from any guest staying with us of any such issue and would very much appreciate that you contact the hotel directly so we may have the opportunity to investigate this claim. Communicating any problems or difficulties with our staff is always encouraged so we may have the opportunity to ensure expectations of our guests are met. I apologize that certain items in your room were not working to your satisfaction and that once reported remedial action was taken by our team to rectify issues reported. Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that we may learn more of your stay. Kind Regards,Nicholas CullumGeneral Manager
"Not worth the extra for the premier lounge."
13th February 2013, Beijing
The hotel is close to the airport- only 15 minutes by taxi or shuttle. Breakfast is good but there is no breakfast service in the premier lounge. We paid for an executive suite which was great - the room was large and very comfortable. The Premier Lounge was a huge disappointment. There wasn't much more than a few small sandwiches and all the peanuts you could eat during tea. I was expecting more. Also we arrived late in the evening at about 10 and couldn't access the lounge for a cold drink - even water was unavailable. I have stayed in lots of hotels with club floors where you could get a cold drink (water,juice,ice) after hours. This lounge offers minimal service for the cost.. The wine in mini bar is pretty awful - I do not recommend it.View management response »
Management responseDear Accorhotels.com traveller,Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comforts of the Premier Floor Executive Suite and the breakfast provided in the hotel. A Premier Floor room does include breakfast in Essence, the hotel's all day dining restaurant as you have mentioned, together with afternoon tea of an afternoon and canapés and drinks of an evening during set times. The afternoon tea consists of a range of petite desserts, gourmet biscuits and sandwiches which are available between 2:30pm and 5.00pm daily; I am sorry to hear that the afternoon tea on offer was not to your satisfaction.Outside of these periods the lounge offers complimentary tea and espresso coffee and a selection of dried fruits, nuts and gourmet candy.A Premier room or suite in the hotel also provides a number of other benefits, including complimentary WIFI, complimentary pressing of three laundry items, and items such as a Nespresso machine in the room which I am pleased to learn met your requirements.I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Nicholas CullumGeneral Manager
"Great option close to airport"
6th February 2013
Novotel is a great option very close to the airport. They have a free shuttle from the airport. A great time saver to avoid having to drive into Kowloon or another area. Not a good option if you want to see Hong Kong. Rooms are clean and efficient, European format. Internet is at extra charge but free for 20 min in the lobby. Breakfast buffet isn't 5 star but adequate and food good.