Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > China Hotels > Xian Hotels > Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square
Previous hotel
Discover Grand Mercure

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square
See : the photos

Practical information

    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 194
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: QIN TERRACOTTA (40.00 km)

Hotel address

319 Dongxin Street
Shaanxi Province
710004 XIAN
CHINA

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 34° 15' 58.57'' E 108° 57' 29.04'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square - hotel reviews in Xian

Hotel code: 5974

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Not what I expected from Accor Hotels"

7th September 2013, Mike C, Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is very good and walking to where the shopping and restaurants are was quite handy. As well, there are taxis waiting out by the entrance but they don't want to use their meter and charge you an inflated flat rate.This hotel was probably a first class hotel during the time it was built in the middle of the last century. Perhaps it was an old government building that was remodelled?We booked a double bed room for the four nights. The room we got was small but cozy. Unfortunately, the bathtub leaked when you had a shower and this soaked the bathroom mat and floor. The next morning, I asked for another room. They gave us a two twin bed room... they had no double beds yet the hotel did not look that busy so I suspect they are only using a few rooms? The breakfast buffet was quite good and the service at the restaurant was also quite good. The only other problem was that in our second room, I suspect that there we bed bugs. I had several small red marks on my limbs after my stay there. I say suspect because I can't be sure but if the hotel manager is reading this, my apologies if I am wrong but I would check out the beds for this problem. I was in Room 2125...If it weren't for the red marks, I would say this hotel is a 3.5 star... Oh, and the inability to accommodate my bed request.Also, the caulking in the bathroom (in both rooms) was terribly done and some black mould on it needs to be cleaned properly.This doesn't sound like a great review...maybe I just had bad luck during my stay there. My recommendation is to pay the extra $50US per night and stay at the more modern Sofitel.I like Accor Hotels generally and would stay with them again...just never again at this particular hotel.

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.Your sincerely,Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
« hide

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 4.0 out of 5 stars "very good hotel"

5th September 2013, david1964186273, Brighton, United Kingdom

this hotel was one of the best Grand Mercure ,dont confuse it with the just the mercure as theay are 2 diferent standad of hotel traditonal decor but large rooms and lovly spa.well worth a visit at that price range

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.Your sincerely,Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
« hide

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 2.0 out of 5 stars "New twist to a happy ending"

27th October 2012, Fuzzy1977, Brisbane, Australia

Hotel is clean, in fact very well looked after. Concierge staff are very friendly and helpful, though generally the hotel staff lack good English skills - but we were in China and I can't speak a word of their language so they are way better skilled in the language area than me.After a very long day walking around Xian Terracotta Warriors, my other half suggested a visit to the Sofitel Spa, what I was not expecting was the person to offer sex for money whilst I was being massaged. That was not the kind of happy ending I was looking for after a long and tiring day! It was sleazy and disgusting and the hotel duty manager at the Sofitel couldn't have cared any less.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 5.0 out of 5 stars "First Class Hotel"

19th July 2012, ensah, Singapore, Singapore

The Hotel is one of 3 hotels operated by ACCOR, It is located in a less touristic section, some distance from Bell and DrumTowers (city centre). A few minutes walk to a few modern shopping malls. The solid stone building of different era, is Iconic and attractive, with modern rooms and facilities; business travellers and discerning tourist will find this hotel interesting.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic hotel, excellent service, very comfortable"

12th July 2012

This was an excellent choice of hotel, well located, and reasonable in price. Thanks for a very nice one-night stay!

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 2.0 out of 5 stars "nobody speak English after 9 PM (only Chinese) and the Jacuzzi is a common spa bath"

26th March 2012, Paris, France

nobody speak English after 9 PM (only Chinese and only 1 person before) and the Jacuzzi is a common spa bath the spa bath wasn't working (and very different what is shown on the website)the swimming pool is in an other hotel (Sofitel)the TV are not flat screennobody manage the taxi for you (not easy in china)

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 4.0 out of 5 stars "If you ask, you know...."

8th February 2012, Taezar, Brisbane, Australia

Bit of a cryptic title I know, but it took me a 1.5 days to get the hang of the city, which could have been shared in 30 seconds by staff or by a better prepared map.I had read other reviews saying that the hotel was too far from the Bell and Drum Towers - and for the first day I totally agreed. Then I asked reception/concierge about the buses and which ones were the right ones (there are SO many buses in Xi'an) as I was pretty sure I had worked out which were the best ones to catch but wanted to be sure. Once I asked, the information was very freely shared, but you had to ask. You also need to double check as English wasn't that good - it was workable, but you had to talk around to get there (e.g. Pharmacy - I tried Pharmacy, Drug Store and kept getting referred to speak to the hotel doctor - I finally said Medicine Shop and I got the answer I needed).The map is given with a nod at checkin, but adding information to the map would have been incredibly helpful. There is a supermarket (a BIG one that includes a floor similar to K-Mart) just a block a way (if you are interested, go the front of Renmin Square, turn left, at second traffic lights look to your right and you see a KFC and a huge sign saying REN REN LE, that is the supermarket/kmart - take the underpass and make your way to the 3F for groceries). A block in the other direction is a pharmacy (where the road East does the divert). The 603 bus will change your life in Xi'an if you are staying in Renmin Square. From 100m away from the hotel complex you can get to the Bell and Drum Towers and South Gate (get on in front of the ICBC to the left of Renim Square), and the Station (first lights, turn left - first bus stop).I loved that I could open the window to my room - as it was HOT, really hot even with the heating set to 15c. I am pretty sure Housekeeping thought I was insane as they would put the heat back up and close the window all the time.The big negative to my 4 night stay was the Mercure next door moving equipment from 10.30pm - 12.30am on my second night. Initially staff didn't understand but went to move me, only they didn't show up to do so. I then had to follow up call, only to be told that the work men would finish in 10 minutes so I decided not to move. Over an hour later they finally finished. This was ridiculous. Why a move would be done at that time in a hotel complex is beyond understanding.All that being said, I did enjoy the hotel, always felt safe, and would stay again.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good Service Quality"

2nd February 2012, Singapore, Singapore

Checked in hassle-free as relevant reservation information was on correct. Room was clean and nice, however, room safe was faulty. Reported fault to hotel and prompt action given for rectification.After several attempts, as they realised I was made to wait on several occasions and once, called while I was trying to catch some sleep. They offered a room upgrade for the service shortfall. That's service quality of a branded hotel.Otherwise, all went well.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Sofitel is pretty good"

22nd January 2012, Shenzhen

The room is clean and the products in the room are with good quality. The people and nice and friendly and they response to my request promptly. The price is good compared with this type of service. The location is convenient as well. A small problem, the light above the curtain was out of function that I cannot swith it off during the whole night. I have to call the technician to fix the problem in the following day. Also it seems that the hotel is lack of people. When I arrived, I had to wait at the reception for more than 10 minute to do the check in as there is only 1 people at the receiption.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Had good trip in Xian"

9th July 2011, Dubai

The hotel is good value for money. Good staff and can speak good English.Very helpful concierge staff. They guided us efficiently to see and experience Xian.The breakfast spread was excellent. Got upgraded to suite after complaining of A/C not cooling properly. But the cooling of room is still a an issue. The weather was very hot in Xian between 35-37 at the time. Overall a good experience and will go back again.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Got an upgrade to the Sofitel, courtesy of the government"

26th January 2011, Piegirl5au, Melbourne,Australia

We had booked for 4 nights at the Grand Mecure however on arrival we were told that the government had 'aquired' our hotel for those nights for the party-elections. We were therefore moved to the Sofitel which is in the same compound. The Sofitel was WONDERFUL. Great service, attention to details and caring staff. The whole area was 'taken over' by soldiers and guards and we were denied access through the main entrances, having to enter and exit through a side door after showing ID. This only added to the intrigue and made our stay very memorable!Easier directions posted on their websiite for getting to the hotel would be welcomed.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Rather an old hotel - that feels its age"

17th January 2011, TempleofPeace, Hong Kong

I generally like Grand Mercures, but this one is past its sell-by date. The rooms are rather poky, the desk is small. The shower is retro-fitted and OK. The hotel shares many facilities with the expensive Sofitel - I refuse to pay RMB680/hour for massage. That's ridiculous. Breakfast was included and fine, but not overly special. It feels like a good domestic 4-star hotel, but not an international 4-star.

Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Room is very small"

15th November 2010, Shanghai

The room is quite small considering the high rate. I can have more choice in Xi'an under this rate.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.