Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Brazil Hotels > Rio de Janeiro Hotels > ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Previous hotel
Discover ibis

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont hotel

Budget hotel for business and leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • CERTIFIED SUSTAINABLE-ISO 14001
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 9
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Number of rooms: 330
  • Hotel location: At the airport
  • Main point of interest: PAO DE ACUCAR (10.00 km)

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont - hotel reviews in Rio de Janeiro

Hotel code: 5691

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good but Isolated"

18th September 2013, Tiberman, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Hotel was on the fringe of Centro and was a bit isolated at the week-ends. Our room was a bit tired and in need of redecoration but everything functioned well enough. Fair to say though the air-con was a bit to noisy to sleep with so tended towards leaving on all evening so room was cold to fall asleep in.Staff were the best asset the place had although English was not really spoken and our Portuguese was very limited. Nonetheless the staff were helpful and friendly.Bar was pleasantly busy most evenings due to lack of other bars near by.Pricewise the hotel seemed good value and taxis into livelier parts were inexpensive and plentiful.My one gripe was the amount I had to pay to extend my check out time. We were travelling out from RdeJ at 11pm and had to pay a fair bit just to be allowed to keep the room until 6pm. We had been there for ten nights and given the lack of a suitcase storage room felt it was a bit much. I do acknowledge Rock in Rio was on and the place was busy.Sleep was good but two nights were interrupted by crying kids next door (it happens) but also drunken shouting and noise conversations in the corridors at 3am were less acceptable.All in all I rate the place quite well and will continue to use Ibis as value for money

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excelent!"

16th September 2013, Manaus

We had a nice and pleasure stay with our baby in Ibis Santos Dumont. Elevators (three) are small and very busy.We did our check in and check out on saturday and it was so easy and quickly.The hotel crew did a execelent job, everyone!

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Toilet paper position"

9th September 2013, emilio_priore, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Dear all: you have na excellent opportunity to change the toilet papper support position. In all your hotel, it is positioned very close to the toilet, when most part of the guests touch it with their knees. It´s very easy to provide the change, putting this supports more close to the sink and letting this space free , what is very importante for the confort when using the tolilet. Think about that. Regards. Emilio.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Practicality and Comfort"

8th September 2013, jessebatista, Cachoeiro De Itapemirim, Brazil

I traveled on business to be dealt with in the city center, and the location hotel services plus the convenience of me were satisfactory. Incidentally, my wife and two children, now adults, were happy because mobility to be close to the airport, the convenience of the hotel and the proximity of businesses.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Value for money in Rio"

3rd September 2013, Robert G, Magden

Difficult to get a central hotel at reasonable prices in Rio. IBIS Santos Dumont is 5 min walk from SDU airport. and in the centre of Rio. By taxi pass Flamengo Botafogo through the tunnel to Copacabana in 10 min. Easy place for business or leasure. Upmarket people can book the Novotel just next door. Always taxis available in front of the Hotel. HSBC ATM accross the street.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great location but Rio is so expensive"

3rd July 2013, gamebm, Ouro Preto, Brazil

The location is perfect for a tourist, but why Brazil is so expensive nowadays. It is basically very convenient to get to just anywhere from the location of the hotel. Five minutes of walk from the airport, 10 reais of taxi to Lapa, 20 to Cocorvado or Pao de Acucar. It is a nice neighborhood. Stopped in Rio for two days, really enjoyed the stayed.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Business trip"

26th June 2013, DrM2010, San Rafael, California, USA

The hotel is basic for business travel. The hotel itself is okay, but as a foreigner, I would not recommend the location. It's located near downtown and the domestic airport. There really isn't any place to go out/eat safely within walking distance other than the Cinelandia area, which seems to quiet down after business hours. The area is also a bit dirty and you could come across homeless and drug users if you are walking around at night. The stay was complicated by the recent protests in Rio during the Confederations Cup, which made the general area difficult to be in. Metro stops were closed on at least one occasion and nearby streets filled with protestors since the hotel is close to the main business and government buildings. The staff is friendly, but speaks limited English. It helps to be able to speak some Portuguese. I got by with a combination English, Spanish, and the little bit of Portuguese I speak.Wi-Fi didn't work on my mobile device after the second day. The in-room safe and phone in my room also did not work on the first day. However, staff was quick to fix this. One thing that bothered me, was that there is no onsite fitness facility or public park nearby to exercise.If you are planning an international trip to Rio, the hotel is not bad, but I do not recommend that you stay in this part of town. Stay somewhere else and take the metro into the city center for business. For example, Ipanema is much nicer if you want to do some sightseeing or go for a jog. I stayed there too during this trip, and it was worth it to pay the extra money just for the location.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 3.0 out of 5 stars "economy hotel"

30th January 2013, seoul, korea

good location for early flighter. 2-3minutes walking distance to airport. clean room for the price. but there isn't any good restaurant around. and the staf said tnat the district is not safe at night.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Easy to get to but slightly off patch for tourists"

23rd January 2013, msgeddes, Edinburgh

This is a typical chain hotel only a couple of hundred yards from Rio's Santos Dumont Airport. There is a bus that runs from Rio's main Galeao airport to Santos Dumont, so getting to and from airports is much cheaper than using taxis.I was not aware of airplanes landing or taking off even though I could see the runway from my hotel window.You are in the business part of Rio so everything is closed on Saturday and Sundays so you have to walk or taxi to get a restaurant and the Beaches are a 30 minute bus ride away.Plenty of taxis on the doorstep so getting around isn't a problem.The staff were friendly and helpful and the general ambience was fine. I would happily stay there again.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Checkout"

16th December 2012, Richard379, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Be prepared to stay in a line for a half-hour to check out, even if you have pre-paid the entire bill. Checkin was quick, the room clean and the breakfast was ample. The hotel is walking distance from the Santos Dumont airport and close to the business district.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Useful, clean and affordable"

16th May 2012, vivifonfon, Londres, Royaume-Uni

Basic room, the same as in every Ibis throughout the world. At least no surprises.Clean bathroom, comfortable bed.Free WifiRestaurant is not great to have diner. You can have diner at the Novotel next door, much better.Overall service is not as good as expected

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel.Fabio TurchettoGeneral managerh5691-gm@accor.com.br
« hide

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Average"

11th March 2012, London

Location not good, price doubled compared to the same ibis in other touristic city with two more rooms. Attendants couldn't speak English. The wifi Internet signal very weak not usable a lot of the time and you can hear what was happening next room.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Practical location!"

5th July 2011, sao paulo

One may prefer the view to one of Rio's beautiful beaches, but if you are there for business, having a five minute walking distance to Santos Dumont airport is preferable. Employees are friendly and absolutely good value for my money!

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Critics"

5th May 2011, Imperatriz/MA

I can't review the Hotel service, because i didn't stay that. I had my flight canceled due to weather issues. I tried to call the Hotel to transfer my reservation to the next day, but NOBODY answered the phone. Tried several times during friday 29th april. But my credit card was billed.I believe the Hotel is good, but the Custumer Relationship are AWFUL.

ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Fair Hotel"

26th April 2011, São Paulo

I stay at least 10 days per month in Rio, the quality of hotels in Rio is arguable, this one is not the best one and a little better than expensive ones like Golden Tulip. It's a fair hotel for sleep, it could be a little bit cleaner but in Rio it's difficult to find a clean room in a hotel.The price is reasonable.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.