Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > New Zealand Hotels > Queenstown Hotels > Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Previous hotel
Discover Sofitel

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa hotel

Luxury Hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
See : the photos

Practical information

    • CERTIFIED SUSTAINABLE-ISO 14001
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel - Paying
    • High-speed internet - Paying
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Golf lessons - Nearby
    • Golf course 9 holes - Nearby
    • Golf course 18 holes - Nearby
    • Golf practice facilities - Nearby
    • Outdoor tennis court - Nearby
    • Babysitting on request
    • Hammam
    • Massage
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 82
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: Skifield (15.00 km)

Hotel address

8 Duke Street
PO Box 1797
9300 QUEENSTOWN
NEW ZEALAND

How to reach the hotel

GPS :S 45° 1' 52.74'' E 168° 39' 32.04''

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa - hotel reviews in Queenstown

Hotel code: 5688

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Lovely professional hotel in the heart of Queenstown"

22nd September 2013, Rass T, Salobrena

Had a great stay, lovely staff and great attention to detail, we checked in before the room was ready and the hotel called to say our room was ready and when we came back our luggage was already there. only downside was that our room was at road level so not much privacy from the sidewalk.

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Very central and great service"

19th September 2013

It is a very central location with fantastic staffWe booked 3 days and 2 more days, but the 2nd booking was lost. The staff did their best and manage to get us the lost booking but to be honest we moved to another location. We where in the twin double bed room the beds where 2 small and the room to dark. We had no end of problems getting warm and working the outdated TV system.Seeing we had a car we shifted out of town to a beautiful open 2 bedroom room facing the lake 5 minutes out of town.I also question my silver Accor status as not once was any benefit offered.So staff and location fantastic but rooms cold and not modern enough

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great location & friendly professional service"

19th September 2013, jess_melbourne24, Melbourne, Australia

Lovely kind service throughout our whole stay and received an upgrade which was much appreciated! Had a great view and bathroom was very spacious with a two person spa and separate shower with a big showerhead! Was surprised when there weren't any amenities specific to the spa however...would have been a lot more enjoyable if there was some bubble bath provided or something along those lines. TVs in the room were somewhat dated although we loved having the Bose Music Player by our bedside. Very convenient location and the breakfast staff were extremely kind also. The steakhouse in the same building is also worth a try! Overall, very happy with our stay. Despite being a big name hotel, it had an intimate smaller hotel feel which we really love! Would stay here again.

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Sofitel Queenstown - top spot"

14th September 2013, rmc885, Dunedin, New Zealand

Could certainly see the difference in service alone from staying at the Queenstown Novotel to the last night at Sofitel. No competition.....Sofitel a clear winner. Personal service to the door a pleasant surprise on check-in. Quiet rooms and very well layed out. Very enjoyable stay thanks.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour rmc885,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Magical South!We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our in-room amenities and decor & the service you received. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Top notch & best breakie"

9th August 2013, Berlla, Sydney, Australia

Have stayed with Sofitel in Munich and Budapest. Rooms were just as good in Queenstown . We had a great package , valet parking and breakfast . Must say breakfast choice and presentation was the highlight, one of the best we have had. Position great . The only negative was the noise from loud people in the street late at night, however, it was muffled by the double glazed windows and we got to sleep no problem.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour Berlla,Thank you for your message recently posted about your recent visit. It was a true pleasure to have been of service to you. Our boutique luxury hotel located in the very heart of Queenstown is certainly a very special find. Service, culinary delights, and a caring and passionate team, certainly gives you many reasons to return. we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.Warmest regards,Vincent Macquet
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Outstanding hotel"

16th July 2013, drb25drb, New York City, New York, USA

Very cooperative and friendly concierge and registration services. Room was well appointed and comfortable with excellent mattress and splendid smooth high thread count sheets. Central location and qwe would definitely return.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour drb25drb,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent anniversary location"

13th July 2013, firstacdad, Sydney, Australia

Great rooms , amazing pillow menu. Love heated floor tiles ! Peaceful hot bath and an excellent cuddly sleep. Best location for a lazy pedestrian weekend. Rarely saw or heard other guests. Can't wait and will definitely be going again.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour firstacdad,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your Magnifique anniversary.We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Beautiful Hotel"

11th July 2013, hayleynz, Auckland, New Zealand

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, which is conveniently located right in town.The room itself is spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom is large and the deep spa bath was very welcome after a days skiing. Watching tv whilst in the bath was very extravagant!The staff were all extremely helpful, especially Brian.Only downside was there was no treadmill in the gym. Went for a run along the lake instead which was beautiful, but cold. Also, there seems to be quite a bit of noise travels into the rooms from the hallway. Other than that it was perfect.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour hayleynz,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room – the double spa bath is always welcoming after a day of skiing.Thank you for your feedback on the gym facilities, we are currently upgrading the gym with new equipment.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Best Location and Great Service"

4th July 2013, MaryFrances2012, Brisbane, Australia

This Hotel is within minutes walk to everything and is kept immaculate. The Concierge and House Keeping Service was amazing. Always polite and helpful. The rooms were wonderfully warm and comfortable which was important as it was really cold outside. Loved the TV over the Spa Bath. Well worth the cost, would definitely stay here again. The Left Bank Cafe had lovely decor but low ambiance. The food was ok, but felt it was a little overprice for what it was.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour MaryFrances2012,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our in-room facilities, décor & the service you received. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good option for staying right in Queenstown but NOT a 5 star experience"

2nd July 2013, WNZL0037, NZ

The location is great in terms of being able to walk into town in a minute - but this location comes at a price - NOISE & LACK OF VIEWS. Ask for a room NOT on the side of the building closest to the Lonestar as we were awake until they closed at 2am at least. This building has double-glazed windows but it is in no way soundproofed (yes we checked the windows were closed tight!) - the bed is beautifully comfortable with a feather mattress so its a shame about the noise. We stayed in this room 2 nights & moved to a suite at the other end of the building for the third night of our stay. Sadly the suite doesn't have any view (looks into the street & the loading dock for the hotel & is again very noisy as the loading dock door opens when trucks come along for deliveries & you hear every thing (truck noise, lg door opening, staff talking, unloading etc.). The first room had a good view of the mountains (not the Remarkables) but the suite (which I would expect to have a SPECTACULAR view for the extra money...?) has no view - just into two different not interesting streets, the loading dock & onto a large power transformer & the remnants/storage area of broken tiles... The furniture in the suite was well used - veneer missing off the coffee table, ugly, hard-as-a-rock sofa, pilled upholstery on the armchair. This room was also perishingly cold - although we had the heaters on the cold was coming up from underneath from the loading dock AND to add insult to injury the heating in the tiled floor in the bathroom didn't work. In both rooms the possum throw is lovely.Room service is excellent - we had a few meals in our rooms as we were fitting in a combination of work & pleasure on this trip - the breakfast menu deliveries were messed up each time - doubling the order (& therefore price) but the service is fast & the food is excellent. We also had drinks in the bar which was lovely & with a great wine list & good service - the fire makes it very cosy. We ate breakfast one day in the cafe & there was a huge selection of breakfast options - coffee was mediocre but food was excellent. Concierge service, valet parking, porter service, bar & restaurant staff, cleaning staff all fantastic - thank you for all your help while we stayed. Beds are divine, bathrooms are beautiful (except no heat in the suite bathroom) but WHERE in this hotel you have to stay to get a) a decent view b) peaceful sleep c) warmth?

View management response »

Management responseBonjour WNZL0037,Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.We really appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to improve our service to our guests. We would appreciate discussing your experience further with you, please contact me on vincent.macquet@sofitelqueenstown.com as I would like talk to you to allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and service.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect location, friendly staff, great breakfast & Spa!"

28th June 2013, TheFlyingFin, Sydney

Firstly I need to thank the duty manager (Angie/Annie) for moving our 3 night booking without a sweat (or charge). I called her from Sydney when I was sitting on the plane, as we found out our flight was being delayed and we had to overnight in Auckland. She was very understanding and made our holiday stress free!As for the hotel it was amazing and everything we had hoped for. It was in the perfect location - restaurants, bars, gondola, ski shuttle, lake. The rooms where clean and cosy. The staff were very friendly and gave great advice when we asked questions. Buffet breakfast was delicious - (especially the home made hash browns - my partner gobbled them up). Finally we decided after a long day of skiing to use "Le Spa", it was perfect and exactly what we were after - would recommend booking in advance, as it gets busy. All in all it was a great 3 night experience, definitely worth the money and I will be staying here when I come back!

View management response »

Management responseBonjour TheFlyingFin,Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.We are pleased your holiday was made stress free with the assistance of our Ambassadors and that you had a great Queenstown experience.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.Kindest regards,Vincent MacquetGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.