Hotel addressExplore Lane
For Car Park use BS1 5LL
BS1 5TY BRISTOL
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 27' 1.35'' W 2° 36' 4.58''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)1173199000
- Fax. (+44)117/9897210
Recently viewed hotels
ibis Bristol Centre - hotel reviews in Bristol
Hotel code: 5547
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
7th March 2013
On booking into the Hotel on Saturday, 2nd March 2013 at @ 6.15 p.m. we were allocated Room 401. The room was not what we had booked. It was a room set up with disabled bathroom facilities and was very small with the two single beds touching each other. The bathroom had an unpleasant odour, no bath and the TV did not work.We went down to the front desk and told the receptionist that the room did not meet our requirements and that we wished to be moved to a twin room that did not smell, had appropriate bathroom facilities and a TV that worked. We were informed that there were no other twin rooms available and were offered either the choice of a free breakfast or to share a double room. Our response was that neither of these options were acceptable to us but that what would be acceptable would be to have a double room each. We were informed by David, the receptionist, that he did not have the authority to place us in a double room each. Upon asking to speak to his Line Manager we were informed that there was not a Manager on duty and there was nothing more he could do. Further discussion ensued and we were horrified to learn that it was only himself, a female receptionist and a barman on duty in the entire hotel on a very busy Saturday evening, which we found hard to believe. He said that this was normal and that there hadn’t been a Manager on duty since the day before (Friday) and that no-one would be on site until Monday.We were told point blank time and time again that there was not a Manager available to speak to us and eventually we were forced to concede and had to sleep in the room. The only other option would have been to try to book into another Hotel but we were already late for a dinner engagement, having spent over an hour trying to resolve the issues. David did come up to the room and apologized about the situation but that he could not do anything to change it. As the bathroom was wholly inappropriate, we did not feel able to showerI have the following complaints and concerns to which I require responses:-• The booking was made well in advance and the Hotel was informed that we would be an early evening arrival. Had all the twin rooms already been booked at this time the Hotel should have informed us that the only accommodation available would be in a disabled facilities room? Why were we not informed? We would then have had the option of cancelling the booking and finding alternative suitable accommodation.• The accommodation did not meet our requirements. The bathroom was totally inappropriate to meet our needs with a disabled shower and no bath.• The room had obviously not been checked prior to us taking up accommodation. The bathroom had a stale unpleasant odour to it and the TV did not work. Can this be checked against the cleaning rota please?• Was it really the case that there was not a Manager on duty? To leave a very busy Hotel on a Saturday night with only three front of house employees who did not have th...View management response »
Management responseDear Mr and Mrs Drew,Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and have investigated the matters you have brought to our attention. I have responded to the email you have sent me earlier, please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further. Kind regards, Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"Ibis Hotel Bristol"
27th February 2013, castle_1017, Kendal, United Kingdom
The hotel staff were friendly, curteous and effecient at checking us in and out. Drinks were put on the room bill, the bar person remembered us each time and so was done with a minimum of fuss. Little disappointed we had requested twin rooms but given a double, but bed was more than big enough for both of us!Location brilliant. Rooms clean and functional.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,We are grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"Great service, location and value for money"
12th February 2013, GVAL_13, Bromley, United Kingdom
I have never stayed in an Ibis hotel before and thought it was a great hotel, with very clean rooms and enough space in the room, which has a cool pod bathroom. An excellent location too, with access to local sights eg Science Museum, restaurants, bars etc. It was value for money too. The staff were very professional and friendly.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your kind comments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"Ibis Bristol City Centre"
3rd February 2013, jsaccs, London, United Kingdom
Very good hotel in a convenient location. Let down by staff who go walk about. Mainly French youngsters who need to be more aware of busy periods. One girl was left on her own at reception with 4 people waiting - I gave up waiting and phoned later from the room.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and we hope to you on your next trip to Bristol.Kind regards,Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"Ibis City Centre, Bristol"
30th January 2013, wolfiesdad, London, United Kingdom
Generally excellent for a budget hotel, with helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Perfect location for walking into city centre - less than 15 min walk to everywhere.Only negative was the quality of the breakfast, although it is available from 4am to midday! Cold elements generally fine, apart from fresh fruit bowl, but hot was a bit of a disaster. Selection from 4 items - all tepid - soggy bacon, solid scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans. Fruit bowl had a very limitede choice of poor quality fruit with much of it already bruised or gone soft. Output from hot drnks machine not to my tate. Woild probably be better served having breakfat at nearby alternative locations.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the points your raised about breakfast, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.Kind regards,Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
20th January 2013, katey_lou87, Exeter, United Kingdom
Made an early booking at Ibis, £35 for one night for 2 people so I can't really complain.the room was average sized with all basics, TV, internet port, a bed.My main issue was with the porta-bathroom in the room. It looked like it had been taken out of a static caravan, and stuck in the corner of the room. I would have been fine with the entire thing if it didn't smell like damp, stagnant water. We couldn't shift the smell. The shower also had an erratic time, seemed to be indecisive on what temperature it should be.The bed sheets also smelled damp and mildew-esque.But again, I paid £35 s an early booking. Wouldn't have been impressed if I had paid any more.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"Centre of Bristol looking for a reasonable place to crash that didn't kick us out early!"
12th December 2012, meaaaaaaaaa, Swindon, United Kingdom
Everything was fine ... style wise not a homely place but that is a matter of taste. New beds were really comfy and we had a perfectly acceptable and affordable (if not particlarly memorable) stay.I would do it all again if I had another party to attend within walking distance ;)View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate your feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Bristol Centre.Kind regards,Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager
"good location but dirty"
21st November 2012
small rooms but adequate but bathroom dirty and shower dripping .Very limited choice of breakfast,just basic.Staff were very friendly and helpful.The location was ideal for theatre ,bars and restaurants but the cleanliness issue has put me off staying againView management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the points you raised. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.Kind regards,Mikhail MyasinOperations Manager