Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Australia Hotels > Mount Buller Hotels > Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Babysitting on request
    • Sauna
    • Massage
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 62
  • Hotel location: In the mountains
  • Main point of interest: SKI LIFTS VILLAGE (0.10 km)

Hotel address

Summit Road
3723 MT BULLER
AUSTRALIA

How to reach the hotel

GPS :S 37° 8' 53.08'' E 146° 26' 6.15''

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller - hotel reviews in Mount Buller

Hotel code: 5515

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing, but well located"

1st September 2013, Des B, Melbourne, Australia

Disappointing, but well locatedWe truly had a fun and enjoyable ski holiday. Unfortunately this hotel needs some TLC. The furnishings and rooms need a new lease on life. They are small for families compared with other sister hotels and cramped for a ski holiday.The service at the hotel was virtually non-existent. There was no porter to assist with luggage for check in and check out.Reception staff were ok, gave us wrong directions (in the rain) and weren’t prepared to loan us an umbrella when it was raining!Brekkie restaurant staff were not very obliging, coffees were extra and generally they could get those right. We were expecting a lot more from the Black Cockatoo Restaurant. The kids menu was totally bizarre and a set 3-course menu, not at all kids orientated, for an hefty price of $35 each child. The adults meals arrived late and a few of them just warm. Management were very apologetic for and kindly took some of the items off the bill.Après café was average in quality but very pricy. A bowl of fries was $12.Location is perfect and the other facilities are really good (pool, spa, gym). As beginners we were directed elsewhere for ski hire by the shop, so missed the benefit and convenience of picking up and returning the gear to the hotel.Even though the décor is dated, we possibly would have considered coming back, but the service and restaurant quality have convinced us otherwise.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent for the snows"

11th July 2013, TeeTeeReview, Melbourne, Australia

The Grand Mercure was in an excellent location if you are deciding to head to Mt Buller for snows trip. It is situated right next to one of the main chair lifts in Mt Buller. The staff was very kind, we got checked in early in the mornings rather than later in the afternoon. The hotel room was very clean and has a small kitchen area for cooking. The hotel room also has a great view of Mt Buller and the ski slopes! Great Weekend!

View management response »

Management responseDear TeeTeeReview,Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. It is always a pleasure for us to receive positive feedback.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Renae KennedyGeneral Manager
« hide

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 5.0 out of 5 stars "perfect"

6th February 2013

I've worked for Qantas for 17 years,travelled all over the world,this was one of the best accommadation experience i've had,nothing was to much trouble,an early check-in a late check-out,two great in house restaurants and a perfect location.Iám about to book our next triathlon training camp at the same Chalet.Thanks to the fantastic staff.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Beautiful view"

31st January 2013, SightSeerer, Sydney, Australia

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights & it had our room had a beautiful view of Mt Buller & surrounding mountains. Rooms were clean & tidy, however were lacking in terms of fans, some basic utenstils (knife & fork) and our bed was rather uncomfortable & hard. Rooms could do with a bit of a revamp but all in all we were fairly comfortable. Ate at the hotel restraunt twice, food was excellent & had marvellour views also. Overall we had a great time, well worth a trip just for the view!!

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Top of the Mountain"

12th December 2012, Brisbane

Stayed at Mt Buller at the off season time of early December. The road to the summit township was good. Very quiet at the summit location and we were upgraded to a room with a magnificent view. Appreciated that, there was assessibilty by road to the topmost chairlift area which allowed a relatively short climb to the summit of Mt Buller in the still coolish weather.There were few restaurants that were opened in the township and we had dinner at the Grand Mercure. Not much food selection and the seafood item requires more quality control.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Travelled with family and two older children"

12th July 2012, Melbourne

The service we experienced was very poor. The staff were not well trained and did not offer any help with the mountains amenities, The two ladies on the weekend of the 6 July were extremely unhelpful and lacked passion for their job. The guy that was on on saturday morning was much more obliging and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were extremely rude and did not provide much service at dinner time on the friday night. The food itself was over priced and really very salty and not of a high standard at all. The hotel itself was well positioned but the rooms were old and tired and the beds were really uncomfortable. At 670 dollars per night it would have made sense to have at least two beds and not a sofa bed for the kids who found it to be really uncomfortable. The beds itself was really uncomfortable as well. I would rate this hotel a 2 star not a 4and a half as it claims.The overall cleanliness of this hotel was poor.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Ski Holiday"

11th July 2012, Adelaide, Australia

An outstanding location which made for a wondeful experience. Ski in Ski out allowed for a trouble and stress free break.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great ski in ski out hotel"

4th July 2012, Brisbane, Australia

Great location right at the bottom of the ski run, has a ski gear rental shop right in the same building, buy lift tickets there too, has a good apres ski bar, didn't hardly leave the hotel except to ski! Highly recommend the cleaning staff, turn down service, they gave chocolates to our kids and were very friendly every day.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Mt Buller Weekend trip"

7th June 2012, Melbourne

Went up to Mt Buller to stay for a Saturday night, front desk were a little disorganised but very nice and gave us a later checkout on sunday. used the pool and sauna during the evening, sauna and pool were great. Breakfast was great with a good buffet selection with warm food, fresh fruit,cereals and toasts. Biggest dissapiontment was when i asked the Chef for fried eggs the eggs came out burnt. Overall a good hotel however a renovation is needed in the near future.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Not Great"

7th June 2012, SleepyMelbourne, Melbourne

It wasnt the worst experience, and if it wasnt for the location i would never stay there again. Most of the staff were polite enough. The place wasnt exactly spotless but clean enough to stay. The website claims they have a billiards room, which i thought would be perfect for the night time when its too freezing to go anywhere but when asked they advised this was only available in the executive suite or something along those lines. The bedding was THE WORST!!! The pillows were bumpy and all clumped up and so was the bed. I had the worst nights sleep, would have been more comfortable sleeping in a sleeping bag on the floor :S the bumpy pillow only left me wondering what it looked like without the pillow case. ( stomach turning now that i think about it) For $205 per night i would have expected a bit more comfort. Yes it includes breaky, which was decent enough minus the stuff they called coffee, but i would have been happy enough to pay for breaky if the hotel stay was more pleasurable.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Clean but old. Very poor bed."

6th June 2012, Stayalotinhotels, Melbourne, Australia

The hotel room was very old. The bed was poor, I could feel the springs on my back and woke up feeling sore. The hotel is in need of renovation. The service at reception was slow at times. One positive was the room was clean.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend at the Chalet"

10th May 2012, BennyPhammer, Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful weekend away. Paid for valley view room and was given room on 7th floor with amazing views. Room was clean and very spacious. Only real negative was that the bed was slightly uncomfortable and the check out time of 10AM is a little early. Pool and Sauna facilities were a big plus. We were impressed with the breakfast that was included in the room rate which consisted of us ordering anything we wanted from the menu as the buffet was not available (im assuming due to a shortage of guests that weekend). Overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great weekend away in the alpine region over summer.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great summer holiday"

27th April 2012, RuthAzzo, Melbourne, Australia

I stayed on Mt Buller with my sisters for a girls weekend of hiking. The location of this hotel is excellent, with the village just outside the door and great walking tracks particularly across to Mt Stirling. The hotel is a little dated however very comfortable. The staff at the front desk were super friendly and very helpful. Late checkout was not a problem. The food is a little expensive but you kind of expect it with the destination being quite isolated. For a great Sunday lunch we headed down to Mansfield and went to the Produce Store - where the food was excellent.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Worth the drive"

30th March 2012, Melbourne, Australia

Great place, awesome food, good service, but the bed was a little hard and uncomfortable. Staff went out of their way to advise us of the things to see and do in the area.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Buller"

8th March 2012, Cohuna

Grand Mercure is a lovely place to stay. The staff were all friendly and could not do enough for us. Management met all our requests and went above and beyond. Some errors were made in the dining room but the staff went out of their way to ensure the problems were solved to everyones satisfaction. The pool and spa were a welcome relief after a day out in the saddle of our mountain bikes in the rain. This hotel is well situated and the amenities and meals were great. Have stayed before and will definitely stay again.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mount Buller: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excelent stay"

21st February 2012, Canberra, Australia

We had very good night at the hotel.The only reson the score for service was down was that they appeared to be under staffed in the resturant due to being out of season.The staff werer run of their feet but did a great job and the food was excelent .

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.