Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Germany Hotels > Hamburg Hotels > Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Previous hotel
Discover Sofitel

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall hotel

Luxury Hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet - Paying
    • Air conditioning
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Public indoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Golf course 18 holes - Nearby
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
    • Sauna
    • Hammam
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
    • Late Check-out (up to 5pm) - Paying
    • Full-board - Paying
    • Half-board - Paying
    • Restaurant Menu (Child) - Paying
    • Early Check-in (from 8am) - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 241
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: HARBOUR CITY (1.00 km)

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall - hotel reviews in Hamburg

Hotel code: 5395

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Comfortable hotel in the very center of Hamburg"

20th September 2013, parje60, Linkoping, Sweden

Central location near the Town Hall and Alster. Very close to shopping streets as Neuer Wall and Möncheberger Strasse. Large and very comfortable rooms with Nespresso coffe machine. Air condition. Good breakfast.

View management response »

Management responseDear parje60, thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel. Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Extremely noisy due to building site across the river!"

16th September 2013, Hanswurst2013, Munich, Germany

The hotel sold us a more expensive room knowing that they would be much more noisy due to a building site opposite the rooms. Deconstruction work starting at 7am even on a Saturday! The hotel mentioned that there is noise from a building site but when we asked whether this is also during the weekend the receptionist said no. We asked for a discount on the rooms or free taxi to the airport when we checked out but the staff was ridiculously inflexible even after consulting the manager! Be careful and ask for the building site before you do the booking!

View management response »

Management responseDear Hanswurst2013,thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one. We are really sorry that you were bothered by the noisy construction works opposite to the hotel. We do, as you and all our guests, hope that these works will be finished as soon as possible.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Hotel"

12th September 2013, 150Peter150, Stockholm

Sofitel in Hamburg is a pearl in the center of Hamburg' shopping district. The Service is high-class and the concierges have sincerely good recommendations for almost everything. Excellent hotel with the little extra... That makes your stay perfect.Sincerly yours Peter

View management response »

Management responseDear Peter, thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team; especially the colleagues from the concierge desk. Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience. Dear Peter, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Hamburg Weekend in Sofitel"

5th September 2013, theaterlover13, Germany

Great location and great rooms. Charging 29 € per person for the breakfast buffet is a bit over the top and parking at the hotel is not only expensive, but also not that easy as the garage is rather small.

View management response »

Management responseDear theaterlover13,thank you very much for having commented your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure it will serve as motivation to keep our high service standards.Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay. In addition I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 5.0 out of 5 stars "almost perfect"

4th September 2013, Simon H

I stayed for just one night on a business trip at this hotel and must say that even for this short stay I was extremely impressedI stay away a lot on business and like to stay in decent hotels on my own time tooThis hotel certainly rates among the best I have experienced in Europe (for a 'chain' hotel) in so far as the service and atmosphere seemed to strike exactly the right balance between formal efficiency with care for the customer while still retaining a relaxed atmosphere, So often I go to hotels where the staff seemed to show some sort of symptoms of 'over-training' or whatever it is which gives me the impression that they really aren't enjoying having to look after their customers (but lets face it- some customers can be quite difficult) but here I felt nothing of this- everything simply felt 'easy'I would really have liked to congratulate the manager for this accomplishment!I was also amazed on the great deal I got a the restaurant for my evening meal. The food was really delicious and the staff made me feel comfortable, but then when I saw the bill- I was for the first time ever amazed at how very reasonable the price was as there was a really good discount for residents !!I couldn't quite say the same for the breakfast- it was in truth a perhaps little expensive- but what a great selection of food!- again the staff were great, and I found the bacon nice and crispy- just how I like it (how did they know?)The hotel location is extremely convenient- a short walk to the shops or the docks, and really Hamburg is a very nice small town to visit for a short stay. I was on business so only had a couple of hours to walk around, but the atmosphere was very niceIn this case I have to say that I wasn't spending my own money on any of this, as it was a business trip- but the proof of all this- is that I was constantly thinking "wow - I really must come back on a private trip, maybe a weekend break with my wife to this hotel- she'd love it" So the place did make a genuinely good impressionMaybe the only thing that could have been improved is that I like to bring my own little filter coffee 'kit' on my travels - and make coffee in my room and relax a while working or watching TV. In this case there was no kettle for hot water, and I couldn't be asked to fuss around with room service or change out of my slippers to go down to the bar- so I'd like it if the room had some facilities like thiselse- great!

View management response »

Management responseDear Simon H,thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience. In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.Dear Simon H, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good location"

22nd August 2013, 11Bill2013, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Very good location near city centre. Quite expensive. Staff pleasant but a slight impersonal feel about the hotel. Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room for early morning. ........................

View management response »

Management responseDear 11Bill2013,thank you very much for taking some time to inform us about your opinion and your impressions of our hotel service.We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel. Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience. If you´ll book a luxury room or higher in future you´ll have a coffee maker in the room. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Not quite as good as reviewed, but still worth staying"

13th August 2013, mnot, Melbourne, Australia

I chose the Sofitel based upon many glowing reviews. It was very good, but didn't quite live up to the expectations that had been set.In particular, the bed was not particularly comfortable; the duvet was quite lumpy. The room was small and you're asked not to open the windows, lest "insects and spiders" get into the room. Furthermore, there were a few small errors (e.g., laundry that wasn't delivered) that shouldn't happen. The most glaring issue, however, is breakfast; 29 Euro for an overcooked omelet (one that I had to wait far too long for) and an otherwise very ordinary selection is far too much. I suspect I'd have much more positive things to say about the Sofitel if I hadn't been so disappointed in the breakfast.On the other hand, the hotel is very stylish, the staff are warm and pleasant, and the concierge gave us good recommendations. The lobby bar had very good food and cocktails. The location is indeed very good.

View management response »

Management responseDear mnot,thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay. Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experiences in our Breakfast restaurant which will help us to improve.If the soothing MyBed concept were not to your satisfaction, please let us know before your next arrival, so that we can remove the MyBed in order for you to sleep on a harder mattress.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Recommended"

9th August 2013, silvertop70, Sydney

Excellent hotel in all respects, including staff, room and public areas. Taxi from main station is necessary, but a short walk to U & S Bahn stations. Good, cheap breakfast just down the road. We can recommend this hotel.

View management response »

Management responseDear silvertop70, thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel. Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Great location but prefer not to stay there again!"

21st July 2013

Booked and stayed at the Sofitel for 10 nights in a Junior Suite. We had requested to be on higher floors but the hotel told us there was no availability, so we got put on the 1st floor. It was a little loud from the street. We would have thought that since we are staying for 10 nights, they would put us on higher floors or give us an upgrade.At first, everything seems good, but we start to notice the bathroom is pretty dirty especially growing mold in the shower. The daily cleaning and make-up services have not been consistent, we had to ask for toilet paper and shower gel a couple of times because they did not refill them.

View management response »

Management responseDear LifestyleTraveler99,thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. In order to take appropriate measures and prevent from future occurrence, I would be happy if you contact our quality manager in order to address additional details.( h5395-qm@sofitel.com)I am sorry to read that your room was cleaned only after your follow up or rather not perfectly. Kindly accept my sincere apologies. This is not our usual standard, and the Executive Housekeeper is informed.We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing, again"

4th July 2013, delucadesign, München, Deutschland

This has been my second stay in the Hamburg Sofitel and it was again a disappointment. The first time we had to wait until 6pm until they let us check in. The second time we had various staff members bursting into our room without knocking on the door. Also there were no bathrobes in our room and it took almost thirty minutes to get them delivered. The front desk did not seem to take our complaints seriously. Overall it's a nice and well located building but the service level wouldn't even deserve four stars.

View management response »

Management responseDear delucadesign,thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations, again; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one. Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experience with our service level which will help us to improve. We discussed the issue with the Executive Housekeeper in order to insist on our procedure how to enter a guest room. For your own convenience and privacy, do not hesitate to place the “Do not disturb” sign outside the door.We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.Sincerely,Gilles FelgenGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.