Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Germany Hotels > Berlin Hotels > Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Previous hotel
Discover Sofitel

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt hotel

Luxury Hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public indoor parking - Paying
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • Babysitting on request
    • Hammam
    • Sauna
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 92
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: GENDARMENMARKT (0.00 km)

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt - hotel reviews in Berlin

Hotel code: 5342

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Experience of 3 night stay"

20th September 2013, GerryWicklow, Dublin, Ireland

Usual Sofitel service levels - extremely courteous and professional staff in all functions. Front desk service excellent. Location excellent. Only issue pertains to air-conditioning system which appears centrally controlled based on season and so did not allow cooling on a particularly warm September day

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Luxury in Berlin"

14th September 2013, Anthony-Saltspring, Paris, France

A beautiful hotel with impeccable service and hospitality. A hotel that certainly works for business and pleasure located in a wonderful part of Berlin with many a superb restaurant on the doorstep. The hotel staff were ultra professional and very caring.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Peek a boo Loo"

4th August 2013, London, United Kingdom

Well appointed hotel in stylish part of Berlin (despite the underground works continuing just round the corner).Interesting arrangement of glass wall to bathroom so you can see and chat whilst on the loo.....could do with a curtain?Extremely pleasant and professional staff as usual with Sofitel. Very reasonable for this level of Hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel and thank you for recommending us.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneralManager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Just right for us"

4th August 2013, ERoberts2013, Cardiff, United Kingdom

The hotel is in a fantastic location. We thought it was fantastic value. The reception staff were really helpful. We were impressed with the restaurant as well. We stayed in Berlin during a heatwave and it was lovely to come back to air conditioned rooms each evening.

View management response »

Management responseIt was a joy for us to welcome you and I am glad to hear that you have had such an unforgettable experience with us.We look forward to welcoming you back!Au revoir,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "High in the sky"

31st July 2013, 8PeteS8, Warszawa

Staying in this hotel met (and partly exceeded) my expectations. Nice staff, clean rooms, great service. Nice rooms, interesting bathroom layout. Breakfasts deserve separate mentioning - it is something I never experienced before; the atmosphere, variety of food, fantastic choice of juices and fruit salads; you can order variety of egg dishes, pancakes, wafers. Fantastic. For the first time I really felt that breakfast is worth all the money I paid :-)Hotel location is great - in the nice part of Berlin; very close to U station. Reception was very nice to give me a room with a beautiful view to Gendarmenmarkt . Despite fraffic and number of restaurants it was quiet in the room. Room size was sufficient but could be a little bigger for this level of luxury hotel. Hotel has no owned parking but there is an underground parking just around the corner (50m) for a very attractive price 4,50EUR per day. So my 3 days cost me 13.50EUR! And, if you are afraid of driving down sharp corners You can ask the Reception to park your car for you. There is a hotel restaurant downstairs too. Nice food and prices are affordable.If I search for negatives there are just small things like air conditioning which will not cool your room down to 18 degrees - however I must say honestly that it is clearly written down on the AC controller - probably some eco restrictions - and I must say that the room temperature was comfortable enough; another is that for this level of luxury bathroom could have a bathtub.The only severe problem I had during my stay was an Internet failure and I could not do my business - Internet provider service went down and neither WiFi nor cable connection worked for more than 24 hours; could not connect to my VPN even longer. Well, bad luck :-)In general I fully recommend this hotel and please, take breakfast! :-)

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest, what else other than to say a big "thank you" for your very personal and detailed feedback. We look forward to being of service to all our guests who share our values.Warm regards from Berlin.Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good hotel but bad experience with the restaurant"

20th July 2013

We did not have a good experience with the restaurant. We were going to dine at the restaurant but left at the end. The worse part was even though we presented our complimentary voucher to the waiter after receiving our drink, a restaurant staff chased us into the Hotel lobby and accused us of not paying the bill.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.I am truly sorry that you had difficulties using the complimentary drink voucher at the bar. There was possibly a misunderstanding.All our Ambassadors are always prepared to assist you in any matter that might come up during your stay. We hereby apologize most sincerely for the not satisfying service and the inconvenience this incident may have caused to you during your stay with us.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Location, location, location"

16th July 2013, WaltS268, Sacramento, California, USA

Overlooking the charming and historic Gendarmenmarkt, our room made us feel special. The room was stylish and comfortable and the view outstanding. The hotel honored my request for a Gendarmenmarkt, rather than a courtyard, view. The hotel is just blocks away from Unter den Linden (unfortunately pretty thoroughly torn up by construction) and within walking distance (if you are willing to walk 15-20 minutes) of the Museum Insel, Brandenburger Tor, Reicshtag, many restaurants and other tourist sites. For getting to spots further afield, two U-Bahn stations are within a block. While initially the Konzerthaus on the Gendarmenmarkt was blocked off because of a concert series, by the end of our stay the bleachers and fences were gone, and this iconic Berlin/European square opened up. Tegel Airport is 25-30 minutes, 21 Euro cab fare awayStaff was very helpful in dinner suggestions and other advice.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin again. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneralManager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent Trip!"

15th July 2013, Choukie2007

Loved being here!Enjoyed the lifeis magnifique!The concierge service is excellent!I enjoyed the restaurant aigner it is excellent.The breakfast is extra! and the service is nice too!Enjoyed your stay!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin again. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. I forwarded your feedback to our concierge Nicolai and to the restaurant Aigner.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneralManager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Hotel"

8th July 2013, Pookymalooky, Monte-Carlo, Monaco

there is nothing to fault this hotel on. it is perfect for all needs. The staff are exceptional.The beds were extremely comfortable & the appointment of the bathroom was first class, as was the shower power.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin again. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneralManager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Warmth in Berlin"

27th June 2013, Stockholm

Both the weather and the staff provided us with warmth! The hotel had a terrific location overviewing the cahtolic cathedral and the concert hall. A lot of music was heard from the park! The rooms were elegantly decorated.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin again. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneralManager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great location, value for money, and comfort!"

20th February 2013, Paris

I'm a big fan of the Accor brands and therefore chose the hotel. While I didn't stay long, I was happy about the location (easy to walk around), the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the rooms, and the gym and sauna. I hope to go back!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 4.0 out of 5 stars "2 Day Business stop in Berlin"

12th February 2013, carrotman59, Norwich, United Kingdom

Perfect hotel for myself and two work colleagues. Met all our needs in terms of comfort and great concierge and reception backup for travel around Berlin. Good location for a leisure weekend away as well.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the postive review of our hotel.We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin,Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Terrible service, and below average standards for the Sofitel"

14th January 2013, Stobinator, Sydney, Australia

We recently stayed for 3 nights in the Sofitel Berlin, and have to say it was the worst hotel experience of our month holiday. We would NEVER stay at a Sofitel again. Firstly, the internet was unavailable in the room we were allocated, and when we complained, we were offered no solution. We required internet for work, so we insisted they call the manager who was on holidays. We were eventually given a new room, which was a downgrade - 2 single beds (vs. a king bed we had in the last room), no view, and a smaller room. Further to that, the internet continued to drop out, and we had 2 bars at best of reception. We were charged for the internet despite it not working, and were still charged for our King size room, despite the room downgrade (as we had pre-paid). Staff were rude; and we hated the experience. Never again!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.I am truly sorry that you had difficulties using the free wireless internet in your room. There is possibly a misunderstanding, but we do not charge for low band WIFI. I hope that next time you will give us the chance to explain and help to find a good solution for you.All our Ambassadors are always prepared to assist you in any matter that might come up during your stay, provided that you allow us to help you. We hereby apologize most sincerely for the not satisfying service and the inconvenience this incident may have caused to you during your stay with us.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Top Notch Berlin Hotel"

7th January 2013, nbm94133, San Francisco, California, USA

I recently stayed six nights at the Sofitel Gendarmenmarkt, over New Years and the first week of January. My experience could not have been better. Service at the hotel in all regards is first rate, helpful and friendly. The hotel has the best breakfast buffet of any I have experienced in Germany. Great gym and spa. Best of all is the location--central to all major museums, great restaurants, Brandenburg Gate. I walked from the hotel to most places I wanted to visit. I intend to stay here on all future trips to Berlin. Great hotel!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visits will be as pleasant as the previous one.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Sofitel, Gendarmenmarkt, Berlin"

5th December 2012, Druhi, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Other than the room I had being slightly smaller than I'd ideally like, I could not fault the Sofitel in any way. The staff were exemplary, the room spotless, the bed extremely comfortable and the location, for me, perfect. Soundproofing and blackout curtains made for a very comfortable night.I also ate dinner at Aigner restaurant in the hotel. Here too, I could not fault the food or service.I was there only one night but would have no hesitation about returning or recommending thehotel to anyone.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.Thank you very much for staying with us.We hope to see you in near future.Sincerely,Tina SenfterGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.