Hotel addressRio Castanos, 2
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 43° 17' 12.21'' W 2° 59' 53.73''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+34)94/4184700
- Fax. (+34)94/4373743
Recently viewed hotels
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center - hotel reviews in Bilbao
Hotel code: 5218
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
24th September 2012
Considering this is the only international hotel around the BEC, the room rate was reasonable.Public areas are OK and staff friendly but I was almost scared to walk on the carpet leading to my room - it looked alive!Public transport access is awful so only option is to get ripped off by a taxi - 10€ for 1.4km.Bienvenido a Bilbao!View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy that you appreciated the staff attitude and the hotel rate. Concerning your remark about the cleanliness of the carpet, I pass it to our housekeeper in order to keep improving in our level of cleanliness. About your comments regarding the situation of the public transport around the hotel, let me point out that the distance to the metro station, is not more than 20 minutes walk from it; buses to and from Bilbao city center are 5 mitutes walk away. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center in the near future.”We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center very soon.
"Surprise location Novotel in Barakaldo"
25th July 2012, Veltkamp, Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Top location to visit Bilbao with the family. Spacious and clean rooms, swimming pool with life guard, outlet shopping, restaurants and bars around the corner and only 15 minutes to downtown Bilbao!The free entrance to the Guggenheim museum was an additional bonus!View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your recent family stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy to know that you had a nice stay and you appreciated our hotel service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center very soon.
"Great experience in Bilbao"
17th July 2012, Vaasa
Helpfull English-speaking staff. Hotel has secure indoor parking and is near the metro. It also has a good outdoor pool. Really good, rich breakfast. Rooms were clean. It has a beautiful lobby with a plenty of room to relax or enjoy the bar area. Free Wifi internet in every room. Nearby big shopping center. We were extremely satisfied with the two rooms connected to each ohter; it was very suitable for a family.View management response »
Management responseThank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am delighted to know that you had a nice stay and you appreciated our hotel service and facilities. Be sure, I'll pass your kind comments to our staff members.Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
"An excelelnt place to stay"
15th July 2012, Lot et Garonne
This is the second time we have stayed at the Novotel Barakaldo and we like it as it has secure parking and is near the metro. It also has a pool for when the weather is good. It often offers 'City Breaks' which we find to eb excellent.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am delighted to know that you have visited us for the second time and again, you have had a nice stay with us. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center very soon.
"Before leaving Bilbao"
21st May 2012, simji, Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
I planned to drop by Bilbao to go to France from Spain.I was arrived late night. Parking lot was not easy to find one time. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good. When I asked a good place in Bilbao, Hotel staff answered with a map.Gugenheim museum was in the city! But it was Monday...it was closed.View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy that you had a nice stay and you appreciated the service and facilities proposed by the hotel.I look forward to welcoming you again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center soon.
"Excellent pre Ferry Stop"
21st April 2012, AndJon, Wakefield, United Kingdom
We were on our way to the ferry terminal so the location, omly 15 minutes away was ideal and as it is west of Bilbao we were able to avoid the heavy congestion of traffic coming into the city in the morning. The hotel is easy to find if you stick to the A8, we made a mistake by choosing the new road which tunnels behind Bilbao.The hotel itself is modern and pleasant, right by teh exhibition centre. Staff were efficient, helpful and courteous with excellent English. The room was clean, warm and comfortable.View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for your postive feedback concerning your stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I look forward to welcoming you again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center soon.
14th September 2011, Southampton, United Kingdom
I thought the service was poor.In the lift, the notice confirmed that breakfast was being served until 11am. When we went to breakfast at 10.05am we were told that they have finished breakfast, despite people still eating. When we complained we were told that the notices hadn't been updated.We also requested a room on a lower floor - as my wife doesn't like lifts. However we end up with a floor on the seventh floor - which you had to get a lift to as the stairs only went to the sixth floor. We did change rooms after complaining - and were given a room on the fourth floor, so we could use the stairs. However the stairs didn't have any lighting so we had to use the light on our phones!View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I apologize for the inconvenience you faced because the information of the Restaurant timetable hadn't been updated on time. Concerning your accommodation, I guarantee you that our reception team did the best to provide a suitable room for you on a low floor, but, as our 1st and 2nd floors are smoking and the 3rd floor was fully booked, the best solution was the room they proposed on the 4th floor. On the other hand, I am surprised you could not find any light on the stairs to your room, since they are always on, because they are our emergency exits. Besides, I would like to inform you that our stairs do not stop on the 6th floor, they continue till the 7th floor.I thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center soon.
"Great Hotel for an Overnight"
15th July 2011, Falkirk
Stopped off here on our way to the south of Spain. It's a bit out of the centre of Bilbao but if you are only stopping overnight it's perfect. As our son is in a wheelchair we were allocated a very spacious room with a massive adapted bathroom. The bar and reatuarant were very nice. Kid's got a cuddly toy and a Chupa Chup at reception which went down very well. Minor niggle is that 15 Euros for parking is very expensive. 5 - 10 Euros would be more realistic. We will definately use this hotel again.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. All comments are taken into consideration and help us improve our level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
"Novotel Barakaldo Bilbao"
14th May 2011, Lichfield
Stayed at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Centre for 1 night before catching the ferry to Portsmouth. Ferry terminal only 15 minutes from the hotel, and relatively easy to find. The hotel also has secure underground parking.Reception were friendly and the superior room that we had booked was typical Novotel standard except that it had a bth and separate walk in shower. Unfortunately the shower had no tray to put soap or shampoo which spoiled it for a very low cost saving. Novotels in Spain still do not have face cloths, so the bidet towels are used instead which actually means more work for laundry.Tea/coffee facilities are there, with 2 paper cups. A quick trip to the bar for 2 tea cups. No ice facilities so another trip to the bar for a bucket of ice.Ate in the restaurant which was actually of a very high standard. Worth a visit.The hotel is actually adjacent to a large range of shops which might interest people. There are also many fast food outlets such as MuckDonalds.Highly recommended as a relatively low cost hotel.View management response »
Management responseFirst of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am glad to read that you had a good stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Regarding the paper cups and ice, I would like to advise you that is in accordance to Novotel policies, however I shall pass your comments to our marketing department in order to take them into consideration for further developments of our hotels. Once again, thank you very much for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back into our hotel.
"Small sofa for kids"
1st May 2011, Lisboa
Novotel Barakaldo offers a good place to rest and star exploring the "Pais Basco".Howerver when travelling with young kids (3 and 7) Novotel Barakaldo has now the policy of offering 2nd room at Half price, wich would not be necessary if the sofa would be a bigger one like in others Novotels.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your positive comments regarding your stay in our hotel. As you mention, we are aware of the handicap we have with the size of the sofa-bed for the children, that is why we offer different alternatives to our guests, one of them is the possibility to book an extra room at 50% of the rate of the first room. Once again thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them with us.
"There is no point is there ??"
14th January 2011, Alicante
What is the point of booking, making a reuest, checking the request and then getting an email saying "no problem" to get to the hotel and find that the disabled room with adjoining door is not available - maybe not a huge point but when you need to care for someone throught the night using mobile phones and hotel corridors are not fun.The Receptionist didnt have a clue and must have said "sorry" a hundred times which made it even more grinding....we have a favorite guest card so if this is how favorite guests are looked after then the rest better watch out, we only stayed in Bilbao as Novotel didnt have a hotel in Santander...in future we wont bother with the Accor brand unless we have to.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. After investigating with my team, I have found out that there was a complete misunderstanding with your request and we thought that what you needed were adjoining rooms instead of connecting rooms. That is the reason why we confirmed your request by email. Unfortunately, we do not have such type of room distribution in our and this is why we could not provide them to you during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience we may have caused you. Thank you once again for giving us your feedback as this is the only way for us to increase guest satisfaction in the future.