Hotel - Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Bismarckstr. 48-50 
45128  ESSEN
GERMANY

491 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 491 reviews
Check Prices
Best price guarantee
From
From 79.00 EUR Non member rate
From 75.05 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Check Prices
Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in your room
  • Parking
    • Public indoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Nearby)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 11  EUR
  • Indoor heated pool

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in your room
  • Parking
    • Public indoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Nearby)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 11  EUR
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • Spanish
    • French
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Currency exchange

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Solarium  (Nearby)
  • Pedal boat
  • Other sports activities
    • Jogging track
    • Karting facilities (Nearby)
    • Skating rink (Nearby)
    • Squash court (Nearby)
  • Skiing (Nearby)
    • Downhill skiing (Nearby)
    • Ski hire facilities (Nearby)

Catering

  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

At the 4-star Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, you can choose between Standard, Superior and Privilege Rooms as well as Suites with a private terrace. We also have 2 specially adapted rooms for people with reduced mobility. The 132 rooms are air-conditioned andhave WIFI and DSL access. Two children up to the age of 16 can stay free of charge in your room. Your pet is also welcome to stay for a charge of EUR 11 per night.

  • 132 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • Pulse air
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Free access with phone card
    • Crib on request
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Our customer reviews for Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating4.0/5 Based on 491 reviews
AlainWanderings 2017/03/10
« DISASTER »

I arrived at the hotel at 21:30 to be told that I did not have a booking and that the hotel was full. I was told in certain terms that I was wrong. Then it was explained that I did have a reservation, until 18:30 - at which time it was cancelled (and re-sold). I was told in certain terms that this was clear at time of booking, that I was a fool, and that I did not have a valid booking. THEN I SHOWED THE STAFF THE APP SHOWING A VALID, LIVE, (Green ticks) BOOKING. Conclusion - DONT BOOK ACCORD HOTELS ON THE APP: IT SAYS YOU HAVE A BOOKING BUT YOU DON'T.

Paul S 2017/02/05
« Great hotel with great bar »

Great hotel, great location and fantastic little bar. The barman in particular is excellent - great service and great personality. Warm and friendly. The Essen team all delivered on their promises and were happy to help

Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. Special thanks for mention our excellent bar man who always is a Host by heart. We hope to welcomming you again.

AleRie1 2016/04/08
« Dsabled room »

The hotel was acceptable as service but Room toilette is a shame,after 10 second of shower the toillette is flloded and the water last days if not pulled away manually. I will not stay there again,not worth the money...

Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear AleRie1. Thank you for taking your time to rate us on tripadvisor. We are sorry for any inconvience during your stay at our Hotel. We had balanced the ground so the water in the disabled-room is now going directly to the waste pipe. Best regards. Margret Lickfeld

222Peter_B222 2016/04/03
« Most friendly & helpfull staff »

what me most stayed is the staff: very friendly and most helpful. Hotel setting, rooms, B'fast is what you can expect from a Novotel: good. I missed coffee and tee amenities in my room (which was even upgraded. Swimming pool and sauna are shred with a retirement home. all recently refurbished, but a bit strange... nevertheless, nice facility mgmt.

Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are delighted that you have stayed with us and you have taken the time to tell us about your stay in our hotel. From our hearts, we thank you for your positive reviews in the service and quality. We will pass it immediately to all employees. That you have the warmth and friendliness of our staff particularly well rated, very honored. Thank you also for your personal words an appreciation related. Dear guest, tell us your review and comments give us the opportunity to work on our quality and service, promptly. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. With best wishes Margret Lickfeld Manager Operation

PeNor 2015/11/01
« Mercure Plaza Essen »

Hotel is a little off the city centre but still walkable from the main train station. Very convernient to the Philharmonie. Very friendly staff and a good, clean room. Breakfast is far too expensive. No restaurant in the hotel.

Margret L, Manager at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear PeNor. First of all thank you for taking part at the guest satisfaction survey on trip advisor. We are pleased that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel and that you were very satisfied with the cleanliness and our friendly staff. During your next stay plaese ask our friendly staff at the reception for recommendations of restaurants. There are a lot of different restaurants and bars nearby. We hope to welcomming you again. Sincerely

Volvo164 2015/06/28
« Watch up, along street with heavy traffic »

Stayed two nights. When you book and pay on the web there is a lottery with 50/50 risc if you will get a room along the main street with heavy traffic or a calm room onto the yard side. And by the information on-line you can´t tell which side you are booking on. We got our rooms on the first floor next to the street. The AC wasn´t working in any of our two rooms so it was like a sauna, and we couldn´t have the windows open due to the noice from the heavy traffic The breakfast is ok but could benefit from fresh squeezed juice and some more bread types. Firm beds and srange pillows, like a stuffed tube. The entrance also easysily gets stucked by vehicles due to only one lane, we had to wait 15 minutes with our car for a parked bus in front of us that wouldn´t leave, even thou the passengers already sat in it.

DVW2014 2015/04/15
« Near Museum Folgwang/Philharmonie »

About 10 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof but next to the Folkwang Art Museum and short walk to the Philharmonie music venue. Was surprised to Restaurant and Swimming Pool accessed via adjoining Retirement Home

Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you that you were our guest home this year and have taken the time to let us have a vote . Now the year coming to an end and gives us reason to pause once to consider past and future , memory and expectation , existing and new, but also to plan in common. Thank you for the good cooperation and for the trust they have placed . For 2016 we wish you success and happiness in all areas and walks of life ! For the New Year a lot of joy , good health and success ! We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Your team from the Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen Margret Lickfeld Manager operation

HJR-Holland 2013/07/31
« OK-ish... »

Was put in a room for smokers without being asked beforehand. It's 2013. Wifi is free everywhere, even McDonalds. Then why do you need to pay extra in a 4-star hotel? That is really unneccesary. Parking fee astronomical. Room good though, and breakfast was OK

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 79.00 EUR Non member rate
From 75.05 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 1.3 km ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof Hotel
From
From 65.00 EUR Non member rate
From 65.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 3.5 km ibis budget Essen Nord
ibis budget Essen Nord
From
From 40.00 EUR Non member rate
From 40.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 9.5 km ibis Gelsenkirchen
ibis Gelsenkirchen Hotel
From
From 60.00 EUR Non member rate
From 57.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 11 km Mercure Hotel am Centro Oberhausen
Mercure Hotel am Centro Oberhausen
From
From 69.00 EUR Non member rate
From 62.10 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in ESSEN
Check Prices