Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Manchester Hotels > ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Previous hotel
Discover ibis

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street hotel

Budget hotel for business and leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • CERTIFIED SUSTAINABLE-ISO 14001
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public indoor parking - Paying
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 7
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • ibis innovation : new bedding for absolute comfort
  • Number of rooms: 127
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: MANCHESTER (0.80 km)

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street - hotel reviews in Manchester

Hotel code: 3142

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Great locaton, lovely staff, rubbish air-con."

25th September 2013, JimmyPage78, Todmorden, United Kingdom

A great hotel, unfortunately the room temperature was way to hot. The staff were really helpful with fans and offering a different room but it was just too warm. If true air conditioning was installed I would return as everything else was spot on. If you like a room at 22 - 25c with no fresh air then look no further.

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Happy"

11th September 2013, SOul480, Manchester, United Kingdom

We booked into the Hotel for 2 nights, our room was clean, spacious, the staff were very helpful and the location was ideal in the centre of Manchester. The only hiccup was the first night of our stay there was a couple of idiots outside on the landing in the early hours, having a very loud arguement waking people up. We would stay again.

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Value for Money"

8th September 2013, heather488, Manchester, United Kingdom

This Ibis was perfect for our trip. Room was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly use Ibis again and Manchester is a city well worth a visit. Lots to see and do and the bars and restaurants are brilliant.

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 1.0 out of 5 stars "budget"

4th September 2013

We knew this was a budget IBIS hotel, but didn't realise just how budget it was. Perhaps it was just the floor we were on (1st floor) but the room had stains on the walls, only one towel, no body wash/soap in the shower. It was pretty dire. Some guys were having a bit of a party in the corridor and there were empty alcohol bottles dotted around the floor. It had the feeling of a hostel. When I checked in they made me make a payment of 1 penny. I don't care about the cost, but thought this odd. We paid over £70 for the room and thought it wasn't worth this much.

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing stay"

3rd September 2013, royalocean, London, United Kingdom

I have stayed many times at this hotel and have found it to offer good value and a great night's stay. This trip I was very disappointed. A group of party-goers checked in on my last night and spent the early part of the evening running along the corridors, shouting profanities. I called reception at 10.30pm and the duty manager said she would sort things out. All was quiet for 20 minutes or so, and then the noise started again. I called again to complain at 1.30 am and the night manager, Francis, visited the floor to try to sort things out. Again, the noise stopped - for another 20 minutes - and then the frolics began again. I had to set off for work at 5.30am and hadn't had a wink of sleep. The hotel's 15-minute service promise was certainly not met - and to add insult to injury, the check-in manager disputed my Accor Gold card accreditation.

ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Manchester Pride Weekend"

29th August 2013, rprobson, London, United Kingdom

As a seasoned traveler and an Accor Club card member, I use Accor Hotels a lot, all over Europe. We initially chose the IBIS Hotel, Portland Street, Manchester for it's location so that we didn't need to have to travel too far each day. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for Canal Street and City Centre.IBIS beds have recently been upgraded and this is very noticeable - it's just a pity that in doing so, Accor Hotels didn't feel the drive to upgrade the room interiors and bathrooms at the same time. The fixtures & fittings are dated and (at least in our room) damaged.The housekeeping staff are excellent.The breakfast and the reception staff (who also appeared to double up as restaurant brigade) were the worst of this experience to be honest and this is something that IBIS need to seriously focus on improving.Price consideration - incredibly expensive for a budget hotel IMHO. Excluding breakfast, at £105 for Friday and Sunday evenings, this was too expensive for the quality of hotel and star rating (2* I believe). On Saturday evening we paid £165 for the same room. This is Manchester! I wouldn't pay this in London - so was shocked to have to pay this in Manchester - it would appear that IBIS got greedy selling sub-standard accommodation and even lower standard breakfast, over the Manchester Pride weekend - Shame on Accor hotels.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and my colleagues failing to impress you during your breakfast. At the ibis we always strive to improve and your feedback is very valuable to us. Our pricing during this prestigious event was definitely higher than our usual weekend's, however still it was half of what other hotels were charging in the same location as we are always try to offer value for money to our guests. Once again thank you for your review and I hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future again to welcome you back in Manchester and to impress you with with our usual high standards.Kind regards Ioannis Koletakis General Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.