Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Dominican Republic Hotels > Santo Domingo Hotels > Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
Previous hotel
Discover MGallery

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Boutique hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
See : the photos  | the videos in association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • CERTIFIED SUSTAINABLE-ISO 14001
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • Outdoor unheated pool
    • Golf course 18 holes - Paying - Nearby
    • Tennis - Nearby
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 104
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: COLONIAL TOWN (0.01 km)

Hotel address

Calle Las Damas
Cuidad Colonial
10211 SANTO DOMINGO
DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 18° 28' 28.26'' W 69° 52' 58.79'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection - hotel reviews in Santo Domingo

Hotel code: 2975

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Hostal Nicolas de Ovando, Santo Domingo"

22nd September 2013

An excellent hotel - one of the best in the Caribbean for ambiance and service. The restaurant is excellent and you can tell that the staff have been properly trained to a high professional standard. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Santo Domingo.One small point; for a business traveller such as myself, a properly equipped business centre would be a plus.

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "The best hotel in the Colonial part of Santo Domingo"

9th August 2013, Antwerpen, Belgium

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was very helpful, the location was perfect to visit the old town on foot, the breakfast buffet was very complete, and the bar very enjoyable. We also enjoyed the swimming pool and the grand atmosphere of the place, that used to be a palace once. Our room was not very big (rather small) and the pillows too soft to our liking (could not be changed) but the bathroom was very big and the airco very quiet. No minor points, except maybe the noice of the mill across from the river but that is not something the hotel is responsible for, and you get used to it. It is generally too hot to open windows anyway. We very much liked this hotel and would certainly recommend it, both to business travellers as to families.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback wether it's negatif or positive.I'm very surprised about your breakfast experience at our restaurant La Résidence, which is, I can assure you not an habit in our hotel and doesn't reflect our standards of service.Be ensured that I will personally handle this matter with the team to get the things in the right way and that your feedback will help us to correct our failures and get better as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. As well as for the pool incident you are totally right and I will adress this matter immediatly.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and I really hope to welcome you personally for your next visit and make it fully satisfying.Sincerely, Erwan DAUSSYDirector of Food & Beverage
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Location, location, location!"

31st July 2013, sailguy2013, Ft. lauderdale

A genuine gem, a rare find where old world charm meets contemporary standards. My girlfriend and I would certainly stay here again when in Santo Domingo. If you like to walk or stroll the old city this is an excellent place to base your wanderings. We Highly recommend the Nicholas Ovando. See Jose or Carmen to plan your tour of the " Ciudad Primivera"!

View management response »

Management responseIs an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.Yours sincerely,Thomas SimonnetGerente General
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Impressive hotel but disapointing restaurant"

19th February 2013, YofromParis, Paris, France

Very nice hotel, in one of the most beautiful building of the historical part of Santo Domingo. Rooms with direct access to the pool patio are nevertheless noizy (music from the bar until late and client discussions far from being discreet). High level of service for the hotel part (cocktail while checking, lugages unpacking) but disappointing restaurant (2 hours for a main course and dessert, no appetizer if not taking introductory course).

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback wether it's negative or positive.I'm very surprised about your experience at our restaurant La Résidence, which is, I can assure you it is not an habit in our hotel, and doesn't reflect our standards of service.Be sure that I will personally handle this matter with my team and that your feedback will help us to correct our failures and get better as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.In case you will be coming to Santo Domingo please do let me know about your arrival and I will have the pleasure to welcome you in person.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope your next visit will be make fully satisfied.Sincerely, Erwan DAUSSYDirector of Food & Beverage
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Stay in Nicola Ovando Hotel in Santo Domingo"

10th January 2013, PM2013, Miami Beach, Florida, USA

The room was cold and a little dark (I understand it helps fight the heat in the summer). The major drawback is the factory across the river which is noisy most of the day and the cruise ships or Ferries also right in front of the swimming pool which are smelly and noisy.Breakfast was very fine. I am a frenchman, expatriate in the US, and I felt that there were too many french clients with some of the unpleasant snobbery and also it did not feel as much of a vacation for this reason. On the other hand, that made for less noisy people, like some other nationals might be.The staff was very nice and yet totally unobtrusive, which gave a sense of freedom to the guest, as if we were in our own home, but a nicer home than ours!The concierge on the first day was not very pleasant, but the next day the lady who was concierge was very nice. However, as we had not prepared this trip, we might have used a little more advice on what to do, including the less classically tourist-stuff.Otherwise a beautiful, spacious hotel, a stlish decoration in tune with the colonial athmosphere of the city.

View management response »

Management responseI appreciate the time you’re taking on comment about you’re stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. We will consider you’re comments on the noise and the serviceI assure you that we will take the necessary measures in order to better serve the service, and avoid such confusion.I hope to welcome you back to our hotel, and take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience, yours faithfully. Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Exceed all expectations...even the second time around!"

29th November 2012, SantoDomingoVisitors, Chicago, Illinois, USA

The location of the hotel - not to mention the building itself - is unparalleled. However, this is only the beginning. The staff, from check-in through check-out (which for us involved late check-out + luggage storage), is extremely professional and thoughtful. We felt like royalty upon entering our room to an awaiting treat of fresh fruit, chocolate and cigars. The rooms have every amenity that a guest might need. We had a toddler with us this time, and the hotel bent over backward to spoil him. This thwarted his tantrums, at least temporarily! Both my husband and I had business to do during our stay, and the in-room wireless as well as the business center are very convenient. To us, this is the only place to stay in Santo Domingo and we will definitely return.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.Sincerely,Thomas SimonnetGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good But Not Great"

23rd September 2012, dbp23

Checking in was the biggest pain. Doing it online was difficult especially when changes were required. I had to add a night and it wouldn't let you add to your current reservation. You needed to book the additional night separately with a different confirmation. Made check in and check out a pain.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.I will take into consideration your comments, but when you make a reservation by the web with a special rate, the front desk can not modify it. ; please note that your feedback is very important to us. I can rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems.We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.Sincerely,Thomas SimonnetGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 3.0 out of 5 stars "DR trip memorial day"

2nd June 2012, Harlem500, New York City, New York, USA

This is one of the best hotels in Santo Domingo but it could use some freshening. The staff was excellent, Julia was perfect at the front desk

View management response »

Management responseIs an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services. Julia an all of the team of the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando will receive your nice feedback about us.I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.Yours sincerely,Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Classy"

5th May 2012, Ambrose328, San Francisco, California, USA

Excellent hotel, a truly great experience. Has a feel of the colonial era and seems rich with history, but couples that seamlessly with all the trappings of modernity (wifi, flat-screens, etc...). One of the biggest plusses for me was what comes included in the rate - wifi is free, welcome fruit plate and fruit punch, tons of water bottles. Very rare you see a hotel of this caliber not charge for such niceties these days, so well done there. Only negative is that one of the receptionists was quite abrupt and did not seem to want to help with a couple of requests with the room - she was not Dominican however and perhaps came from another hotel. Aside from that the service across the board was impeccable. If we're back in Santo Domingo, we will CERTAINLY stay here again.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for letting us know about your experience in the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We work in order to make the stay of our guests pleasant, elegant, full of history and modern at the same time.I will talk with the Reception's supervisor to check and clear what happened with the manage of your requests during your stay in the hotel. Be sure that the entire team of Hostal Nicolás de Ovando is in constant training to offer the best quality in our services specially in cases like this.The Hostal Nicolas de Ovando's doors are open to you when you want to come back and I'm at your disposal for everything you need.Sincerely yours,Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "my comments"

30th April 2012, prophalab, pap

Food taste was lacking at the room service.Could not found bellboy to pick up my luggages when I was checking out

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando, is interesting to know the opinion of our guests.I going to talk with the F&B manager to check your suggestion about the room service and the Concierge to check about what happened with the bell boy in that moment. Please accept our apologizes.Hoping that you can give us the opportunity to serve you again and offer the best service a quality.Sincerely,Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Honeymoon Hotel"

16th February 2012, Chicago, IL, USA

I wish we could have stayed longer! It was a very elegant experience. The room was filled with rose petals and fresh fruit for our honeymoon night. The robes were cozy and the slippers were comforting after a long wedding day. I loved staying here.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thanks for letting us know about your great experience in the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando, is very interesting read your words about how the amenities in your room on your honeymoon day made ​​you felt very happy and stress free. Our team works every day so that our guests have an unforgettable stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando.I wish you the best in this new year 2012.Sincerely,Thomas SIMONNET General Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Seeing Santo Domingo"

3rd February 2012, York, United Kingdom

Great location at the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo. The history of the building and its place in world history, makes it a special place. Friendly and support staff make you very welcome. We stayed in one double room and our granddaughter in another. Both rooms were of a very high standard, but I thought the contempory room lacked the personal touch. Excellent internet facilities.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for the nice comment you wrote us, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. Also thanks for letting us know your views about contemporary touch, is always good to know the suggestions of our guests.Hoping your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.Yours sincerely,Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "A great place to stay"

25th January 2012, Don-Godo, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

The hotel retains it's colonial charm, and is located in the heart of the colonial district, within steps of restaurants, sightseeing, etc. The rooms are very nice, down to the smallest details...even the amenities are top rate (Roger & Gallet).

View management response »

Management responseIs an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous. Yours sincerely,Thomas SIMONNETGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.