Hotel address14 rue de la Sorbonne
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 48° 50' 57.02'' E 2° 20' 34.82''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+33)1/56243434
- Fax. (+33)1/56241960
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne - hotel reviews in Paris
Hotel code: 2897
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
20th December 2012, idepedia, Jakarta, Indonesia
The hotel located in a very good location.It closed to city center, you can have lots of cafes around and you can start your journey of city tour & sightseeing not far away from this hotelDefinitely a very good location!
"Great Hotel !"
8th September 2012, Dutch379, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Not only a perfect location near Sorbonne, M-stop Cluny, Maubert or Odeon, the hotel has also the best beds we have ever experienced in Paris so far. And after a day stroll you certainly need that. The staff was really attent (broken shower fixed on a Sunday), coffee and tea available in your room, very quiet room (we slept until 10:30, try that in Centre Paris!)
"Didnt turn up"
4th September 2012, Birdy1003, North Petherton, United Kingdom
This was booked as an anniversary gift for my wife for November. before booking I checked and double checked the dates to ensure it was booked correctly. Imagine my horror when I recived an E-Mail to ask how our stay was in August!!! The days 20th to the 23rd were correct but the month was wrong!!!I have contacted customer support who have told me that I have to take it up with the hotel directly as it was a prepaid room rate. Ok so I telephone the hotel who tell me to E-Mail them with the details so that it can be looked into. Guess what, I have not had a response. I am concerned that this company is not worried about the customer once they have their money and will not be using the hotel in the future in case I am left £300 pounds out of pocket again!!! You have been warned.
"Another guest had a late checkout at my expense!"
27th August 2012
On arrival at the hotel at 14.40hrs we attempted to check-in (available for 12.00hrs) and were told that a loyalty card holder had requested a late check out at 15.00hrs and the guest was still in our room! As a loyalty card holder myself I was a little confused as I was paying for the room and another guest was enjoying a longer stay at the hotel at my expense! We asked if there were any other similar rooms available and were sneered at by the gentleman on reception when we said we didn't want a disabled room (as it turned out this room was twin not a double as we had booked). I asked if there were any cheaper rooms avaialble (we had booked a triple for the extra space) but were told we would have to pay the rate of booking there and then at the hotel which would cost us more than we had paid for out triple! I asked if they could offer the same rate as the Internet when I booked our room and they would not do this...as it transpired there were no double rooms avaiable anyway! We were told to go away - we could buy a drink at the hotel bar or go and come back. As we were not offered a drink at the hotel bar for our inconvenience we chose to spend our money elsewhere! We returned to the hotel at 15.45hrs and were greeted by another receptionist who informed us that our room was still not ready and the guest had not left - and - could we go away and come back again! As we were only in Paris for 1 night and leaving at 12.00hrs the next morning we were very disappointed to be given this news and not being able to shower, change and explore the delights of Paris in the afternoon as we had planned and explained this to the receptionist. Another gentleman (who we think must have been the manager) intervened (not addressing us himself) and suddently a triple room was available and we were given a room at 16.10hrs. Obviously ths totally ruined our plans for the afternoon and spoilt our short visit to Paris. The hotel itself was small but in a good location within close proximity to places of interest. The room was small but functional - however it is impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom!Or checkout went smoothly and the receptionist kindly booked a taxi to take us to the train station. It is such a shame that we were treated with such disregard on our arrival and feel that this hotel lets down the Accor and Mercure brand (of which we have stayed in many hotels before) and we will certainly think twice before booking with Accor again.
"Convenient but Overpriced"
15th July 2012, Melbourne
The hotel is well positioned on the left bank within easy walking distance of the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens as well as many attractive restaurants. However,our room on the first floor was small and quite cramped for space. It was okay for an overnight but an extended stay would be a bit tedious. Breakfast in the basement was ordinary. Hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. Having stayed at a Novotel Hotel in Les Halles just three weeks earlier, the comparisons of quality, facilities and value for money were quite stark.
1st June 2012, WJamous, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
My Wife and I recently went to Paris for a conference. We selected this hotel based on location (in the Latin Quarter) and admittedly price, as it was 40% off. While the rooms were small. The large King sized bed was very comfortable. We had a small balcony overlooking the Sarbonne and despite the street view it was very quiet. The staff were all very friendly and accomidating. Most spoke English very well, and others (eg maids) may not have, but communication was not difficult. The breakfast buffet was extra, and while we could likely have gotten less expensive food elsewhere, it was nice to start the day with a good meal including sausage, eggs and pancakes along with a continental breakfast and other offerings. The hotel was situated very close to metro-lines (St.Michel-Notre Dame) and was within walking distance of the Notre Dame cathedral and lots of restaurants and shops in the Latin Quarter. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed Paris and this hotel was perfectly situated for our exploration and was great as the subway took me right to the conference centre at Place de la Congress.My only small complaint was that we chose a hotel with WiFi and while there was free WiFi available, it was very slow and needed a re-log in on my iphone and iPad every time I used it and sometimes even a couple of times a session. I did mention it to the front desk at the end of the visit, but they said no one else had had that problem.
22nd May 2012, Dino721, Dublin, Ireland
The hotel was clean, comfortable and well-located on a relatively quiet street. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were good. The room was a reasonable size by Paris standards but storage was minimal.
5th May 2012, VikingFarm, McLaren Vale, Australia
Location, location, location. You can't find a better place to stay. What you can't reach on foot, the Metro is only a few hundred meters away. Small rooms, but everything you need is there and the beds are very comfortable.Very good value for money.
4th April 2012
Excellent location right next to the Sorbonne but not on the main street. The service was very good and ste staff were freindly and helpful.The room was small but very clean and had a hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, tv (although no English channels) and a mini safe.Would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel.
"Perfect in every way"
5th March 2012, Bern, Switzerland
My daughter (aged 22) and I had 6 days in Paris and staying at the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne was the icing on the cake. The location in the Latin Quarter was perfect, close to many attractions, a choice of nearby metro stations, wide range of restaurants, supermarkets and shops, all within an easy walk. The room we stayed in was perfect and although small, it was extremely quiet and very comfortable.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,We are happy that you had a very nice stay in the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne. Thank you very much for your warm appreciation.Lucien SchwendenmannManager
13th February 2012, Helsinki, Finland
Room was rather small, but adequite. Bathroom was okay. Heating didn't work properly, couple of nights the room was freezing when it got back. Breakfast was good. Location was perfect for my stay. ..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................View management response »
Management responseDear Client,We are sorry that you have experienced some problems with the heating in your room. It is very unusual, as our system is working rather efficiently. The regulation remote control allows 3 powers of fan (low - medium - high), and includes a thermostat to select the desired temperature.Usually, during winter, our system provides easily low or strong heat on demand (same for air conditioning during summer), and we don't have regular complaints about the heating. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this dysfunction might have caused.If you intend to come back to Paris in the next future, please feel free to contact me personally. I would be pleased to take a special care about your comfort.Best regards,Lucien SchwendenmannManager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.