Hotel address345 The Terrace
How to reach the hotelGPS :S 41° 17' 36.72'' E 174° 46' 10.29''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+64)4/3859829
- Fax. (+64)4/3852119
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Wellington - hotel reviews in Wellington
Hotel code: 1991
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
5th March 2013, annabellewis, Christchurch, New Zealand
Great value hotel, although dated and rough around the edges, the staff and service are always excellent. Well suited for a family of 4 since kids stay and eat for free with paying parents. The pool and sauna are a bonus. It is a quick walk to all the action in town and only a 20 min taxi ride to the airport.View management response »
Management responseDear Annabellewis,Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the kids dine free with parents promotion great value!. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again soon.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral Manager
"Best hamburger, cold pool"
1st March 2013, Tashystar, Melbourne, Australia
My opinion is similar to all the reviews I read before staying at this hotel. The service was great and friendly, the hotel was as clean as it could be but it needs an update. I didn't mind the location up on the hill but my partner would have preferred a more central location. We chose this place because it had a pool but I thought is was way too cold to be enjoyed and therefore very disappointing. Also, standing on the 2nd level looking down at the pool through the window is not a pleasant sight, the dust and fluoro tubes on the ledges above the pool is not a wonderful first impression. The parking lot was too full for us to park on Saturday night which was also an unexpected disappointment after a long day and arriving back at midnight with a 5 month old....We ordered the the hamburgers one night and they were spectacular !!!View management response »
Management responseDear Tashystar,Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Mercure Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service and managed to rate the hamburger as one of the best. I have forwarded on your comments to the kitchen team.I am sorry that you found the pool temperature to be cool, it is set at 28 degrees and we had no maintenance issues reported during your stay. I appreciate your feedback regarding parking and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again soon.Kind regardsRob Poole
28th February 2013, berrysusanna, Hastings, New Zealand
I always stay here as it is near town and great service. I am also a member of a club so it saves me money when you have deals. Only tip I could use is that maybe you offer streaky bacon at breakfast alsoView management response »
Management responseDear berrysusanna,Thank you for posting such great feedback and your continued loyalty to Mercure Wellington. We very much appreciate the comments you made and I have forwarded on your comments about the bacon to our chef.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel the next time you are in Wellington.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral ManagerMercure Wellington
"Comfortable and convenient"
27th February 2013, Trier
Very good value for money. Older style which gives a bit of character and makes a nice change, and has all the necessary comforts. Not sea views but great views out over the beautiful wooden houses on the hills. Walking distance to amenities.View management response »
Management responseDear Accor Traveler,Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the views on offer from your room! We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again in the near future.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral Manager
"A/C not working"
25th February 2013, S J, Germany
I cannot recommend the Mercure Wellington on The Terrace. The room was totally overheated and the A/C was not working like it should. That is, there was some air flow but the air was not cool. Consequently, the room could not be cooled down to make sleeping bearable even though the A/C was on for hours at low setting. It was also a very loud A/C so sleeping without earplugs was impossible. Opening the windows was only possible a tiny little bit so this did not help either. We did not get a lot of sleep that night. So we asked for a new room the next morning and when we came back in the evening we got another room where our luggage had been brought to. Same problem here, the A/C was totally inefficient even on lowest setting for several hours. Upon checkout nobody even bothered asking if the room change had resolved the issue. Apart from this, there was also mould in the bathroom. They charge 20 $ extra a night for parking but the carpark is very tight so manoevering becomes a challenge. It may also be possible that they rent out more parking spaces than available because people parked their cars on spots which should remain free. Overall, a really bad experience.View management response »
Management responseDear SJ,Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the room has not met your expectations. From your comments there are some maintenance issues that have not been rectified by my maintenance team and I would like to personally address them. Can you please contact me directly at Rob.Poole@accor.com with the room number you stayed in and I will ensure that these issues are rectified immediately. I apologise for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to hopefully serving you better in the future.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral Manager
25th February 2013, gcdmorrell, Auckland Central, New Zealand
It's good value for the rates they charge.Comfortable enough and the location is convenient.Also good service and taxi is accessible. There is also a restaurant onsite therefore very convenient if you don't want to get lost in the city.View management response »
Management responseDear gcdmorrell,Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at Mercure Wellington. We very much appreciate the comments you made and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral ManagerMercure Wellington
"RE: Great service and facilities"
25th February 2013, WorstTours, Brisbane, Australia
Staff couldnt be more helpful and team were flexible when I needed some changes The location is good and the room was very modern and secureThe late night room service needs some work Excellent having an internet service in the receptionView management response »
Management responseDear WorstTours,Thank you for posting such great feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the service provided by my team. I have noted your comments about the late night room service and passed this feedback onto my Food and Beverage team.We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington the next time you are in Wellington.Kind regardsRob PooleGeneral Manager