Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Brazil Hotels > Rio de Janeiro Hotels > Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Previous hotel
Discover Sofitel

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana hotel

Luxury Hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet - Paying
    • Air conditioning
    • Public indoor parking
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 6 - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel - Paying
    • Pool
    • Number: 0
    • Golf
    • Golf lessons
    • Golf course 9 holes
    • Babysitting on request - Nearby
    • Sauna
    • Hammam
    • Jacuzzi
    • Solarium
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 388
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: SUGARLOAF (5.00 km)

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana - hotel reviews in Rio de Janeiro

Hotel code: 1988

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good hotel well located in arpoador"

16th September 2013, arnaud m, paris

very nice location but beware some rooms may not have sea view or sugar leaf viewstaff welcoming but busy due to number of guests - this is not a boutique hotelswimming pools small , more decorative purposegreat view from lounge bar and restaurants over copacabana and sugar loafmany staff people speak French

View management response »

Management responseBonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Need renovations ASAP!"

19th August 2013, tom2al, Gdynia, Poland

Old hotel in perfect locations on Copacabananeed renovations ASAP! we had nice junior sutiewith superb ocean view, but that's all, leackagefrom air-conditioning, room bit smelly etcvery old-fashioned. Poor breakfast as for Sofitelalso overall average service.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour,Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro.We are sorry about the issues encountered. Please believe that it is our priority to satisfy all of our guests and deliver a Perfect service and experience throughout your stay with us. We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.Best regards,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Location"

20th February 2013, Hibazz10, Oldham

Stayed one night on our way home from the Iguassu Falls. We had booked a room with a beach view including breakfast but were very pleased to receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Our room on the third floor had an excellent view of Copacabana beach and was very large and clean. There were however a few things i would not expect to see, for example a large stain on the carpet and a ripped curtain. We had a huge bed and an excellent nights sleep. Service was mixed. Reception staff were excellent but service at the breakfast buffett was not up to the usual high Sofitel standards. Lovely to eat breakfast on the terrace though. However as we were only staying for one night the beach view from our room outweighed any minor niggles.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour and thank you for your nice feedback. Indeed Sofitel Rio has a perfect view and am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Am sorry, however, to hear that some services did not meet your expectations, as well as aspects in your room. Please rest assured that I will forward your comments on to my team. We hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro. Best regards, Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 3.0 out of 5 stars "expensive for the value not worth it i was going to stay for 5 days and i stayed only 2 days."

1st February 2013, Maurizio2299, Los Angeles, California, USA

the service was average the hotel was less than average and expensive 500$ a night for what.i was not treated like i usually get treated in a five star hotel . on this trip i was in ITALY FRANCE BRAZIL DALLAS and back to LOS ANGELES ...travelling from the 28th of Dec to the end of January and that was the most expensive hotel for no reason..MMB.

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.Once again please accept my sincere apologies.Sincerely,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Not value for money."

16th January 2013, 254BritTraveller254, London, United Kingdom

The room and bathroom were in deperate need of renovation. For the amount of money charged per night, one would expect higher quality. The carpet hadn't been shampooed for years - my white trainer socks were very dirty every day from walking in the room only. Overall, I'm really not pleased and don't feel I got value for money.

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.Once again please accept my sincere apologies.Sincerely,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 2.0 out of 5 stars "in 3 days we changed rooms 4 times."

24th December 2012, DriLima, Brasilia, Brazil

I stayed at the Sofitel Copacabana in December 2012. Unfortunately on my 4 day/3 night stay we had to change rooms 4 times. In each one of the rooms there were very loud noises coming from either the roof or the walls. Some of the staff said it might have been a faulty A/C (which we never switched on). We stayed at the executive floor, on the 8th floor, and for a room on that floor we had paid more than a regular room. I have to say that services were fantastic: the staff were always ready to help us and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable, including upgrade us to a room with a fantastic view of the whole of the Copacabana beach. But nothing took away the hassle of having to move rooms (which involves packing again and being at the hotel when that was done). We have stayed at lots of Softiel hotels around the world and the one in Copacabana was certainly the worst for the following reasons: the strange and loud noises from machinery on the building roof; I found all four rooms smelled of mold (mostly due to being in a humid city such as Rio and opposite the beach), and in the second room we were given the toilet seat was absolutely filthy and had to be cleaned again. Every room we stayed in did not follow the same pattern in terms of sets of toiletries/towels/robes, so there was always something missing.The TV wasn't working in the last room we were upgraded to but by then I was so tired of pointing out faults here and there that I didn't even bother telling reception about it.

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.Once again please accept my sincere apologies.Sincerely,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 5.0 out of 5 stars "good value for the best view inRio"

24th November 2012, toothlady66, walton on thames

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on 17th of november.We had a deluxe room with sea view with the millesime club.The room is lovely with 3 balconies with a fantastic view of Copacabana beach.Well equipped with nespresso coffee machine ,complimentary soft drinks and l'occitane products in the bathroom.There is quadruple glazing so its very quiet.If I was to be picky i could say the bathroom was a little small with the shower being in the bathtub but with such a view who cares!The buffet breakfast is very nice with a good selection.Also with the club millesime comes complimentary little snacks in the afternoon and early evening as well as drinks in the club room.The service a little slow and not always the best but always very friendly and helpful.We had to wait an hour for our room but they gave us late check out as compensation,There are 2 very nice pools but one of them lacks parasols.The atlantis restaurant near the pools serves decent snacks.All in all avery well placed hotel (make sure you get sea view) in Rio at a competitive price.Its not perfect but i certainly recommend it.

View management response »

Management responseBonjour and thank you for recommending Sofitel Rio.I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Club Millésime and that our staff was helpful and friendly. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team.We hope to welcome you back soon to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.Best regards,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Sofitel Capacabana - business"

9th July 2012, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Sofitel is business oriented, very well located but outdated, it's an area and hotel from sixties.New furniture and carpet, paint... of room and coridor is required. Excellent breakfast and nice view from terras but way too expensive.Overall Sofitel is too expensive, you pay the name and the location

View management response »

Management responseBonjour and thank you for your feedback.Am pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and breakfast. However, I am sorry that the hotel did meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service; I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you when you next visit Rio de Janeiro.Kind regards,Frédéric RibaultHotel Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.