Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Cuba Hotels > Havana Hotels > Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Public outdoor parking - Nearby
    • Outdoor unheated pool
    • Sauna
    • Massage
    • Solarium
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 178
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: WORLD HERITAGE SITE (0.50 km)

Hotel address

Trocadero 55 e
Prado y Zulueta Habana Vieja
Cuba
260 HABANA
CUBA

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 23° 8' 24.52'' W 82° 21' 30.31'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane - hotel reviews in Havana

Hotel code: 1870

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Terrible service"

9th July 2013, Danishexplorer1, Copenhagen, Denmark

This hotel has a great location and history - but that is about it. The attitude and service from the staff is horrible and arrogant. Never a smile and always some excuse. Especially the reception staff is arrogant and not welcoming. Room not ready at check-in time too. Wifi extremely slow compared to other cuban hotels we stayed at - and more expensive as you could not log out of our login - so you could not save your time for later. Wifi often not working or reception ran out of wifi-cards. I know it is Cuba and a lot of things are not available - but even compared to cuban standards the breakfast is horrible and probably one of the worst I have ever had in any hotel in the world. They run out of everything all the time and the few things there are left in the buffet are of really bad quality. Staff reuses forks and knifes from other tables without washing them. Rooms are large - but very tired. Shower rack fell down everytime we used it, water dripping in the sink, door on furniture fell off etc etc. Only one elevator available most of our stay - so there could be quite a wait to get to ground level in the morning - especially when two lifts where reserved for staff. Food in the restaurant was very bad too. Pizza was bland and not cooked enough, softdrinks often served warm without ice and never a smile from the waiters. Only possitive thing is location and the pool - but there are absolutely better options in Havana. Stay somewhere else.

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Typical stay in Havana"

19th January 2013, sydney

Lovely view and descent location. Unfortunately the hotel did not offer good value for money. It was very expensive. My girlfriend and I stayed in a lower cost hotel in our first night in Havana in the Old Town and whilst it was not as prestigious for 1/3 of the price it was much better value and equally as charming

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Good location, but poor maintenance and sevice quality"

3rd January 2013, Eva B, Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark

Sevilla hotel in Havana is located close to the old town, and has the advantage of a pool. However the lack of maintenance at the hotel, combined with a relatively poor service mentality, left the value for money way under where it should be.In addition the Accor hotel booking site also seems to need an update, - very messy reservation and payment process from start to end. Still not sure if we have paid once, twice or four times what was necessary...

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "savilla havane back to the 60s"

13th December 2012, billttrisht235, Wellington, New Zealand

While we enjoyed our stay at one of the oldest hotels in havana it definately needs a major upgrade their web page does not tell the true story The restaurants are tatty ,'the food is catering for tourist groups from Europe so just edible We ate there at night once after that went to some excellent eating establisments The rooms were old and worn a/c didn't work in our first room Second room a/c worked but some lighting didn't and our door jambed fixed on last day They need a frig in rooms because of heatThe pool which we used a lot because of the heat needs a major refit and after a long day out closes at 6pm On the plus side the staff were very nice friendly and helpfull made us feel comfortable While i believe the hotel will be upgraded there are a lot of better presented hotels in havana at present Loved Cuba the place to visitis catering for group tourists from europe.

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 4.0 out of 5 stars "I had great time at Sevilla Hotel"

14th June 2012, cruiserbrazil, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

I spent a great time at this hotel. Check-in and check-out were both fast, efficient and correct and my points of Le Club loyalty program, were accepted without problems. I liked the unpretentious and pleasant bands that play all day in the lobby bar while having a drink or eating something. The pool is great, the bartenders Pedro, Manuel and Junior at the pool bar and also the security man, Irving, are great people and made me feel welcome. Also, the Roof Garden Restaurant was nice and a decent food a la carte. Breakfast ok, nothing special however pleasant, can also be served at the Roof Garden on the ninth floor. There is a small shopping arcade where you can book city tours and buy postcards and stampas, that you can leave later, at the reception desk. You can also combine taxi rides on the doorstep, with all taxi drivers most lovable, friendly and honest, especially Elias, who took me on a tour to the Santa Maria beach, which is itself a spectacle. Sure, you can not go to Havana thinking to find hotels and service of the same standard from other countries, as Cuba has its limitations as everyone knows, but the main they have plenty of: friendliness and warmth and that is everything when we're in a hotel. I recommend and I will return to Cuba and to the hotel as soon as possible. And yes, there is an inroom safe, a bath tub, toilet paper, soap, shampoo, bath gel.

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Beautiful old hotel but rude front desk staff"

5th May 2012, cherft, Melbourne

Courteous check-in staff on the first day we arrived, personalized visit from hospitality desk w a courtesy large bottle of water (would have preferred the frig to have been stocked, though).Fabulous old style room bedroom. Great view over the old city, towards the lighthouse and the gulf to the north. Overall a really beautiful hotel, albeit quite run down.Minimalistic toiletries - a bar of soap would have been good. Very odd placement of the toilet seat - so close to the right wall one has to sit side-saddle! And need telescopic arms to reach the toilet roll fixed to the far wall.Back to the front desk to ask about WiFi and local tours: they could care less - totally unhelpful. Lied about the availability of Internet passwords, and only after i did the angry bear act, did they unlock the safe to produce one for me; not worth the effort in the end, the PCs were from Gate's teenage period.Looks like our 1st impression was very wrong with repeated incidents of front desk rudeness. Other staff at the Patio Bar, Roof level Habana Bar, maids, etc were very courteous and helpful even if somewhat clueless about customer service norms.The warning "You don't come to Cuba for the food" is certainly true in the hotel, even in the 9th floor VIP restaurant to which we were 'invited' (dunno why - may be my Mercure Silver status). However we did find a number of bars in the old city whose fare was pretty acceptable - particularly after a couple of Mojitos. The Sevilla bars & restaurant have superb musicians playing a superb selection of Afro-Cuban musical styles.So - forget the rude staff and forget the poor food but stay a couple of night ONLY here to experience ancient "Colonial" Cuba

View management response »

Management responseThe hotel is about to conclude the proccess of renovation of his rooms included bathrooms. Since june 2011 all furniture have been renewed : rooms, restaurants and Lobby.At the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.
« hide

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "OK for a Cuban hotel"

18th April 2012, Danielle458, London, United Kingdom

Having stayed in other Cuban hotels and found they are graded above what they deserved I expected this four-star hotel to be about a 3 star which it was. Service was OK - Patio restaurant staff nice enough except the overpriced food we ordered once never actually came and when we asked after it we were told it hadn't been ordered - no apology, but I have found this typical of Cubans. Later in our trip we saw the same thing happen to another family - we didn't get as irrate as they did as we just left and ate the same thing down the road for a third of the price. Reception staff were nice. There is a Cadeca exchange and a Cubanacan tourist bureau on-site which is brill.

View management response »

Management responseAt the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.
« hide

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Havana"

14th April 2012, London, United Kingdom

We had stayed at an 'airport hotel' for 2 days prior to this due to the Papal visit - so to be in old Havana was very appealing. Originally I had tried to book the Parque Central but, due to the said Papal visit, this was not available. We did dine there however and I have to say that it is a cut above this hotel in, from what I saw, every department - notwithstanding the price premium at the PC compared to this.The Sevilla was OK by Havana standards - that is not a deliberate dig but Havana hotel standards do not generally match those worldwide. Room was very quaint. Biggest bugbear was that the aircon failed for the final two nights (out of 4). We were assured that it would be repaired but it never was - even in March the room became very uncomfortable. Complaint to CEO pending.Second biggest bugbear was the music band looking to sell CD's and to obtain tips - put the band in your pricing for goodness sake!!Food OK, but generally poor throughout Cuba - not interested in the merits of political systems and accountability for that, just stating the bald facts.Generally staff service OK but some do not understand the concept of a 'service industry' - I don't expect people to die for the cause but neither am I there with the sole objective of providing you with employment, do some work (and the tip system is based on level of service - like in the USA, maybe some have misunderstood the concept!)

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 4.0 out of 5 stars "one night at Habana"

18th March 2012, Düsseldorf

excellent location, nice old building, rooms very comfortable, nice colonial furniture.Service in the top garden restaurant could be better, no water, wine was served after the starter

View management response »

Management responseThank you very much ! Your comment makes us happy and motivate us to improve our Service which we will offer to all new guests who will give us the opportunity to welcome them during their next vacations in our hotel.At the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.
« hide

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Acceptable"

19th May 2011, Vancouver

We stayed at the Seville for 4 nights at the end of 2 weeks in Cuba (small group tour of western Cuba, plus time in Cienfuegos). We had stayed in a range of hotels and casas inclucing two nights a the Plaza Hotel in Havana at the beginning of the trip, so I write this review being fully aware of the typical non-resort accommodations Cuba. The good: This was to be the "luxury" portion of our trip but I booked early on line, and paid just under $100 /night Canadian. We had asked for a view and lucked into a room (really a suite) (room 722, I think) with two tvs, a little fridge, great water pressure and a very clear view of the water/fort. The pool downstairs is beautiful, clean, cool, lots of chairs that were not broken. Room was very clean, toilet sort of worked and Accor seems to actually be trying, it was obvious there had been a lot of updates in the last few years. The "meh"/bizarre for a top tier hotel: First room, the in-ceiling AC continually poured water through the DROP ceiling/cupboard. It did only take 4 phone calls and two trips to the front desk before we given a new room (one floor up, with almost as nice a view, but unfortunately perpetually smelled of sewer gas. We mentioned to the front desk and were met with the standard "es Cuba" shrug). Pool had beautiful change rooms, bathrooms, sauna etc, except 80% of the toilets were out of order, the three "working" were like any other public toilet in Cuba (no TP, etc.). Wish the pool bar had been open late enough (no food after 5, no drinks after 6) to take advantage of it after a day of wandering in Havana. Fine for what we paid, but there seems to be a big range of rates.

Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Good location, but a few hitches"

12th February 2011, Toronto

Location good. 100-year old historic hotel. Expensive. First room: door did not lock, and toilet did not flush. They gave us another room, where everything worked, but no toilet paper nor tissues. Coffee in the morning buffet was cold, and milk curdled. Evening lobby entertainent good. Staff friendly. For the price ($174 CUC per night) I would have expected things to work a little better.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.