Hotel address505 Nanjing Road East
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 31° 14' 8.39'' E 121° 28' 50.91''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+86)21/63515888
- Fax. (+86)21/63514088
Recently viewed hotels
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland - hotel reviews in Shanghai
Hotel code: 1603
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Family trip with my daughters"
23rd September 2013, eve m, Melbourne, Australia
The hotel is in a excellent position,right on the main road in Shanghai,Nanjing road where shops,reataurants are,the hotel is in reno atm,it does need it but the foyer is still good,once the reno is over im sure the hotel will be the same stanards as all sofitels aroung the world,the staff are friendly and can speak english.
"Great Central Location"
20th September 2013, Camchch, Christchurch, New Zealand
Great location and price, however renovations were going on so quite loud noise during the hours of 8am till after 6pm,,, Front desk staff were brilliant and very helpful however restaurant staff at breakfast and the concierge staff were quite disinterested and not very forthcoming with suggestions or service. I would however stay at this hotel again for its fantastic location
"Perfect location to see Shanghai"
17th September 2013, mooreje, Albury, Australia
For a business trip or holiday this Hotel is an excellent choice. Conveniently located ( 150 metres) to line 2 , direct airport link and key shanghai locations.The Nanjing shopping street at the front door is handy for last minute shopping ,restaurants are easily accessed along this street and just a short walk to the famous Bund boulevard .
"A very poor representative of the Sofitel reputation"
17th September 2013, Kerin0309, Adelaide, Australia
I have stayed in Sofitel's in many places in the world, nothing compares with Sofitel metropole in Vietnam, but this hotel is a particularly poor representative of the Sofitel brand. From Club facilities that are sub standard, service that is well meaning but poor through to rooms that smell, cleaners that simply make the bed as all they do, and renovations throughout the hotel it was a very disappointing stay. Sofitel should consider discounted rates when they are disrupting their usual service for renovations - and they should make it clear before you come that there are renovations - in a prominent place on the website. The customer manager, Katrin did her best to assist, but Id select a different place to stay in future.
"Great hotel in great location"
10th September 2013, ChadMacIsaac, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was a good size and very clean, the breakfast was fantastic (as always with Sofitel) and the hotel location on Nanjing Road East was excellent! I'll certainly be back and recommend it to friends.
"Perfect hotel and perfect location"
9th September 2013, autchoz, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland is located on the most commercial street in Shanghai, pedestrian area, which is very convenient.Wherever we want to go, it is easy from the hotel.Staying at the hotel is no problem as the restaurants are very good, the services are very convenient, and the people extremely nice.I had a perfect stay there.
"good location ,firm beds?"
5th September 2013, david1964186273, Brighton, United Kingdom
if you like firm beds then this is a good hotel,but the hotel were very happy to put a matrass topper on my bed and were very helpfull, the spa was terrible dirty and unkept over all the hotel and staff were grate but the spar and beds let it down for me and i was in an exsecutive room and its worth paying for that as free alcahol in the evening and foodView management response »
Management responseDear david1964186273 ,Merci for your feedback in depth.We have carefully noted each point you have raised with attention and concern. We are happy that our Housekeeping team arranged a softer bed for you. As per your Spa experience, the Spa Manager has been informed to rectify the cleanliness issue immediately.It will be a plaisir to welcome you backLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Excellent choice for business or pleasure"
2nd September 2013, LesRuhrmund, Cape Town
I have been travelling to Shanghai on business for many years (probably about 20 years) and over this time have stayed in some truly awful and some truly excellent hotels (Fairmont Peace). I always travel at the end of August or early September and a priority for me now because of the heat has become the proximity to a metro station. I tried the Sofitel this year and am very pleased I did. Besides being any easy few minutes walk from the metro station and right on Nanjing Road, the hotel is lovely in every respect; beautiful rooms, charming staff, outstanding wine selection and excellent Chinese restaurant. I stayed in a Club room with access to the Club lounge and this was a treat and a bonus. after a long tiring day. One night I was invited to a tasting of fine Bordeaux wines .. !! As one would expect nothing in the hotel is inexpensive. But if you want to be sure of a hotel in a perfect location and are looking for luxury comfort, this is an excellent choice.View management response »
Management responseDear LesRuhrmund,Your thoughtful words remind us that our guest satisfaction is the essence of true hospitality.We will certainly share your comments with all Sofitel Ambassadors and we will continue to deliver Cousu Main experience to all our guests. We are happy to read as well that you enjoyed our special tasting of fine Bordeaux wines at the Executive Lounge.It will always be a plaisir to welcome you backLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Nice hotel facility"
29th August 2013, Shyao, Taipei, Taiwan
Great location with convenient transportation and shopping and dining. Very nice room and flexible rules for extending check out time for better experience of stay. Overall experience of staying at Sofitel Hyland Shanghai was great and will be willing to stay again and recommend to others for sure!View management response »
Management responseDear Shyao,Merci beaucoup for your feedback.Your comments encourage all of us to continue working with passion for excellence and desire to offer Magnifique service to all our Guests. We are happy you find our check-out rules flexible and this contributed to your Shanghai experience.It will be always a plaisir to welcome you back againLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Faultless introduction to Sofitel Hyland in Shanghai"
29th August 2013, NZtrailguy, Auckland Region, New Zealand
Wish I was still in Shanghai, even if the temperature was a humid 36 degrees celsius, back in NZ it is 15 degreess!!I highly recommend the Sofitel Hyland. Perfectly placed on East Nanjing Rd you can walk anywhere within central Shanghai and feel very safe. Despite the insistent purveyors of merchandise ranging from hang bags to massage, by the time you've stayed a few days and the sellers get to know who you are, you have a laugh together. Sights like the Bund, Fakes Market, People's Square, Old Town, French Concession are all within easy walking distance.I was fortunate to stay at Club Sofitel, which included a breakfast of sumptous treats like the crossiants with jam, chocolate buns, delicious coffee and eggs any-way. And if you wanted Chinese there were flavours of the orient like you wouldn't believe. In the evening the Club had cocktails with cheeses, breads, dipping oils and platters of tasty delights. Plus of course beer and wines (red and white) to choose from.The room was very comfortable, the bed very easy to sleep in (and stay sleeping), the internet is an easy connect and the shower and toilet facilities were second to none. The aircon was perfect and easily adjustable to your own temperature. Everday the room was serviced and every day it was as spotless as the day I arrived. The concierge is fantastic. I wanted to eat local chinese without western influence and was booked in to a local resturant only five minutes walk away. Beautiful food.I made a small error, that should be noted to all, it was my fault, I drank from the hotel tap. Not recommended (I was thirsty - I had consumed already the two complimentary bottles of mineral water that are replaced daily) and the day on the toilet is something I could have done without. But hey, life is an experience, right!I would and have done since my return to NZ, highly recommend the Sofitel Hyland, probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in.View management response »
Management responseDear NZtrailguy,Merci beaucoup for your comments.Your kind words give us a special memory to remember together. We will certainly share your comments with all Sofitel Ambassadors and we will continue to deliver a Cousu Main experience to all our guests.We are sorry to read you had a slight discomfort with the hotel tap water. In case you have drank the two bottles set-up daily in your room you can always contact our Operator and we will deliver more complimentary bottled water to you.It will always be a plaisir to welcome you backLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Nice hotel. But staff can be better"
28th August 2013, PenguinMarvin, Hong Kong, China
The hotel is really nice. Nothing to complain on the location, cleanliness or the quality of the room. Sitting right on the nanjing east road its really convenient if u want some shopping.Some minor drawback though. 3 or 4 staff entered the room without even knocking the door when I was in the room. They definitely need some training not to do such things again. And the noise from nearby rooms under renovation. Although it was only in the day time but I should be warned during checkin and given the options of another room?And the "gym" in the hotel suck. Staff said the real thing was under renovation so they put the treadmills near the lift lobby for a make do gym. that was a pretty bad position for the gym as they have to squeeze the equipment in a tiny space.View management response »
Management responseDear PenguinMarvin,Merci for your feedback with details in depth.We have carefully noted each point you have raised with attention and concern.We regret that the construction information was not properly communicated to you and our ongoing renovation and gym closing disturbed your stay with us . Please accept our apologies and be assured we are trying to reduce the effect on our guests to the minimum. We do hope that our current update will offer a more appealing product in the future.As per the staff entering your room, our Executive Housekeeper will ensure proper training follows up so we can rectify immediately.We hope you could give us another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in SofitelLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Great location - disturbed by ridiculous non-stop drilling starting from 8am in the morning"
26th August 2013, YongG537, Singapore, Singapore
What is the use of a great location, but one that comes with very lousy conditions? One guy decided to drill next to my room from 8am onwards - the maangement should have used their brains before allowing this to happen. Not only did it wake me up, the persons did not stop until it was past 11 am. And the worst thing was the drilling resulted in the blockage of water supply to my room!Room condition was bad - very dated. TV controls were not working and the whole thing was just bad bad bad. Only saving grace - I spent one night there and I couldn't wait to get out of it!View management response »
Management responseDear YongG537,Merci for your feedback with details in depth.It is important for us to learn about your experience as it is a true indication how we can improve our service.We regret that the construction information was not properly communicated to you and our ongoing renovation closing disturbed your stay with us . Please accept our apologies and be assured we are trying to reduce the effect on our guests to the minimum. We do hope that our current update will offer a more appealing product in the future.We hope you could give us another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in SofitelLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"EXCELLENT LOCATION (NOT SO ON DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION)"
16th August 2013, BTLee888, Penang Island, Malaysia
Hotel is located centrally near to amenities and transportation.The only problem ( and as with most Hotels ) they do not inform its potential Hotel guests at the time of our hotel booking that the Hotel we were also not informed of the said renovation works during check in at the front desk!!will be scheduled for renovation works ...... We only came to realise it (The renovation works ) when we heard the banging and drilling sound ......IMAGINE banging and drilling as early as 7.00 A.M. local time and even on the weekend whilst we were there...HOW FRUSTRATING AND ANNOYING............ Mind you it was not an emergency case of repairs....THE MANAGEMENT OUGHT TO EXTEND ITS APOLOGIES TO ITS PAYING HOTEL GUESTS AND BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR ITS NON DISCLOSURE IN ITS WEBPAGE!!!.........Do keep us duly informed so that we have the choice of whether to stay at your hotel or elsewhere ... if we choose your hotel knowing of the renovation works then there will be no reason to complain........ as stated earlier location to amenities and transportation is the only plus point for this hotel....View management response »
Management responseDear BTLee888,Merci for your feedback with details in depth.Guest comments enable us to continually review our service quality and improve accordingly. Therefore we have carefully noted each point you have raised with attention and concern.We regret that the construction information was not properly communicated to you and our ongoing renovation disturbed your stay with us . Please accept our apologies and be assured we are trying to reduce the effect on our guests to the minimum. We do hope that our current update will offer a more appealing product in the future.It is important for us to restore your trust and confidence in Sofitel, therefore please allow us to welcome you back and take you on a truly Magnfiqiue journeyLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"Great staff and great location"
9th August 2013, Prepple, Bergen, Norway
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland is my only home when in Shanghai. I keep returning to this hotel for the great service from the friendly staff and the excellent location in the middle of the city. The ongoing refurbishment will improve the standard of the rooms, but even today this is to my satisfaction. The staff is always helpful and will always do their utmost to find solutions.View management response »
Management responseDear Tripadvisor Member,Merci beaucoup for your feedback. Your thoughtful words remind us that our guest satisfaction is the essence of true hospitality. We will certainly share your comments with all Sofitel Ambassadors and we will continue to deliver a Magnifique experience to all our Guests.We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your Shanghai homeLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"great position high quality"
31st July 2013, waltergold, Auckland Region, New Zealand
All exeptional except breakfast service really bad . i travel regularly to this hotel . i have had service issues on a number of occasions . i9 have addressed this with the hotel previously but no improvemnts same bad service as beforeView management response »
Management responseDear waltergold,Merci for your feedback.We pay attention to all comments we receive and work on points highlighted by our guests. I am sorry you found our breakfast service upleasant, I can assure you that it is not what we are recognized for as we strive for the highest level of professionalism. The comment has been shared with our F&B Manager and the team and we will take appropriate measures.We hope you could give us another chance in the near future to restore your faith in SofitelLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"there iscockroach in the room"
26th July 2013, suabaya
loacted at nanjing road , this hotel is very premium place to stay however this hotel is very old , i found cockroach in my room , its very disgusting . furniture is quite old , i ask renovated room ,but they say dont have , the only advantage is only the locationView management response »
Management responseDear Tripadvisor Member,Merci for the feedback.It is important to learn about your experience as it is a true indication how we can improve our service. The incident mentioned has been communicated to our Executive Housekeeper and procedures will follow in order to ensure it does not happen again in future. I am also happy to share we are undergoing renovations and this will offer a better product for our guests in the near future.We hope you give us another opportunity to restore your faith in SofitelLife is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
"We really should have been informed"
25th July 2013, John M
I booked this hotel because of the location, you cannot argue with that! However, they did not tell me at booking or check-in that the water to the hotel was due to be turned off everyday from 13:30 to 16:30. The first day I was there, it did not come back on until nearly 17:00. It is really hot in Shanghai this time of year and I wanted to shower and freshen up before meeting a colleague for dinner. That did not happen, due to the water cutoff. I think they should have warned us at check in or even when booking (websites are easily updateable!). I did get a promise of access to the Le Club level for cocktails for two nights, but when I went up there there was no record of that promised, fortunately they honored the promise anyway. It is after all a full service hotel! I like Sofitel Hotels but the way this one was being run was a bit sloppy. I've stayed in a couple of Sofitels in Vietnam and the Vietnamese have the Shanghaiese beaten for quality of service, etc. This is not to say I would not stay here again, just that things were a little disorganized. I should also not that there was renovation in progress and a lot of drilling noise, fortunately this was going on in the daytime when we were out being tourists.View management response »
Management responseDear John M,Merci for the feedback with details in depth.Our first priority is to provide a true Sofitel experience to all our guests. Therefore we pay attention to all comments we receive with attention and concern. I regret that our ongoing renovations disturbed your stay and you could not fully enjoy yourself. We try to keep the inconveniences to the minimum for our guests and hope for their understanding. It is important for us to restore your trust and confidence in Sofitel, therefore please allow us to welcome you back and take you on a truly Magnifique journey!Life is Magnifique in Shanghai!Daniela KaradzhovaQuality ManagerSofitel Shanghai Hyland
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.