Hotel addressStationsplein 49
1012 AB AMSTERDAM
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 52° 22' 44.87'' E 4° 53' 52.17''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+31)20/7219172
- Fax. (+31)20/5222889
Recently viewed hotels
ibis Amsterdam Centre - hotel reviews in Amsterdam
Hotel code: 1556
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
10th September 2013, ExasperatedWA, Mandurah, Australia
Good location for rail travellers, surprisingly quiet and clean. Good value for money. We found the area to be a little difficult to access because of all the bicycles in the immediate vicinity but that's the price for location, location, location. Staff helpful with directions and City information.View management response »
Management responseDear ExasperatedWA,Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the service and location. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"I regret but I cannot recommend"
7th September 2013, Ingenia, Tsu, Japan
I stayed IBIS Amsterdam Center for 4 nights to attend cardiology meeting. Excellent location near the station. My room was clean and bed is comfortable.On the 3rd day, I left the hotel at 7AM to attend ESC meeting and when I returned to my room at 5PM, my room was not cleaned, with my 2 Euro coin tip still on the bed. I did not hang "Do not disturb" card. I called the front desk and asked why maid service was performed for my room. She said that it is a IBIS and ACCOR company policy not to clean your room unless the guest requested to the front desk in the morning. She insisted that IBIS has no fault and IBIS has no obligation to clean your room unless the the quest specially ask the front desk in the morning to get the service. I sent a reply to satisfaction survey e-mail, and stated that it is really my disappointment to hear that It is a IBIS and Accor policy not to provide a maid service unless we requested to the front. Manager sent me a respectful e-mail and stated that Your room should have been cleaned (on a daily basis) in the morning as it had been the two previous days. The fact that it wasn't cleaned was an honest mistake from our housekeeping department. The women in the front desk should honestly admit that it is a simple mistake and simply say "sorry". In contrast, she and her coworker insisted that IBIS has no fault and it is a company policy not to clean your room when housekeeping stuffs are not sufficient. I am a frequent traveler staying in the hotel approximately 60 nights per year, mostly Hilton and Hyatt. I will probably not stay Accor hotel again after experiencing this sad interaction with front staffs who insisted that it is a company policy not to provide house-keeping service and hotel has no fault.View management response »
Management responseDear Ingenia, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. As I have mentioned in my e-mail to you already, I have looked into this situation and discussed this with the front office employee who you spoke to on your third day here. The fact that your rooms hadn't been cleaned in the morning was a mistake from our housekeeping department. The fact that our front office employee stated that your room wasn't cleaned because of a certain policy was based on a miscommunication. She was fully aware of the fact that all rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, but misinterpreted your comment regarding the roomcleaning, since she assumed the room had been cleaned already once in the morning. That's no excuse for the continuing miscommunication and your room should have been cleaned right away without any discussion. I deeply regret that the situation wasn't resolved straight away and I can reassure you we have taken appropriate measures to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. As you have experienced the first two days of your stay, the roomcleaning is normally performed daily and of a very high standard. Again, I thank you for your comments. We use all feedback to improve our level of service where possible. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"Awfully rude staff"
3rd September 2013, Taitealai, Itchyfeet in Munster
The hotel is in a fantastic location however the triple room was very small and the staff where rude and unhelpful.1) I received a No-Show email from the hotel while I was there which informed me that I had been charged for it. I went to reception for an explanation & was told that I had made 2 bookings which I hadn't showed up for. I explained that I didn't make 2 & I had only 1 confirmation email. Also I had chosen a prepay special so why hadn't I been charged on booking. The receptionist said she would look into it & ring my room. When she rang she said I would have to wait until the next day to speak to someone.2))Next day I spoke to another woman at reception and explained all to her and showed her my emails. She told me I had made 2 bookings. I asked in that case why I had not been given the second room on check-in to which she had no reply. I asked her to look into it as my visa card had been charged & I was leaving later that day. She told me she was too busy to look into it and to email the hotel when I got home.3)I asked to speak to a manager & was told someone would be along shortly. The man who came out was very rude to me and told me again I had made 2 bookings, to which I explained again I did not. Eventually he conceded that it might of been a technical fault. He said that I would be refunded and sent an email about the refund.4) I asked who I could make a complaint to about how I had been treated but he wouldn't give me any information.5)The second day I received another No-Show email.6)The triple room was just two single beds and a smaller cot type bed, not the triple room advertised on the website. We barely had enough room for our suitcases in the room.I am very disappointed with my stay and the ibis staff.View management response »
Management responseDear Taitealai,Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and I already investigated this unfortunate matter. We have been in contact by e-mail already. In my last e-mail I have explained the origin of the second reservation and that the no show e-mail you received on the second day already contained the refund of the second booking that was made. That the second room wasn't given to you at check in lies in the fact that it was made on your first name, whereas the first room was reserved on your second name. Since the two reservations came in seperately and with different names, we can't link them together. This has caused a lot of confusion and an unfortunate chain of events. Our staff has resolved the issue and the refund on the day of your departure. I'm very sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with that the way it was handled. As we have been in contact by e-mail in the meantime I trust everything is now handled to your full satisfaction. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"second time stay here"
26th August 2013, Sharon M
This was an ideal location for us arriving from Canada and planning further travel within Holland. It is expensive because of location not the luxury of the hotel for sure. It is an average hotel with basic rooms- small but clean.View management response »
Management responseDear Sharon M,Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location for the second time already and it's always good to have feedback from our returning guests!We're looking forward to welcoming you a third time in our beautiful city. Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"Good value hotel at great location"
23rd August 2013, MasDoy, Jakarta, Indonesia
Nice friendly and helpful staff at reception desk. The room was okay, a bit small but comfortable enough. Only few minutes walk to Dam Square and very close to the Central Station. The only minus is that we had to change elevator at level 5 every time we want to go down to lobby or back to our room at 8th floor, because it's on the other building across the station's platform.View management response »
Management responseDear MasDoy,Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the service from our reception staff and the comfort of the room!Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
7th August 2013, john_loh48, Brisbane, Australia
Well situated within walking distance to many places of interests.The room was clean but a bit small, no air conditioning and when you opened the windowthe busy activities, trains, cars and people noises filtered into your room and can be annoying. The bathroom was a little bit cramp . Overall a neat and friendly place to stay if you are on a budget. I would say value for money and the location was our primary choice.
"Great Stay in Central Location"
7th August 2013
Would recommend this hotel. We had a great stay with a small view room in a very central location. Made our Amsterdam stay great. Service from the moment we arrived was great. One of us had a very sore back and staff were wonderful in getting ice to help with swelling.View management response »
Management responseDear member, Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. I'm especially happy that you were satisfied with the service from our staff!Hopefully your back is feeling better; a good nights sleep in the Ibis Sweet Bed must have helped a little :-). We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
3rd August 2013, hotelreview219, Alexandria, Virginia, USA
The Ibis in Amsterdam has a great location. Some people have complained about the trains, but we didn't hear a single thing. We slept great, the hotel was clean, and it was so convenient to get into the center or away by train. Definitely recommend!View management response »
Management responseDear hotelreview219,Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"Excellent price / performance"
31st July 2013, SAO PAULO
Hotel is clean, service is quick and attentive. Good location, 3 min from the main train station. Rooms are excellent, good internet connection, free of charge. Breakfast is maybe too expensive, but there's plenty of options nearby.
"STOP OVER IN AMSTERDAM"
30th July 2013, k1w1941, Napier, New Zealand
This was a very handy hotel for us, having just come off a Europe River Cruise nearby and then seeking to do other touring in Holland. The room was clean and tidy, though on the small side (even compared with other Ibis Hotels) and stowing luggage was difficult. We hired a rental car (from the airport but accessed easily through the adjoining railway station) and when parking became a problem this was solved with a nearby parking building but the cost compared with that of the hotel room! All that said it suited our purpose.View management response »
Management responseDear k1w1941,Thank you very much for your review, your feedback is very valuable to us!I'm happy to hear our hotel was covenient for you. It's true that parking in Amsterdam is quite expensive. However, there are some ways to park your car at cheaper rates. This does sometimes require an advance reservation or a 10 minute drive, but might be worth the extra effort. You can always contact the hotel in advance to get information!Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"Location couldn't be better"
23rd July 2013, IrisPankhurst, East Grinstead, United Kingdom
The hotel is right on central station and only a short walk from all forms of transport in Amsterdam. It is very central and close to all major attractions.Air conditioned rooms were much appreciated in July 2013 and although the hotel is right on top of the station the sound insulation is excellent.The staff were helpful and polite but it is a very busy hotel and does need more staff on reception at times.View management response »
Management responseDear IrisPankhurst,Thank you for writing a review of our hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated. I'm happy you enjoyed you stay with us and that our staff were able to assist you. We are indeed a busy hotel and try to schedule our reception as good as possible. We never now in advance when our guests will be arriving, so we incidentally experience busy peaks. Should this be the case we put all hands on deck to assist everyone asap (with a smile of course :-) ). Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
"Ibis Amsterdam Central"
12th July 2013, Fatih U
Location was very good, good for average budget travellersI liked the hotel in generalStaff were helpful and have warm attitude towards the customersVery close to the central station and famous Dam squareLocated on the train station so noise coming to the rooms sometimesView management response »
Management responseDear Fatih U,Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!Best regards, Dennis RullensOperations Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.