Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Netherlands Hotels > Amsterdam Hotels > The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Previous hotel
Discover MGallery

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Boutique hotel

Next hotel
Hotel - The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Air conditioning
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying - Nearby
    • Public indoor parking - Paying - Nearby
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 148
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: AMSTERDAM CITY CTR (0.10 km)

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection - hotel reviews in Amsterdam

Hotel code: 1159

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A visit to Amsterdam"

2nd September 2013, Fadhlan2013, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The hotel is at a very good location.I can visit interesting places easily.If hungry, there are places for halal food nearby.I can get Turkish food, Pakistani food and the most of all Indonesian food.Indonesia is next to Malaysia, so I felt just like at home.

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic value"

30th August 2013, sue_eld, London, United Kingdom

Had a brilliant stay here. Great location and room very comfortable. Very nice to have tea making facilities in room . No complaints.. I would definately stay here again. If I was ultra picky.. why only one bathrobe provided for a twin room ?

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We love reading these positive comments.and about the 1 bathrobe per room, a second is only a phonecall away!Hope we may welcome you in the fiture again!Yours truly,Joachim de LooijHotel Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "I recommend the hotel!"

30th August 2013, RinaS729, St. Petersburg, Russia

Very good!Thanks to the staff of thr hotel - our stay was very pleasant for the first minute there. Clean and comfortable room, absolutely great chack-in (quick, with welcoming smiles, information provided, room which we asked for provided)Fantastic location - 2 mins to the square of Dam, 2 mins to the Central station, very good for all city places of interest.Bed linen and towels are changed daily, there are bathrobes in the room and tea/coffee facilities.Clean, quiet, welcoming!

View management response »

Management responseThank you very much for your marvellous words about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam by MGallery.We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.Kind regards,Joachim de LooijHotel Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great location"

24th August 2013, johnsd67, Singapore, Singapore

Good value 4 star haotel, 10 minutes walk from Central Station. No restaurant,(except for the breakfast buffet), but a very nice bar styled on an old railway carriage. The Cocktail Happy hour is good value.The rooms are comfortable, just don't expect a great view.Recommended for a short break.

View management response »

Management responseYour review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor has been well received and is highly appreciated.Indeed we do not have a restaurant but a nice and cosy bar where we serve some small snack meals. And ofcourse from 17 till 19 o'clock cocktail time. We are glad that have enjoyed the cocktails.We wish to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.Yours truly,Joachim de LooijHotel manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Nice (centrally located) hotel nearby Amsterdam Centraal..."

21st August 2013, Bambang S, Semarang, Indonesia

This time , I would like to take the opportunity to share my latest experience in staying at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam ten (10) days ago. As per what other contributor(s) might have indicated, this hotel was located approx. 700~800 m from Amsterdam Centraal (main train station). Walking time from main entrance of Amsterdam Centraal would be approx. 13~15 minutes and kindly allow a 5~10 minutes extra should someone carries luggage with him/her.To reach the hotel, all you need to do is going out from the main entrance where you would see the main road across from Amsterdam Centraal that will eventually lead you to Dam Square. Now, look to the east where you would see another street (Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal), a block away from that street : Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal is parallel to that main road.Once we arrived in the hotel, we proceeded immediately with check-in which turned out to be prompt. Lobby area was not great but still showed a sign of its glory in the past. We assigned to a room in 4th floor which was very quiet. Our room was nice, clean and everything inside worked perfectly during our stay. However, I strongly notice the overall condition of the furniture inside the room which was not in good shape as many of them were having scratches, dented or even chipped.It would be nicer if the management takes their time to take care of this problem so that they could upgrade their property in the near future. Bathroom was clean and properly maintained. What I love the most was the bed itself as it was very comfy and although we had a short stay, we could have a good night's sleep.Based on my good experience, I would highly recommend this property to everyone who is looking for quality stay in a hotel nearby Amsterdam Centraal. I am looking forward to returning back to this property in the near future and I truly hope the hotel's management is wiling to pour in money by renovating the property to make a nicer one one day in the near future.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for staying at the Convent Hotel Amsterdam and for taking the time to write this extensive review. We greatly appreciate our guests' feedback so that we can constantly improve, and we could not do that without listening to our guests. It is wonderful to read that you really enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you liked the nice, clean room.I would also like to let you know that a renovation has already been planned.We hope we may welcome you again in the future!Yours truly,Joachim de LooijHotel Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Short stay in Amsterdam"

11th August 2013, CPatchitt, Brighton, United Kingdom

We ordered a double 'king size' bed and got 2 single beds pushed together. When we questioned this the girl on reception seemed disinterested and said something about this being normal.The carpet in the room was tatty. Other than that it had a great location.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for staying at the Convent Hotel Amsterdam and for taking the time to write this review. We greatly appreciate our guests' feedback so that we can constantly improve, and we could not do that without listening to our guests. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced.I can assure you that we will make every effort to prevent these from happening in the future. We hope that we are able to host you as our guest again.Sincerely,Joachim de LooijHotel Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "amsterdam"

4th August 2013, melbournecouple2013, Melbourne, Australia

very good hotelthe only problem was trying to get a taxi to railway stationensure you get the hotel to book exactly what you require as we were refused by taxi drivers due to the short distance to the station

View management response »

Management responseYour review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor has been well received and is highly appreciated. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the hotel.My appologies for the rudeness of the taxi drivers for not taking you for that short distance, with a lot of luggage we can imagine you really need a taxi.We hope we may see you again with us in Amsterdam.Sincerely,Joachim de LooijHotel Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent stay in Amsterdam"

22nd July 2013, Mike7, Bexleyheath, London

Just back from an excellent 5 night stay at the Convent Hotel. This was our 5th stay at this hotel in the last 6 years, and looking forward to going back there next year! We had paid extra to have a superior room, and were given a newly refurbished one on the 1st floor, complete with most comfortable bed, walk-in shower, Espresso machine and safe. The only criticism we had of the room was that the refurbishment had resulted in the usual bathroom door being replaced by a partially glazed sliding door. This meant that we had to keep each other informed when one of us was in the bathroom. Hopefully this review may influence the design of the bathrooms when the hotel has a major refurbishment in 2014 as the glazed bathroom door design is pointless!The 23 euro breakfast menu is first-rate with wide choice of juices, fruits, pastries, cereals, cheeses, hot drinks and eggs cooked to order. High standard of service in the restaurant and always a pleasure to have breakfast there. Most helpful staff in the hotel and when we wanted more towels etc , they would arrive within a few mins. Pleasant light meals in the bar which has an unusual design based on a classic Orient Express carriage.We had lunch on 3 occasions in a traditional Dutch restaurant, De Roode Leuwe which is in Damrak, very close to Dam Square. We have been going to this first-class restaurant for the last 15 years and high standards continue to be maintained. The stampot (mashed potatoes/vegetables with different meats) is particularly good.

View management response »

Management responseThank you very much for this excellent review . It was our great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel. The comment about the glass door we will pass on to the designers.We hope to see you again next year!Yours truly,Joachim de LooijInterim General Manager
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good hotel on good location"

18th July 2013, SP123B, Brazil

Check-in went very smoothly, room was small but good. Although in the city center, no noise from outside or other rooms. Slept very good. Only downside was no safe in the room. Bathroom needed some renovation.

View management response »

Management responseCheck-in went very smoothly, room was small but good. Although in the city center, no noise from outside or other rooms. Slept very good. Only downside was no safe in the room. Bathroom needed some renovationThank you for leaving this review on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that overall you were satisfied with the hotel. Our apologies for not having a safe in all the rooms, we do have free safes available at our reception desk.We wish to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.Kind regards,Joachim de LooijInterim Genereal ManagerThe Convent Hotel Amsterdam
« hide

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Good location, friendly staff, terrible bed & no in-room safe."

16th July 2013, MacMeh, Brisbane, Australia

The bed in our first room had a 1ft difference in height from the centre to the outside. It was like a mountain range down the centre. The mattress protector & comfort layer didn't stretch across the whole bed and the mattress was so worn out that it was like sleeping in a gutter. The staff offered us a new room without hesitation.We moved room and found a slightly better bed that was less lumpy, but it was also worn out with large depressions, and offered very little comfort over the course of the night. By this point we couldn't be bothered complaining again so stuck it out for 4 days.I wouldn't return, and don't recommend the hotel. It only left me thinking- if this is an Accor hotel, are they all this bad?

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Mini break"

15th July 2013, Contently_Travelling, Leicester, United Kingdom

Got a good deal for 4 nights with a superior room, although having just re-read the room descriptions it looks like we might have actually been upgraded to a 'Luxury room' with out even knowing about it until now, Always a bonus! Arrived early and having left the bags in the hotels baggage room for a couple of hours, and then they had no problems letting us into the room a couple of hours early.Very convenient location on a main tram route (we used one of the Amsterdam Park & Ride's which I'd recommend to anyone driving), a very short walk from Dam Square and the rest of town. Also plenty of things touristy nearby, including the Anne Frank Haus (5 mins meander).A few furnishings were a noticibly dated (and not in the good way), but the bed was definitely one of the comfiest I've ever slept in at a hotel, and the free wi-fi was definitely well used.

The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Heaven in a convent"

9th July 2013, Never_Home70, Bacchus Marsh

The Convent Hotel has the most comfortable beds in Amsterdam. Even though the hotel is on a somewhat busy street, the noise levels are minimal and a truly relaxing night's sleep is easily obtained. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and always ready to assist. The bar has a great atmosphere and there is plenty on offer at breakfast.Another truly enjoyable stay at this hotel.

View management response »

Management responseDear guest,thank you for sharing your experience. I am gratefull to read that you enjoyed your stay.I hope to welcome you again in The Convent Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.Best regards,Joachim de Looij
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.