Hotel address1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA SOUTHAMPTON
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 50° 54' 17.45'' W 1° 24' 52.87''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)2381/072800
- Fax. (+44)2380/222158
Recently viewed hotels
Novotel Southampton - hotel reviews in Southampton
Hotel code: 1073
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
17th September 2013, satisfiedxxx, Guernsey, United Kingdom
Very good position for shopping and cruise linesStaff willing and helpful. Price reasonable,Hotel clean & ComfortableThis is our fourth stay before going on a cruise which means we have always been satisfied with our stays at this hotelView management response »
Management responseMany thaks for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. It is always great to hear from a regular guest at our hotel and I know the team will enjoy reading your review. We lookforad to seeing you again next time you are going on a cruise.Many thanksGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
5th September 2013, GinoSussex_England, Sussex, England
This 4 star hotel has a good location but otherwise is poor. We stayed for 2 nights but under two bookings as we originally intended 1 night only. The first night was fine except the heavy quilt in summer and the inability to cool the room down. We had to move rooms for the 2nd night and on returning to the hotel were offered a double immediately above a wedding reception. Not appearing very amused we were offered a twin room in a quiet location. We feel it would be better to put the wedding party in the rooms above the function rooms. We also had dinner in the hotel inas part of a group of 10, on the 2nd night and were waiting for our main course for 90 minutes The menu choice was bland, poorly cooked and unimaginative. We also used the leisure suite. The pool is very small and as such crowded. There is a fitness area and a sauna. In summary this was a disappointment and we hope not representative of the Novotel groupView management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on trip advisor. I will be sharing your comments with both our team here and Novotel UK food and beverage committee. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again in the near future.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"Fine for an overnight stay"
17th August 2013, Tabitha81, England
We stayed just one night as a couple with a 3 year old as we were visiting Peppa Pig World the following day. The hotel is easy to get to, just off the main road into Southampton and it was pretty easy to find our way into town on foot from the hotel. Parking overnight costs an additional £5 but we felt this was fairly reasonable for a hotel close to the centre of town. Check in was quick and easy and we found the staff were helpful and attentive during our stay. They also gave our toddler a small gift on arrival which was a nice touch. One thing which we felt was a bit of a let down was the swimming pool. We had chosen the Novotel, not the cheapest option by far, because it had a pool and our 3 year old loves swimming. However, we were told on arrival that the pool was temporarily out of order which was very disappointing. We were offered free entry into the leisure centre down the road but weren't too keen on making that special trip out as we only wanted a quick dip. The pool did reopen at 6pm so we were able to use it. However, it was very cold and also pretty tiny. Also, you had to walk through the middle of the air conditioned gym in your swimming costume to get from the changing room to the pool which seemed a bit of a strange layout. Other than that we had an enjoyable stay. The rooms were clean and functional and the breakfast very nice (although very expensive at £16.95 if not included in your room rate). There is also a TGI Friday about a minutes walk from the hotel which was a nice alternative to eating in their restaurant.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review. It was great to read that you did enjoy our accommodation and I am sorry that our pool was out of order for part of your stay. Our Breakfast is priced at £13.95 if not included in the room rate which we think represents good value for money with the offering and compared to local hotels. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again in the future Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"would be staying here again......"
15th August 2013, newtons3, Maidstone, United Kingdom
Me, my partner and our 1 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for 1 night as we went to peppa pig world for our daughters first birthday, This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel and its still the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are like buckingham palace and you can get a decent night sleep without the noisy neighbours. we had continental breakfast in the mornings and they filled us all up and we didnt even feel like eating at all during the day. The reception people are lovely and will help out as much as they can. I think for what you get the price was outstanding and we will be going back in november for christmas shopping. Thanks to novotel for all your hard work.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here on tripadvisor. My team and I are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed yourselves here and we hope you also enjoyed Peppa Pig Worl. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in November.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"Novotel Southampton UK"
14th August 2013, johnmagill, Sydney, Australia
NO FRIDGE in room that's un-australian !! However no fridge seems to be the norm in UK Hotels Guess they dont have such good weather as we do in Aus. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant is of good standardView management response »
Management responseThank you for your review. All of our bedrooms have Minibar sized fridges in them, these are built into the furniture. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our team friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
31st July 2013, Shona1234, Oxford, United Kingdom
I found this hotel to be clean, tidy and comfortable. The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom had a great shower.The staff were very helpful and friendly. I will be using Novotel Hotels in the futureView management response »
Management responseThank for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I think we have a great team here too and I will be sharing your review with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
26th July 2013, stevemurray960, Sheffield, United Kingdom
Ideal location when used pre-cruise. You can remain in your room up until midday, which fits in with check in times at your cruise terminal. We have used this hotel for the past 3 years and have had no complaints whatsoever.View management response »
Management responseIt is great to hear from a regular user of Novotel Southampton, we are glad you have been enjoying our Hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
23rd July 2013, Droitwich, United Kingdom
We have stayed at this hotel twice now and if ever we are in the Southampton area its now our number one choice, this is due to quality and cleanliness of the rooms and the service provided. Breakfast is fine. Decent value for money.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to write your thoughts here on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon here at Novotel SouthamptonKind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"Manager not helpful"
22nd July 2013, Alan100154, surrey, United Kingdom
Me and my wife did not sleep hardly all night due to not being able to turn the air conditioning off, when I spoke to the manager the. Next Morning. He was not very helpful and said that the Air conditioning could not be turned off our experience at this hotel was not very nice.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review, I am sorry if you felt our Duty Manager was not very helpful during your recent stay with us. As you can see from past posts are team are always willing to assist and rectify any issues to ensure all of our guest have a comfortable stay with us, Our team are here 24 hours a day to ensure your comfort, should you have spoken to then during the evening I am sure we would have been able to rectify this challenge. We currently have no Air Conditioning but we do have an air cooling system. Again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again at Novotel Southampton.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"Modern hotel close to shipping terminals and city centre"
20th July 2013, doubledutch59, Groesbeek, Nederland
Conveniently located modern hotel with good facilities. Nice spa with small pool, good fitness facilities. Light decor, which works on the ground floor for the public areas due to the use of colour with the white, but the decor of the rooms is boring. Good quality bed, though, very comfortable. Had trouble with the toilet, reported it, but it wasn't fixed. Also, the vent above the toilet spontaneously fell down. Maintenance could be better. Friendly and helpful staff, though. All in all still a pleasant stay. For the price, I would have expected something nicer and with perfect maintenance, to be honest.
17th July 2013, colinmackay57, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
I would recommend this hotel. We stayed for one night prior to a cruise. The ship's departure the following day was delayed and the hotel kept us up to date with developments and made arrangements for us to check out later than usual, etc.The hotel is ideally situated near the cruise terminals and city centre.On returning from our cruise we had a few hours to spare before catching a train. We walked from the terminal to the hotel and they gladly looked after our suitcases while we paid a visit into town.The staff were tremendous.View management response »
Management responseIt was great to read your review and I will be sharing it with all of the team here. We do hope to see you again in the future.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
16th July 2013, FigJam6659, London, United Kingdom
I arrived late in the evening, from the ferry from France. Check-in was adequate but not friendly. The receptionist appeared very tired, but so was I. The entrance to the hotel was difficult to find in the dark.I was asked to pay £5.00 for parking but on saying that I wasn't advised of this charge and that I was using a motorcycle, this was waived.The room was clean but not cooled and the window couldn't be opened fully.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your review. I am sorry if you felt our receptionist did not provide the customer service your expected, we will be sharing your views with the team to ensure we are delivering top notch service throughout the day and night. Our car park charge is £5.00 per night for Cars and motorbikes; I was surprised this had been waived as this should not be the case. Again thank you for posting your thoughts here and we do hope to see you again soon.Kind RegardsGlenn FindlayGeneral Manager
"One night stop for the boat show"
12th July 2013, MC_Design_Ltd, Denbighshire
Nice hotel, but stayed in much better for the money - room was poor, most electrical sockets not working and very shabby decor considering it was an "executive" room. £190 per night (room only) puts in London price range and I would have walked from a London hotel if it the room was like this. Unfortunately for me they had a captive audience that week and everything was booked with no hope of getting anywhere else. Must make better arrangements next year….View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for taking the time to write your comments on here regarding your recent stay with us. I was aware you had an issue with the electrical sockets on your first evening with us. I know our team fixed this the next morning but accept that we should have identified that these sockets were not working prior to you checking into the room. I am sorry you felt that the Room was overpriced. This is a very busy time in Southampton and the local Hotel Rates reflect this. I do hope you will consider us when you next visit Southampton.Glenn FindlayGeneral ManagerNovotel Southampton
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.