YO10 4FD YORK
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 53° 57' 9.82'' W 1° 4' 39.31''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)1133/969004
- Fax. (+44)1904/610925
Recently viewed hotels
Novotel York Centre - hotel reviews in York
Hotel code: 0949
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Efficient and Serviceable"
21st September 2013, dustdug, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Very efficient and serviceable hotel, convenient for the city centre. Staff are all very accommodating and professional. It doesn't have the character of the more traditional York hotels but it still compares well. Prices fluctuate a great deal.View management response »
Management responseGood morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
16th September 2013, ajd242, Lancaster, United Kingdom
Everyone at the Novotel was very helpful and polite giving the service that one would expect from a hotel of their calibre. The hotel was within walking distance of most amenties. Overall 5 star would certainly recommendView management response »
Management responseGood morning. Just a few words to thank you for your kind review. Delighted to read you would recommend us. We all hope to see you again in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
11th September 2013
Excellent stay at the center of York. Very clean and a good size family room. The hotel is within walking distance of main cites and city walls. The staff are very friendly and helped us in finding our way in this great cityView management response »
Management responseGood afternoon. Just a few words to say a big thank you for your review. The team and I are very pleased you had a good stay in our beautiful city and we are very happy we did contribute to making your visit a good one. We all hope to see you again at some point in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Weekend break with family"
6th September 2013, Bencal924, Rochdale, United Kingdom
Great location with 10 min walk to centre of York. Secure car park in hotel grounds. All staff were very pleasant and attentive. We would recommend to any family with children and will definitely return.View management response »
Management responseGood morning. I am extremely pleased to read you are planning to come and visit us again. We are looking forward to seeing you and on behalf of the team I would want to thank you for your custom.With kind regards,Chrisophe Ughetto
5th September 2013, Hazel2810, Stokesley
Excellent service, quickly checked in , room available early. Clean and spacious room. Car park reasonably priced on site. Shuttle bus organised to take guests to the races was great. The doormen were very helpful, even gave us a few tips for races! Lovely breakfast. Much more enjoyable stay than the Hilton where we stayed the following night as the Novotel was full.View management response »
Management responseGood morning and many thanks for your review. I am very pleased to read you had a good stay and hope you had a successful day at the races! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back for one of th race meetings.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
2nd September 2013, scarlette269, York, United Kingdom
The location was excellent just a few minutes walk into town, the rooms were very clean though not that nicely decorated for the price. The staff were friendly and knew the area well. The only gripe I would have is that we arrived after the check in time to be booked in and told our room was ready, however when we got the room it was still being cleaned and we had a further hours wait till we could drop everything off, and the bar was very expensive.If I went to york again I would probably try one of the other central hotels which were about the same price.View management response »
Management responseGood afternoon. Just a few words to thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I hope you will give us another go when you next come to York. Please do accept my apologies for the waiting time whilst your room was being prepared.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"AUGUST BANK HOLIDAY STAY"
2nd September 2013, REDBOO, Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reception staff were fine, helpful and friendly. I chose the Hotel because of the air con aspect but I was still too hot, even with the air con on the lowest setting and I had to request a fan, which was delivered to the room very quickly but it was still very warm and made sleeping a trial. The most disappointing factor was, that we had paid for 2 full, cooked breakfasts for 2 days and the cooked breakfast was of a very poor quality. The staff thought it was acceptable for us to use the milk that was leftover from the previous table occupants, the food looked greasy and like it had been there a good while and when I decided to have some fruit instead, there were no prunes available on either day and the choice of other fruit was very limited. Sadly, there was no refuge in the coffee, as this was pretty awful, too. So, although we paied up front for cooked breakfasts, in reality, we ate toast and marmalade.View management response »
Management responseGood morning and many thanks for your comments. I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy our breakfast and will share your comments wit the food and beverage team. I can however assure you this is verymuch out of character as we do pride ourselves on a very varied breakfast buffet offering plenty of choice. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as it will allow us to further improve.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
1st September 2013, emma6_10, Appleby, United Kingdom
We stayed at novotel for 2nights with our children (2&4). The rooms we spotless & the service & ALL staff great. The hotel is about a 10 minute stroll to the centre. We used the pool once, rather chilly, but the lady on reception said this was because the pool had originally been built as an outdoor pool! We would like to go back to York when the children are a bit older & wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.View management response »
Management responseGood afternoon and many thanks for your comments. I am very pleased to read you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We are all looking forward to seeing you again once the children are a bit older. Wishing you a very good end of the summer.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
25th August 2013
We stayed for one night as a stopover and it was excellent. My daughter used the pool and the breakfast was great. Very comfortable beds, including the pull out beds for the children. Reception staff were friendly and efficient.View management response »
Management responseGood afternoon and many thanks for your review. I am extremely pleased to read your comments and am looking forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you all the best.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Great location, fold-out bed uncomfortable"
14th August 2013
The breakfast was excellent and location close to everything by foot. Our family of four had a room with a queen bed - really comfortable - and fold-out couch which was not comfortable at all. Hotel has a pool which we used lots, so the positives outweighed the negatives for us.View management response »
Management responseGood morning and many thanks for your feedback. I am happy to read you had a good stay despite the fact you found our sofa beds uncomfortable. We will of course carry on checking them on a daily basis to ensure they are to the required standards. Thank you once again and I hope to see you again in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Not bad but room for improvement"
5th August 2013, DS1111, Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Generally good value. Staff excellent. Room generally good but mould in shower unacceptable in quality hotel. Excellent breakfast but spoiled by awful potato based vegetarian sausages consistently overcooked, used to use nice quorn type but not anymore. No air con so room stuffy and noisy with window open. Car park is now ridiculously expensive for hotel guests and even more so if you want to go in and out throughout your stay, please complain about this. A good value guest pass should be issued.View management response »
Management responseGood morning. Many thanks for your review. I have taken notes of your comments with regards to the vegetarian sausages and we will them on to our purchasing department. With regards to car park, there is a flat fee of £10.00 for a 24 hour stay but guests are always welcome to leave their car late on the day of their departure. Being so close to the city centre and taking into account the current charges applied elsewhere, i do believe we are still excellent value for money. Thank you once again. May I take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the rest of the summer.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Highly recommended, fantastic service"
2nd August 2013, Olaf1974, Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Price for the room for two nights was okay but not exceptional value.Staff were very friendly and did their best to make our stay very enjoyable.My son was given some free Toy Story gifts on arrival (nice touch) and he was very pleased. Room was absolutely fine and clean; only negative is the fact that the hotel does not have air conditioning and it was rather hot(!) With the window open and a fan (delivered promptly to the room) it was still nearly impossible to keep cool.Good breakfast on offer and room service also fine. Having read some previous complaints about the food, I can honestly say that the food was of a good standard and quality.We did not try out the pool but it looked a bit on the small side.All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Staff are exceptional in their service and friendlinessView management response »
Management responseGood morning and many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I have shared your comments with the whole team and we are all very pleased to read you had a good time with us. We hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
31st July 2013, bev_mccabe, Billingham, United Kingdom
We had a great stay at the Novotel in York and are looking forward to our next visit. It was booked for my birthday and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised that chocolates & strawberries had been left on our bed. I would definitley recommend a visit here!View management response »
Management responseGood morning. Just a quick note to thank you for your review. We are very pleased you had a good time with us and appreciated your chocolates! May we take this opportunity to wish you again (slightly late) a very good birthday.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Novotel should rename to Yesvotel!"
28th July 2013, Rentacat, Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Great location in York - about 5 mins walk from the Centre. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Broken hairdrier was replaced the same day. Good breakfast - didn't sample dinner. Would definitely stay there again.View management response »
Management responseGood morning. Thank you very much for your comments. I guess I will have to pass them on to our Managing Director - just in case they do decide to rebrand our hotel! Many thanks and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back. Enjoy the rest of the summer.With kind regards,Christophe
"Ideal good value off-centre hotel"
24th July 2013, Railwaychildren_5385, London, United Kingdom
A comfortable hotel in a good location and ideal for visiting all of York area. Breakfast good, although dining area a little dark. Helpful staff. Easy walking distance along river to City Centre, but also near bus routes. Car Parking expensive on site.View management response »
Management responseGood morning and thank you for your review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you all the best.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
"Highly recommended !!!"
23rd July 2013, Thetayburns, Preston, United Kingdom
Had a fab time . Was able to park car up for 3 days and just walk everywhere as its so close to everything which was great . I am a keen runner and there was lots to see and explore whilst doing my morning runs especially along the river paths ! My only complaint was the fact the weather was so hot and the hotel does not have air con !!! Not pleasant when trying to sleep ! Although the staff were very helpful and provided a fan . The hotel is much recommended as is York itself and we are already planning our return though in the colder months we feel !!!View management response »
Management responseGood afternoon. Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted you had a good time with us despite the extremely hot weather we did experience recently. In fact, we can't remember having it so hot for a very long time! We are all looking forward to seeing you again.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
21st July 2013, Acornite, Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
A great hotel, staff very friendly and efficient. Only slight downside was the temperature of the in room fridge, just not cool enough and unable to adjust it. We were informed by reception that it was set at minimum temperature.View management response »
Management responseGood afternoon and many thanks for taking the time to write a comment following your visit. I am very pleased to read you had a very good stay and have noted your comments with regards to the fridge. I believe our maintenance team has had a look at your fridge and can confirm we could not set it at a lower temperature. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
21st July 2013, Jo131225, Redhill, United Kingdom
I know that we don't get many hot summers, but I would have expected airconditioning - especially as it was one of the hottest weekends of the year. The lounge area in reception was particularly hot, but no-one had thought to open the doors to let air in or allow residents sit at the tables outside. No one was serving at the bar when we wanted a drink. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. There was a reasonably large choice of breakfast dishes (including Marmite!), but the scrambled eggs were grey and the croissants undercoooked. At £160 per night, it was not good value for money.View management response »
Management responseGood morning and thank you for your feedback. it is true that we have experienced one of the hottest period for quite a few years recently. All settings of our air cooling systems were at a minimum and the only way to keep the hot air out of the hotel was to keep door closed up until it would cool down outside. I have also taken note of your comments with the bar and breakfast items you referred to and will share them with the food and beverage team. Thank you for your honest feedback.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
20th July 2013, cattch08, Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
the room was very hot but we were in room 113 above the kitchen which did not help and the weather was scorching. Can do with air con. Tv kept turning itself off but we put up with it and did not complain maybe should have so they could fix it for the next people. Breakfast was greatView management response »
Management responseGood morning and thank you for your review. I wanted to let you know that we did send our maintenance team to the room you stayed in to check the tv following your recent review. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to investigate the issue. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel soon on a sunny day... maybe not just as hot as recently. Thank you once again.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
16th July 2013, 664joan13, Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
The hotel was close to the town but away from the busy roads . The reception was nice and the staff were friendly and polite. We were in our room within minutes of arriving. The room was large and well furnished with separate toilet and bathroom. There were all the usual toiletries. Our only problem was the room was really hot but there was air conditioning and the window opened, we were there on the hottest day of the year so far. The breakfast room was large and airy and the choice for breakfast was great. The staff were willing to get you anything that wasn't out e.g. boiled or poached eggs. everyone was treated the same. Will be staying here again.View management response »
Management responseGood morning. Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read you had a good time in York and found our team to be helpful. I hope you made the most of the "tropical" weather of the last week to see all the wonderful sights of the city of York. Thank you once again and hopefully see you soon.With kind regards,Christophe Ughetto
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.