Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > France Hotels > Caen Hotels > ibis Caen Herouville Savary
Previous hotel
Discover ibis

ibis Caen Herouville Savary hotel

Economy hotel for business and leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - ibis Caen Herouville Savary
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wireless Internet connection
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Rooms for guests with reduced mobility - Contact the hotel: 3
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Golf course 18 holes - Nearby
    • Clay tennis court - Nearby
  • Number of rooms: 91
  • Hotel location: Suburb
  • Main point of interest: PLAGE DEBARQUEMENT (15.00 km)

Hotel address

Bd du Grand Parc
La Grand Parc 6
14200 HEROUVILLE SAINT CLAIR
FRANCE

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 49° 11' 46.05'' W 0° 20' 6.09'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

ibis Caen Herouville Savary - hotel reviews in Caen

Hotel code: 0605

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 3.0 out of 5 stars "OK for an overnight stay"

2nd September 2013, FamilyGWales, Wales

Hotel is well placed for easy access to and from the Caen Peripherique and the ferry port. That said, it isnt the easiest to find. You either need a sat nav or to have double checked it on Google maps first. Also check out the reverse route back out, the mini-slip road is very easy to miss !!The hotel is fine in the communal areas, rooms themselves are adequate but just a bit tired. All rooms have a double bed. If you wish an extra bed for a child make sure you have 3 people booked in the room otherwise you will be expected to share the double. My teenagers rebelled at this. Our second booking had 3 people booked into the room but only two turned up ;) Thus teen had his own bed. The trundle beds are notably shorter than a full bed and are apparently less than comfortable. OK for a night, but any longer wouldnt really be acceptable. Free wifi for 24 hours, but intermittent. Breakfast is expensive for what you get. Better to eat elsewhere. Easy 2-3 mile trek to Mondeville and shopping / restaurants there for evening meal although hotel does "provide". BBC worldservice on tv otherwise all French channels as expected. Parking is free, plentiful and secure. The hotel is average for an overnight, towards the poorer end for a longer stay. The location (once you find it) is handy, but nothing in immediate vicinity to walk / eat etc. Car needed.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Overnight stay"

18th August 2013, Sky536, Porthcawl, United Kingdom

Stayed one night only (early ferry crossing), very tired hotel, quiet location, good car park, rooms very small and very basic, air conditioning not working, lock on the door broken, no hairdryer, children's bed put in the room, which took all floor space, i do like the ibis hotel chain normally but I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "VALUE FOR MONEY"

7th August 2013, 403BRITINFRANCE, EYE

This is a typical IBIS Hotel surrounded by trees in a residential area to block the view to a sports centre. It is easily accessible being well signposted from the motorway. The Hotel is pet friendly with a reasonable 5 Euro charge. Rooms are fairly standard with free wi-fi. Dinner menue was limited but reasonable quality and value for money. Breakfast was acceptable having been prepaid and the staff were friendly and efficient.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Big & Clean Rooms"

5th August 2013, Wong27, Hong Kong, China

Good for stop-over with good location and convenient location (carrefour & cheaper petro). Also good services and helpful staff. We stayed at the first floor and rooms are very clean and big enough. Staff are also very friendly and helpful. Overall good ratings.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A recommended small hotel"

11th July 2013, passerby235, Guildford, United Kingdom

Ideally located for a short stay with excellent major road access. The rooms were basic but of reasonable area and very clean with sufficient towels etc. The beds were comfortable.The reception staff were pleasant and efficient. The small restaurant provided a good and substantial self-service breakfast (although apparently without the faciltiy for cooked eggs etc). It also provided evening meals which, whilst not sampled by the reviewer, appeared to be quite adequate particularly for the guest not wanting to go further afield after a long journey.There was also a well stocked bar at reception. The only comment was that the safety chain on the bedroom door was ineffective in operation but the receptionist took proper note of this fault, and it was felt that she would follow this up.All in all a good overnight stop with reasonable and well priced facilities.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Simple clean hotel on outskirts of Caen."

1st July 2013, firefly624, London, United Kingdom

This is the second time I've stayed at the hotel, which is very easy to get to from the motorway and is the 'right' side of Caen for the Normandy beaches.The hotel is simple but clean, and the staff were all friendly despite my poor French! They even arranged to get us some stamps, a really nice touch.The evening food is quite simple but very tasty and reasonably priced. The only thing I probably wouldn't bother with again is the eat-all-you-like breakfast which isn't really worth the money.In summary then, a simple, quiet, clean, and friendly hotel. I'd happily stay again.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Good for safe parking and bus stop to City."

29th June 2013, LedburyWanderer, Ledbury

Cheap but not cheerful. This is the worst of many Accor Hotels we have stayed at. The outside welcome is one of litter and cigarette ends (which would take half an hour to tidy up). Customer service not a priority - staff too busy with their own chores. No town plan available for tourists, other than a poor photocopy. The plus point is safe out of town parking, and a bus stop right outside the hotel for a trip to the city. I guess tourists are not a priority, but it would not take much effort to smarten the place up, and cater for tourists.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Room too small for 2+1; Air con required!"

18th August 2012, Norwich, United Kingdom

Location for our brief (2 night) stay was fine, but we were a couple with one child and the child's bed took up most of the spare space in the room including blocking access to the window and desk/dressing table. We should have been given a larger room, or alternatively (i.e. if all rooms are the same size) either been advised of the lack of space or told that there were no suitable vacancies.Hotel generally OK, breakfasts good, but this is not a place to stay in hot weather due to the lack of A/C and proximity to the noisy main road if you need to keep the window open!

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Ibis hotel"

2nd July 2012, Lincoln, United Kingdom

Basic, no frills hotel, but you know what you are getting, quite expensive for what it is. But at least you can get a meal and breakfast, ideal for a night or two.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Suited us very well"

12th June 2012, Roderick T, Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Hotel was fine, Ibis brand is reliable and predictable. Absolutely fine for our overnight stops. Direct communication with Ibis/Accor however is appalling as they make no response whatsover to emails. Very rude; what is the point of offering contact and not even acknowledging messages?

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Appraisal of facilities"

24th May 2012, johnmikehoward, Mandelieu

A good stay with one exception-the dinner on the night of 16th May. There was no fish of any kind available for dinner that night. Very poor for a restaurant not to have fish even although it was shown on the menue

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Good hotel but appaling restaurant"

22nd May 2012, mbamps1979, Brussels, Belgium

I spent one night at Ibis Caen Herouville Savary with a couple of friends when travelling around in the Normandy. The hotel is not easy to find but, fortunately, there are some signs around where to go. The area of the hotel was quite and there is free parking. The check-in was very fast and the rooms where clean and confortable. The big problem was our dinner. We ordered 4 pieces of meat. All the 4 pieces where incredibly burnt. I could not believe how a chef could let something like that go out. We did try to catch the attention of our waitress but she just disappeared. We did eat what we could and left most of the meat on the plate. When the waitrass came to collect the dishes, we explained that it was extremly burnt but she did not do anything about. Nothing even an apology! The food in Ibis is not specially cheap and I was impressed by the total lack of interest on what happened. At least we had something to laugh about it when we realised that the icinerator chef probably used a flame thrower to prepare our meal.I did answer a on-line survey by Accor and reported the issue but there was no answer. The hotel is ok but avoid the restaurant at all costs. In fact, it was my first time eating in a Ibis restaurant and I will avoid to do that again in the future.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Next time"

3rd April 2012, Tewkesbury, United Kingdom

As my wife had a small stroke on the ferry to Caen we spent the night in the Herouville hospital and not the hotel. For that reason we aren't able to review the hotel on this trip but can safely say we'd have preferred the IBIS any day. IBIS hotels are always well-situated, clean, with friendly staff and exactly what you expect. We're great fans.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Short stopover"

28th February 2012, TimSmith1961, Manchester, United Kingdom

Stopped for one night before getting the ferry back to England. Hotel is showing it's age a little and the room facilities are basic but perfectly acceptable. Free secure and private parking is a bonus. Check-in and out process was quick and efficient and rooms were clean and comfortable. We had the afternoon and evening out exploring in the local area so didn't use the food or bar areas, but they looked clean and well-presented. Staff were friendly and efficient. For a short stay, it's cheap, comfortable and well located for the ferry or exploring the Normandy beaches - fits the bill perfectly.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 3.0 out of 5 stars "It's OK if you can find it."

25th February 2012, Wantage, United Kingdom

I always stay at Ibis when I am arriving late, leaving early and just need a bed, shower and light breakfast. This is not the best Ibis, but it is OK. The big problem was finding it. I entered the address "Bd du Grand Parc" in SatNav. The Bd seemed to be a building site extending infinitely in all directions. I drove up and down several times looking for the familiar Ibis sign with no success. Eventually I noticed a TINY fingerpost with the word "Ibis" on it - very hard to see in the dark. Make sure you enter the actual North/West coordinates not just the street name. The night porter gets a special mention for civility.

ibis Caen Herouville Savary: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Needs some TLC"

23rd February 2012, Matha

Normally stay at the Etap in the same town but the Ibis was the same price. Could do with refurbishment. Will not stay at again until this is done. Staff were great. Never had cause to complain about any other Accor hotels before.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.