Hotel - Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Sofitel Hotel

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel

20, quai Gailleton 
69002  LYON
FRANCE

1,846 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,846 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 184.00 EUR Non member rate
From 174.80 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Nearby)
    • Valet parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 25  EUR
  • Fitness centre

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Nearby)
    • Valet parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 25  EUR
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
    • Hairdressing salon
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Hammam
    • Massage (Paying)
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 17 meeting room(s)
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Book luxury Lyon accommodation at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour: 164 rooms feature satellite TV, high speed internet and the famed Sofitel MyBed®. Prestige suites have large living rooms, free minibars and river views. Superb central Lyon accommodation.

  • 164 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 40 connecting rooms
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Radio in bathroom
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • WIFI in your room
    • Crib on request
    • Minibar
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating4.0/5 Based on 1,846 reviews
thomassY9042WS 2017/06/20
« Great breakfast »

The hotel needs some TLC, it is very tired but the staff are good, breakfast overlooking the city is magnificent. Rooms are small as are the beds, hardly any closet space and heavy winter duvets totally unnecessary in June with temperatures in the 30's C. Difficult to sleep. Location excellent.

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear thomassY9042WS, We thank you for your recent stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. For your next stay with us please do not hesitate to ask to the reception if you wish to have a bed made without duvet. We hope to have the pleasure to host you back soon again in the heart of Lyon. Best regards.

896thierrye 2017/06/13
« This hotel deserves a maximum of 4 stars »

Poor experience. It is indicated as a five stars hotel. But the welcome, the reception, the whole service is of a very low level compared to expectations. Sofitel outside France and Sofitel inside France are not comparable in particular if one compares the level of service

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sorry to learn that you did not feel welcome during your stay with us. Please be reassured that this is certainly not the quality of service upon which we base our reputation and we reviewed your comments to all the Ambassadors in order to improve the "feel welcome" standard. We hope to regain your trust in the futur, in the meantime we remain at your disposal. Best regards.

ahandy2 2016/08/31
« Mi-figue Mi-raisin- My worst stay at a Sofitel Hotel So Far »

It took awhile at check-in to find my reservation. Then it was abundantly clear that they did not even know I was platinum member. The three days we stayed there, the room was acting as a sauna with unbearable punishing heat- At one point I called reception to complain about rising temperature to no avail. No responsiveness whatsoever. For a five star hotel, they can do better. Warm welcome though from the two bartenders operating at the rooftop bar

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are truly sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for your check in as well as for the heat in your room. This does not reflect our five star service. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely

CasRei 2016/04/30
« Excellent Riverside Hotel - Truly 5 Star!!!! »

This hotel is excellent. The staff are the best we have ever encountered! Eleanor, Sebastien, and Saleh greeted us upon arrival and were extremely helpful throughout our stay. Prior to our arrival, Camille assured us a room would be available for early arrival--which it was. Patrick sent us information on transportation available from the airport to the hotel, and then arranged for a taxi to meet us when we arrived. He also provided us with information on rental cars and directions to a place we wanted to visit. Eleanor also surprised us with a bottle of champagne and candy in our room for our anniversary! Our room was fantastic, located on the 5th floor -- overlooking the Rhone river. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in at a hotel! The bathroom had a nice deep tub which was wonderful for taking a bath. The mini-bar was stocked with water, juices, and soda, which was complimentary. The restaurants were also exceptional. We had a lovely cheese and salami platter for a snack in the Light Bar off the reception area. I had a roasted chicken at Le Silk Restaurant which was so tender and juicy -- the best I've every had! The breakfast served in Les Trois Domes on the top floor had everything you could imagine -- from continental to scrambled eggs and bacon. The croisants were the best I've ever had!!!! And the panoramic view of the river and area is stunning!

Jules3391 2015/09/04
« Room with a river view »

We had a room with a river view which was lovely. Room was good but with dated walnut brown timber. Bathroom was superb with a great shower and amenities. Bed of course, was comfy being a Sofitel. Never ate in the Restaurant as it was closed for the whole month of August. So we had to dine in the Cafe, which the food was very good with a wide variety of dishes. Breakfast had the most amazing view of the river and city. Food was ok but hardly restocked ie one morning with an hour till the end of breakfast there was nothing hot to select from so no hot brekkie that morning. Trying to get a second cup of coffee was at times difficult. It let down the experience. The bar is a must at night because of the amazing view of the city. That was sensational. They give you a tablet which has all the varieties of drinks that they had to offer and which they want you to order on. This was a bit impersonal for me and out of the three groups of people in the bar, none of us could actually place an order. So we all had to do it the old fashioned way by walking up to the bar to order. Staff were all helpful. When we were getting into our hire car after checking out, we were given icy cold bottles of water for our travels. That is the extra mile that is Sofitel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was close to everything, transport, tourism bureau, restaurants and centre of town and the hop on hop off bus.

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for this comment. Our Ambassadors are very concerned about the well being of our customers and they enjoyed looking after you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour.

anthony_dewulf 2015/07/27
« Great hotel! »

This is a great hotel on the borders of the Rhône in Lyon. The rooms are a bit dated (especially the bathroom could benefit from an update), but airco was working flawlessly (it was 40°C in Lyon) and all amenities were there (safe, Nespresso, ...) . There's also a minibar with free non-alcoholic drinks, which were very welcome during the hot weather we experienced. Great breakfast and superb restaurant "Les trois Dômes". We had the full option degustation menu and the food and service was impeccable. Next door of the restaurant is a great cocktail bar where they can make your favourite classic cocktail, which is a treat when being in France. We will surely come back.... soon :-)

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear anthony_dewulf, thank you so much for your comment on Sofitel Lyon Bellecour ; your satisfaction is our greatest success. We are happy to know that your tourist and culinary getaway have satisfied you. And we are delighted to have you among us soon.

Val A 2015/07/10
« Great Stay »

The hotel is near the river and has great views from the Restaurant and bar on the 8th floor. The Car park is very easy to access with adequate space even for fairly large car. The beds were extremely comfortable. The only criticisms I have are the shower should be on a sliding rail as I find it difficult to use the hand held shower and the over head drench is no good if you dont want to wash your hair every day. Also it would be good to have a kettle to make tea, the coffee machine does not get the water hot enough.

SofitelLyon, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression about your stay at Sofitel Lyon, we hope you have passed a pleasant stay. We wish to inform you that renovations are underway. We hope to see you again during your next stay in Lyon.

Noel A 2015/05/14
« Fantastic hotel and service »

Love this hotel, location is perfect and it has a great view from the top floor bar. Booked a junior suite this time and was definitly worth every penny. Staff were so attentive and friendly. We had a very early start and when we came down our car was waiting for us. Thank you so much for everything. DId I mention the two glasses of champagne we got as a welcome drink?

Morgane M, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you for this wonderful review on the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour ! Your satisfaction is our best reward. A bientôt !

maxphr 2015/03/25
« Excellent hotel and service »

we stayed for a weekend, and except the occasionally unstable water pressure (in the shower) everything else was excellent - the bed linen are divinely soft and comfortable; the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly; and the location is relatively central, making sightseeing around town on foot/by underground/taking a taxi very easy. Oh the hotel does turn off the revolving door after midnight so if you're there for a night out, remember to knock on the side door!

Morgane M, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are glad you enjoyed you time with us. We thank you for your comments about the professionalism of our team. We hope you will keep sweet memories from Lyon and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the City of Lights.

Manulooping1234 2015/02/11
« Nearly perfect »

Amazing value for money, service, Cleanliness and sleep quality are simply perfect. Only downside is, as read in other comments, the temperature of the shower being very delicate to handle, not very acceptable for a 5 stars hotel Gluten Free for breakfast is a real plus, choice stays amazing to start your day on good basis Overall, a great stay, with some delicate attentions (chocolates, classical music in the room coming back from the restaurant at night...) Do not hesitate to have dinner at "les 3 Domes", Dinner & Stay at his hotel is a Combo Must ! Or for a lower budget, eating at SILK is more than decent.

ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are glad you had a nice time with us and hope to see you again in the city of French Gastronomy ! A bientôt !

BestHotelsEver 2015/02/09
« VIP Service?? »

Nice hotel in a - I guess - nice location. Though I booked throguh my accor profile website, they did not receive my Platinum card number, so when I checked in there was a lot of no's. Then I realised what was wrong, and I gave them my accor number and thought everything would be fine now, but later when I asked at reception for some more nespresso coffee capsules, then told me to call roomservice....I then asked to borrow their phone, and then they laughed at me, and said they would call them for me.::::!?! They decline an early check-in, and on my day of departure, they called me to let me know, that since I hadn't left my room, I would have to pay 50% of the room rate. Again I told them, that as far as I knew, I had a complimentary late check out due my platinum card, but she just told me, that she could not see my card number. Hotel stay was actually fine, but will I come back to their VIP Platinum service? I doubt it. The Radisson is fully refurbished next year hence open again.

ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are truly sorry to read that you went through so much trouble with you platinum member card. Please contact us in a personal message to give us your card number so that we can prevent this situation from happening again. We hope to hear from you very soon and to see you again in the French capital of gastronomy. Best regards.

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 184.00 EUR Non member rate
From 174.80 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 260 m Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 155.00 EUR Non member rate
From 155.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 730 m Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts Hotel
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts Hotel
From
From 124.00 EUR Non member rate
From 124.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 740 m Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza République Hotel
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza République Hotel
From
From 109.00 EUR Non member rate
From 103.55 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 780 m Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 175.00 EUR Non member rate
From 166.25 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in LYON
See rates