Hotel - Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Sofitel Hotel

Hotel Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port

36, boulevard Charles Livon 
13007 MARSEILLE
FRANCE

1,940 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,940 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 205.60 EUR Non member rate
From 195.32 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 205.60 EUR

Hotel Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port

French luxury and local cuisine in the worlds most exciting cities

The 5-star Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port hotel, known as the best address in Marseilles, is an ideal stopover not far from the Calanques. The decor in this luxury hotel is inspired by the history of Marseilles, reminiscent of a sumptuous yacht on the Mediterranean. Admire the best views over Old Port from the terraces of Le Carré Bistromanie brasserie, Les Trois Forts gourmet restaurant and Dantès Skylounge Bar. Beach and heated pool nearby

Overlooking Marseille Old Port and adjacent to the Palais du Pharo, this 5-star hotel is an excellent place to stay in the heart of the Phocaean city. It is ideally located 10 minutes from Saint-Charles train station and is close to the city center. It is a magical and enchanting location and the Marseille and Cassis Calanques are also just 30 minutes from our luxurious establishment.

Hotel extras

Les Trois Forts restaurant is closed Sunday and Monday - Le Carré Bistromanie brasserie is open 8am to 1am - Dantès Skylounge Bar is open 5pm to 1am - SoSPA is open Mon-Sat 10am to 8pm and Sunday 9am to 2pm - Hair salon is open 10am to 7pm, except Sunday.

This hotel is PLANET 21 Gold
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 50  EUR
  • Outdoor heated pool

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 50  EUR
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • Spanish
    • Italian
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Hammam
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage
    • Solarium (Nearby)
    • Tanning salon (Nearby)
  • Babysitting on request
  • Golf  (Nearby)
    • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf course 9 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf practice facilities (Nearby)
    • Golf lessons (Nearby)
  • Hard tennis court  (Nearby)
  • Beach and water sports  (Nearby)
    • Boat excursions (Nearby)
    • Deep sea fishing/Sea fishing (Nearby)
    • Jet skiing (Nearby)
    • Kayaking (Nearby)
    • Pedal boat (Nearby)
    • Private beach (Nearby)
    • Rowing (Nearby)
    • Sailing facilities (Nearby)
    • Snorkelling/Scuba diving center (Nearby)
    • Water skiing (Nearby)
    • Wind surfing facilities (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycle hire facilities (Nearby)
    • Bike rack facilities
    • Billiards/Snooker (Nearby)
    • Boules/petanque (Nearby)
    • Football (Nearby)
    • Horse riding (Nearby)
    • Jogging track (Nearby)
    • Karting facilities (Nearby)
    • Squash court (Nearby)
    • Volley ball facilities (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Congress center
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port

36, boulevard Charles Livon
13007
MARSEILLE
FRANCE

Tel: (+33)4/91155900
Fax: (+33)4/91155950

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • Vieux port : 83, LIVON ST MAUR
  • MARSEILLE PROVENCE At 30km / 18.75 miles
  • PORT MARSEILLE At 3km / 1.88 miles
  • AEROPORT MARSEILLE PROVENCE At 30km / 18.75 miles
  • MARSEILLE ST CHARLES At 3km / 1.88 miles

GPS : 43.292332, 5.361028

Our rooms

134 rooms including two suites, a magnificent apartment and 24 rooms with balconies. Light, spacious and luxurious, with marine-inspired decor. Bathrooms fitted with double tubs or hydro-massage showers.

  • SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen bed, balcony with harbor view
    SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen bed, balcony with harbor view

    Sophisticated and stylish room measuring 323 sq. ft. (30 m²) with a view of the port, balcony, bathroom with double bathtub screened by glass wall, and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 double bed, access to the fitness room and So Spa
    SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 double bed, access to the fitness room and So Spa Superior Room

    Luxurious 301 sq. ft. (28 m²) room combining French elegance with the gentleness of the south. Double bathtub or walk-in shower. LCD TV, safe. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay. Twin room upon request.

  • SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 double bed, access to the fitness room and So Spa
    SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 double bed, access to the fitness room and So Spa Superior Room

    Luxurious 301 sq. ft. (28 m²) room combining French elegance with the gentleness of the south. Double bathtub or walk-in shower. LCD TV, safe. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay. Twin room upon request.

  • LUXURY ROOM - Beautiful view of the Old Port, 1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa
    LUXURY ROOM - Beautiful view of the Old Port, 1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa Luxury Room

    Luxurious 301 sq. ft. (30 m²) room inspired by the sea with a view of the Old Port. Double bathtub or walk-in shower. LCD TV, safe. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay. Twin room upon request.

  • LUXURY TERRACE ROOM - Beautiful Old Port view,1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa
    LUXURY TERRACE ROOM - Beautiful Old Port view,1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa

    Luxurious 377 sq. ft. (35 m²) room inspired by the sea featuring a large furnished terrace with a view of the Old Port. Bathroom with bathtub and shower. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay.

  • LUXURY ROOM - Beautiful view of the Old Port, 1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa
    LUXURY ROOM - Beautiful view of the Old Port, 1 double bed, access to fitness room and So Spa Luxury Room

    Luxurious 301 sq. ft. (30 m²) room inspired by the sea with a view of the Old Port. Double bathtub or walk-in shower. LCD TV, safe. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay. Twin room upon request.

  • OPERA SUITE - Top floor, breathtaking view of the Old Port, separate lounge
    OPERA SUITE - Top floor, breathtaking view of the Old Port, separate lounge

    646 sq. ft. (60 m²) Suite overlooking the Old Port featuring a private lounge with sofa, TV and docking station, and a bathroom fitted with a tub and hydromassage shower. Wired Internet and WIFI let you stay connected throughout your stay.

  • Prestige Suite, Top floor, breathtaking view of the Old Port, private fully-equipped lounge
    Prestige Suite, Top floor, breathtaking view of the Old Port, private fully-equipped lounge Prestige Suite

    Monte Cristo Presidential Suite facing the Old Port. 969 sq. ft. (90 m²) with a private lounge measuring over 345 sq. ft. (32 m²) with two sofas, a TV, long table, sound system and equipped with a large bathroom with tub and hydromassage shower.

  • 134 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 15 connecting rooms
  • Crib on request
    • Data port in room
    • Turn down service
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Web TV
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Remote control TV
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Phone with 2 handsets in room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

LE CARRE Restaurant
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner 19:30 - 22:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE CARRE Type of cuisine: Brasserie


Carré Bistromanie and terrace: a new brasserie that is as chic as it is trendy. Delight in our luxury French cuisine, from breakfast to dinner, indulging in lunch and pastries in between.

Find out more and book
LES  TROIS FORTS Restaurant
Lunch 12:00 - 14:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner 19:30 - 22:00
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LES TROIS FORTS Type of cuisine: Mediterranean


Les Trois Forts features subtle Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Dominique Frérard with his famous breakfast of local products. Combine taste sensations with cultural beauty while taking advantage of the open air terrace.

Find out more and book
See all our restaurants
DANTES Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

DANTES


The Dantès Skylounge Bar with terrace measuring 1615 sq. ft. (150 m²) offers sweeping views of Marseilles, the MuCEM and the sea. Curl up in a cozy armchair and take in the spectacular view while our bar staff take care of the rest.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 9
  • Maximum size: 193 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 220
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 160

Our customer reviews for Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5 Based on 1,940 reviews
emieur 2015/11/27
« Absolutly TOP! »

We were amazed by the friendliness and service of the staff. Always in for a smalltalk, always willing to help and answer the questions. So actually all we wanted. The hotel was clean, open and simply good. Also at an amazing location with a great view over the old harbour.

DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Emieur, It is a real pleasure for us to read a so positive comment! Your return is our best reward and we are very happy to see that you spent an excellent stay in our home! We thank you so much and we hope wholeheartedly to see you back very soon. Kindest regards, Guest Relations Service

PAULKILLEN 2015/11/01
« outstanding hotel »

This is a hotel of the highest standard with absolutely exceptionally helpful staff. An absolute pleasure staying here, The location is about 10 mins walk from all the restaurants by the port but that means it is really quiet. No passing noise. The standard of the rooms was amazing with perhaps the biggest bath I have ever seen and the best shower I have ever used. Everything from the linen to the shampoo was of exceptional quality. If you are staying in Marseille look no further

DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Mr Killen, We sincerely thank you for your comment, your opinion is higly important for us and we deeply thank you for sharing it. We hope to welcome you back very soon !

2015/09/11
« Perfect »

Granted, we splurged and booked a luxury room with terrace; still, it was wonderful to see all of my hopes and expectations fulfilled; and that was before I noticed Hermes Eau Verte toiletries. The Sofitel is an oddly un-modern looking building; however, once inside, everything is done with great care and an eye for artistic detail. The breakfast buffet is as good as it gets and the view from our terrace and the bar on the 7th floor was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.

Amoke365 2015/08/16
« Beautiful Hotel, Great View. »

Sofitels are my favorite hotels. This one was no exception. The room was wonderful with a beautiful view. The restaurants were disappointing, But everyone else more than made up for that shortcoming. I would certainly recommend it as a great experience in Marseille.

gothic_pepsi 2015/08/09
« Excellent Stay! »

We had an excellent stay in this hotel. We had a room with a great view at the old harbor, breakfast was wonderful as was the spa and the treatment. Nice bars and pubs are in the neighbourhood and the bus that brings you to the mucem area in a few minutes stops opposite the hotel.

Steve C 2015/07/24
« Disappointing luxury hotel stay »

For a 5 star hotel this was not up to standard. It claims to have it's own pool but is in fact Novotel's next door which you have to share, if you can find a space even in the small seating area for drinks etc.!! The restaurant is closed over the weekend forcing a long, hot walk into the centre. We had a fault in our room which was reported immediately but took three days for someone to fix and they only spent a minute on the repair!! Check-in & out is very slow. Room cleaning etc. is not completed till late afternoon. The only good thing about the place was the view so long as you chose the harbour side for your room. We have stayed in a few Sofitel's and enjoyed the luxury but would not recommend the Marseille one!!

limfiona_sg 2015/07/16
« Pleasant quiet hotel with fabulous view but slow check-in. »

Stayed 2 nights in Marseille after my river cruise. Hotel is located near the Fort and within walking access to Marseille City Centre (and everything else). Djamila the concierge was a doll! She arranged my taxi pick-up from the Airport and made me feel welcome the moment I stepped in the Hotel. The front-desk staff however was a little disappointing. I had arrived early at 9am and my room wasn't ready. Djamila gave me ideas to roam around Le Parnier while they prepare my room. I returned to the Hotel at 2pm; the Front Desk informed me that my room was ready but final checks are ongoing. A wait of 10min max probably, they said and they will come to me when it is ready. A wait of 45 minutes later at the sofa and no one came. I had to approach the Front Desk again, this time displeased as I was really tired, and finally got my room. My observations of the Front Desk on several occasions appears that there are enough staff but there will be 2-3 staff looking into 1 booking at one time. which makes the check-in process slow and inefficient. Aside from this service glitch, I had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I booked the Luxury Room which has a fabulous view of the Port with a patio and the in room amenities provided were expected of the Sofitel brand.

david o 2015/06/19
« Beautiful Port Views »

This is a modern hotel set high on a hillside overlooking the old port of Marseille. The rooms are well appointed if slightly on the small side. However, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The views from the rooms facing the port are spectacular.There is I thought too little storage space in the bedrooms. There are literally no drawers and hardly any shelves, so putting clothes away for any more than a very short stay would be an issue. The pool area is excellent. The two restaurants are both pleasant and the bar on the 7th floor is exceptional. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I'd certainly recommend it. There are plenty of sights and amenities within walking distance.

Simone F 2015/03/25
« Could not be better. »

A wonderful experience, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Lunch was superb: excellent food, perfecty cooked, well presented and served. Good wine list. Incredible choice for breakfast. One small problem: the sound of an electric drill in an adjacent room on the afternoon of our arrival

Joe S 2014/10/05
« Honeymoon »

We spent one night in the Sofitel during our honeymoon, planning to stay at the hotel and explore Marseille. The hotel itself is glorious, and the service is fantastic. The view of the port is something out of a postcard, and while it rained the second day we were there, we were able to spend the day at the spa and the hotel was nice enough to push back our check out time to fully enjoy our stay. A truly fantastic experience.

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We warmly thank you for taking the time to share such kind views on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is precious to us. We are very happy that you chose the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port to celebrate such a special occasion and that you spent a fantastic experience among us. We all wish you well! We are also thrilled that you noted and appreciated the helpfulness and the professionalism of our staff. Please believe that we daily communicate to our Ambassadors the senses of kindliness and courtesy to make each of our guest’s experience unique. We are delighted that your stay in our hotel met your expectations. Your satisfaction is our best reward! We are already looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stopover in Marseille, under the cheerful sun of Southern France! Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Jeremy B 2014/09/08
« Good place, terrible gastronomic restaurant »

The hotel is fantastic: ideally located a the end of the Vieux Port of Marseille, 10mins walk from the tube station, 2 from the bus stop and 30sec from the bike renting closest station. It offers a unique view on this sought place of the Mediterrranean city, especially at sunset, where colors are absolutely wonderful to watch from the terrasse or your room if ou have a chance to get one with Port view. Breakfast is good, though some few things could be improved: you might find yourself looking for a plate for 5mins as the staff seems to run around and forget to refill ... But food is good and the variety enough to saisfy most of the travelers. One point to notice: the gastronomic (!) restaurant named les trois forts, on the last floor, offers a disappointing experience for diner..We went, we tried, we tasted, we hated, we paid (A lot), we told the staff, we never heard back ...... Combinations made by the chef are not really making any difference, we found the meal pretty gross, far from a refined cuisine (especially when paid 70Eur per person) ... Great place to be and spend some time otherwise, staff is nice and helpful, talks good English ..

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is precious to us. We are very happy that you appreciated the location of our hotel, overlooking the Vieux Port of Marseille and next to the most symbolic monuments of the city. We hope the “wonderful” sunset sight left you with long lasting memories! We are also thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant Les Trois Forts and more particularly our breakfast buffet that was awarded the “Prix Villégiature” for the variety and the quality of the products used. We are nonetheless saddened to read that your dinner experience did not meet your expectations. Our chef, Dominique Frérard, is fully committed to offer his hosts every day and with passion the highest quality dishes. We regret that you did not taste this passion. We genuinely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again around our table for a moment of delight. Nevertheless, we are glad that you noted the kindness and professionalism of our staff. We communicate daily to our Ambassadors the senses of kindliness and courtesy; your satisfaction is our best reward! We would be delighted to welcome you again for your next stopover in Marseille for a delicious moment. Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

MandZStokeuponTrent 2014/08/04
« A near perfect experience »

The Hotel was perfect in all respects except one. The staff were helpful friendly and efficient. The food was perfectly prepared and beautifully served and the views from our room, the restaurant and the terrace were the best we have ever had. One way was the deep blue Mediterranean, another the fortified entrance to the harbour with all its shipping activity, another the Vieux Port with its yachts and bustle and to crown it all Ste. Marie de La Garde. The food was refined and of an excellent quality, perfectly served. The room was excellent with all the expected appointments even though the bed was smaller than we are used to in Sofitel. This was however the one problem area even with the curtains closed and the air con on full we could not get the room to an acceptably low temperature and neither could the maintenance staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and would return again but unless our room was untypical, not in summer.

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for sharing such positive and nice comments about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that your stay among us matched your expectations “in all respects”! We are very happy that you were charmed by the location of our hotel, overlooking the panoramic landscape on the Phocean City with superb views on the most symbolic monuments of the city. We hope these beautiful images left you with long lasting memories! We are also glad to read that you enjoyed your experience at our gourmet restaurant Les Trois Forts. Our chef, Dominique Frérard, tries everyday, with passion, to offer his hosts the highest quality dishes. He was very touched by your lovely comments regarding his cuisine of “excellent quality and perfectly served food”. Moreover, we are delighted that you noted the professionalism and kindness of our Ambassadors…your satisfaction is our best reward! Nevertheless, we have taken into account your observation regarding the air conditioning. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that the remark has been passed on to the technical service in order to provide our hosts with a warmer welcome. Looking forward to welcoming you soon for another “near perfect experience”… Best regards, Margaux MOREL Guest Experience Assistant

Mark C 2014/08/03
« A marvellous stay »

We had a most wonderful stay in this perfectly situated hotel. Such friendly service, superb views, delicious food especially the breakfast and easy access to the sites. Could not have asked for more.

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for sharing such beatiful comments on TripAdvisor. "We could not have asked for more!". We are happy that you appreciated the "perfect" location of our hotel and were charmed by the wonderful views on the Vieux Port and the hidden beauties of Marseille. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our gastronomical restaurant Les Trois Forts and more particularly our breakfast buffet, awarded "best hotel breakfast in Europe" by the Prix Villegiature for the quality and variety of its products. Similarly, we are thrilled that you noted the professionalism and kindness of our staff. Our Ambassadors work hard, everyday, to make sure every guest feels special. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port for another "marvelous stay". Kind regards, Margaux MOREL Guest Experience Assistant

galapiass 2014/07/28
« Good location BUT... »

In English et en Francais plus bas: Great location with an amazing view over the old port but staff is just not up to it. I was there with my girl friend for 2 nights. The second part of our stay, I had to leave for professional reasons, so my girlfriend stayed at the hotel alone for the second night. What happened is just unbelievable. She got locked out on the room's balcony for over an hour at 10 PM. No one to help her out for over an hour, Finally, she got lucky when a security agent of a parking below the hotel heard her and informed the hotel staff. Some very unfriendly hotel staff, not speaking a word of English came up and opened the door. He realized himself that it was due to a faulty system and that should have never happened. Worse part, after that, he just left. Not even a sorry. Then, the next morning, my girl friend found a big cockroach in the bathroom. How clean is this hotel? That is just unbelievable again. Needless to say that this is a 5 star hotel... Finally when she checked out she complained to the staff. It seems no one knew about the door incident! I also sent an email the same night the incident happened to ask for explanations on the bad service. Still no reply, 5 days after sending it. Clearly something is wrong about this hotel. Un emplacement superbe mais un personnel incompétent. Je suis resté 2 nuits avec ma fiancée. La deuxième partie du séjour j'ai du m'absenter pour raison professionnelle. Ma fiancée a donc passé la 2e nuit seule. Ce qui s'est passé est tout juste incroyable. Elle s'est retrouvée enfermée dehors sur le balcon de la chambre a 10h du soir pendant 1 heure. Elle ne parle pas anglais et après de nombreux cris a l'aide, un vigile du parking en contrebas lui vient en aide en prévenant l’hôtel du problème. La personne qui est venue ne parlait pas anglais et était assez désagréable. Elle s'est rendue compte que le système de fermeture des portes coulissantes était défectueux. Cela n'aurait jamais du arriver. Apres cette constatation, il est juste parti sans même un mot d'excuse. C'est hallucinant. Ensuite le lendemain matin, en se levant elle retrouve un gros cafard dans la salle de bain. La encore comment est-ce possible? Il s'agit bel et bien d'un hôtel 5 étoiles. Lors de son check out elle se plaint de l'incident de la porte, mais surprise, personne n’était au courant.Le pire est que le soir même de l'incident j'ai envoyé une email a l’hôtel demandant des explications. Je n'ai toujours pas reçu de retour

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you appreciated the location of our hotel which has a unique view overlooking the “Vieux Port” of Marseille. Nevertheless, we were sad to hear the problems encountered by your fiancée during your stay. For security reasons, the doors of our balconies or terraces only open from the inside. A warning on our windows let the customers know about this situation in order to prevent these issues arising. Nonetheless we are very sorry about this incident. Regarding your remark about our security agent who intervened to help your fiancée, please believe that we train our personnel on a daily basis to make sure the service that we offer is of the greatest quality. Moreover the security agent that intervened that night is one of the best rated employees in our hotel, thanks to the facility he has to adapt to any situation. We are very sorry that your girlfriend did not feel the same way about him. Finally, the Quality Department of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port devotes itself to reply to every letter and comment sent by customers; we do this because your opinion is of the highest importance to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service. We hope that you will be happy to receive our letter taking account of your remarks. We also hope that despite your big disappointment, you will give us a second chance to show you our professionalism and our commitment to customer service. Thus we would have the opportunity to offer you a beautiful stay among us, at the standards we usually hold ourselves to in our hotel. Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Head of Quality Department Monsieur, Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions sur TripAdvisor. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié l’emplacement de notre hôtel faisant face à la vue unique sur le Vieux Port de Marseille. Nous regrettons cependant profondément le désagrément rencontré par votre fiancée lors de cette visite. Pour des raisons de sécurité les portes de nos chambres balcon ou terrasse ne s’ouvrent que de l’intérieur. Une note préventive est affichée sur nos baies vitrées afin que ce type de situation ne se produise pas. Nous sommes sincèrement désolés pour ce malencontreux évènement. Par ailleurs, concernant votre remarque sur notre agent de sécurité qui est intervenu pour aider votre compagne, sachez que nous inculquons à l’ensemble de nos collaborateurs le souci d’un service chaleureux et bienveillant afin que chaque hôte ait le sentiment d’être unique. Ce jeune homme fait partie des personnes les plus complimentées de notre maison, de par son attitude prévenante à toutes épreuves. Nous sommes navrés que votre fiancée n’ait pas eu le même ressenti. Enfin, le service Qualité du Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port s’attache à répondre à chaque courrier et commentaire envoyés par ses clients ; car votre avis nous est précieux et vos remarques nous permettent de nous améliorer sans cesse. Nous espérons que vous accusez bonne réception ce jour de la réponse qui vous a été apportée par nos soins. Nous espérons également que malgré votre grande déception, vous nous accorderez une seconde chance afin de vous prouver tout notre engagement et notre professionnalisme, et ainsi avoir l’opportunité de vous offrir une expérience Magnifique, à la hauteur de notre établissement. Bien sincèrement, Gersende GUEIT, Responsable Qualité

Paulo A 2014/06/26
« Get a room facing the Vieux-Port »

Excellent hotel. Pleasant breakfast, friendly service, an astonishing view to the Vieux-Port, the old port, from some rooms and from the bar, the restaurant and the breakfast room. Good location, near many important sites.

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback is our best reward. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay among us in the Phocean city, the kindness of our staff and the wonderful view on the “Vieux Port”. We hope that these privileged instants, overlooking the beauty of our marina, will leave you long lasting memories. Moreover, it is such a pleasure to know that you relished our breakfast buffet and that you have been sensitive to the specialities of our Chef Dominique Frérard. Indeed, they have been awarded the “Villégiature Prize”. We wish to have the chance to welcome you again soon, in our “excellent hotel” in the heart of Marseille, Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

gfinkels 2014/06/26
« Disappointing »

Swimming pool area was choc-a-block, no seats/ beds, and reception didn't warn us on the day we arrived. Pool was over-used and water seemed dirty. Hotel neighbourhood was very noisy, and wife found it difficult to sleep at night. Some staff were rude. (breakfast waiter).

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry that your stay with us didn’t match your expectations and that you didn’t appreciate the quality of the swimming pool. In fact, this one is shared with the Novotel, which can explain the number of people who were around. Nevertheless, you have to know that we have an exceptional partnership with the “Cercle des Nageurs”, a club in front of our hotel which allows you to access their installations and beach. For your next trip, feel free to contact our Concierges to get more information about it. Be sure we will share your comments with the manager of the Novotel. Concerning the behaviour of our staff, we regret this situation and assure you that it is outstanding; we try to transmit to our team the passion of excellence and the respect of clients and are really sorry if you didn’t feel it. We hope to welcome you again soon under better conditions. Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Anthony A 2014/04/25
« Overdone »

While this hotel looks great and the staff is excellent, it is way overpriced. Also, while they offer internet wifi connection, expect decent dial-up speed at best. If you are staying there on business and need the internet to conduct your activities, you will be delayed for sure and you're better off staying somewhere else. That said, the hotel has great views, the staff is great, very courteous (for France that's big!), it's very clean and has pretty good hours for the restaurant and lounges.

GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we thank you very much for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you appreciated our stay in our hotel, particularly our great view giving on the magical panorama of the Vieux Port. It is also truly a pleasure to read your words concerning the excellence and the courtesy of our staff, they will be honoured to know that our guests appreciated their work. Nevertheless, we regret you did not find our prices up to our facilities and services; indeed we constantly endeavour to offer high standards to our guests. Otherwise, we beg you to accept our apologizes for the wifi dysfunctions; the situation being exceptional, the connexion is repaired from now on. Despite your disappointment, we hope to welcome you again in Marseille. Best regards, Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 205.60 EUR Non member rate
From 195.32 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 0 m Novotel Marseille Vieux Port
Hotel Novotel Marseille Vieux Port
From
From 118.25 EUR Non member rate
From 112.34 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 1 km ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port
ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port
From
From 49.50 EUR Non member rate
From 49.50 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 1.2 km Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 164.00 EUR Non member rate
From 164.00 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 1.2 km ibis Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Hotel ibis Marseille Centre Vieux Port
From
From 77.35 EUR Non member rate
From 73.48 EUR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in MARSEILLE
Select your dates 205.60 EUR Rooms from 205.60 EUR